We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2005

The General Lewis Inn is immaculate and lovely. It is not opulent, but it is a very nice place to stay. The service was wonderful and we very much enjoyed dinner and breakfast at the Inn restaurant. We have been to the Lewisburg area many times to pick up and drop off our children at summer camp, and have previously stayed at the Greenbrier which is exquisite, but not really worth the price unless you have time to enjoy the amenities. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2005
3  Thank Mom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 347 of 347 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2004

There are so many elements that make the General Lewis Inn an especially wonderful and stress free experience. The key seems to be the staff - from the front desk help of Rhonda and Helen, to the patience of Elizabeth in the dining room, or the well informed housekeepers, you find yourself surrounded by folks whose hearts radiate the charm and gentility of the Inn. We really cannot emphasis enough how delightful it is to sit at the breakfast table, be visited by Mr. Morgan, and conclude our day with wine on the porch and a friendly kitty in our lap. They are in the business of providing excellent and sincere service, in a charming setting with delicious food - in short, the respite that we all need.

We want others to enjoy the General Lewis, we just hope we can get back there in the near future!! Our appreciation for a wonderful stay, and do what we did - try several different rooms!

3  Thank anita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Westminster, MD
13
Reviewed April 25, 2004

We just returned from a three-day stay at the General Lewis Inn. The atmosphere is so welcoming and comfortable that we plan to make it our "home" whenever we travel to the area. We felt so very much at home and so relaxed that it turned what began as more or less a business trip into a getaway. We plan to return often.

  • Stayed: April 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed January 29, 2003

The General Lewis is my # Top Favorite Location on the planet!


I am an army brat who has been to 31 countries, and I know whereof I
speak.


Mary Moore

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
deltona, Florida
17
Reviewed January 24, 2003

The General Lewis Inn is inviting to overnight guests as well as casual dining clientele.

We look forward to either staying as guests or taking a meal or two on our semi-annual trips to the area. The rooms are all different and most times you may pick anc choose the one that suits you best. The sitting area has something for everyone, games, rocking chairs, a fireplace, books and magazines. You may have your dessert and coffee served there if you like

The owners and locals are seen here frequently and are friendly and open to answer inquiries.

Visitors can feel free to stop in and browse through another century and don't miss the antiques exhibited in the hallways.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lewisburg hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Marcel
Maison Marcel
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
4 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range: $95 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing