We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My family and I went to the WV State Fair and needed a place to stay over night. At first, we looked at all the big chain hotels in the area, but I came across the General Lewis Inn and thought it would be fun to stay somewhere more local. Our stay was fantastic! The service was excellent, our rooms were clean and quaint, and the restaurant downstairs was good too. Very charming, with great space in the front and back lawn to sit and chat with friends and family. Plus, it was walking distance to awesome local restaurants and shops.

Highly recommend! Skip the boring chain hotel and stay at the authentic, historical General Lewis Inn!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing with Readers about the great restaurants in Lewisburg. Hope that you'll be back again soon. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    81
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
71
151
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stopped in Lewisburg for one afternoon & night on a longer road trip. The General Lewis was an ideally located base for exploring the downtown area on foot, a welcome break from hours in the car. The inn is an older property furnished with antiques, so be prepared for some creaks, crannies, and character. However, the staff was great, the room was clean, breakfast was good, and the overall ambiance was a nice change from chain hotels.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Second floor requires climbing stairs, so ask for first floor if you have limi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Friends, Thanks for the kind review! Creaks, Crannies and Character should be written under General Lewis Inn in all of our publicity! We'll look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed one night ( July 31 2014) when passing through Lewisburg on my way to South Carolina.
The general Lewis is an old 25 room Inn centrally located in Lewisburg. It has a large front porch with rocking chairs to enjoy a late afternoon cocktail . Public areas are quiet, clean and simply furnished in keeping with an old Inn. Rooms are basic,very clean and well kept although double room was very small even for one person and TV was poorly located and very small with only basic cable service. Bathrooms are very small , old and outdated as you might expect but clean and serviceable.
Service is pleasant and good. Food is decent but nothing exceptional.. Overall, a good experience as long as your expectation is for a quaint, old Inn that is clean and pleasant and not the Ritz. Recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a mid price room. Lowest priced rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barristers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thanks very much for posting on Trip Advisor with you kind comments. Especially like the use of "quaint old inn" as that description well describes us! Hope you'll come back again. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

What a nice experience. We were greeted at check in by someone who was accommodating and displayed a genuine interest in our staying that the hotel. We had packed bikes to cylse the Greenbrier Trail and the hotel provided a secure covered space for us to stow our three bikes for the night.
The hotel was a pleasant change from the traditional boxes provided by the chains - very unique decor, comfortable beds and an overall excellent facility

Room Tip: We had three adults in the party - got room 202 which had two doubles in one room and a queen and si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duront W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your fine review on Trip Advisor. Sometime the perfect combination of people get to stay in our "Family Suite" which is actually two rooms with "lots of beds"... Glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope that you'll come back again. The Greenbrier River Trail is an attraction which we feel fortunate to have so close by. It's fun from both top to bottom and the other way. Sincerely, Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We like staying at lodging that is not the usual sterile but bland look alike chain inn. In that regard, the General Lewis Inn did not disappoint. Regal on the outside and comfortable and rustic on the inside, it is chock full of historical artifacts and the ghosts of times past. A peaceful garden sits out back. We stayed in the family suite, which has a spacious central room with a queen bed and a smaller, tight bedroom with two beds that accommodated three adults and one child adequately. The bathroom was a bit small, but clean and well stocked with towels and toiletries. It was located off of the central room in the far corner instead of between the rooms, which was a bit inconvenient. The beds were comfortable. We ate breakfast in the dining room where the service staff were very warm and friendly. The food was good and comparable to the usual hotel breakfast in quality and price. The location is within easy walking distance to downtown Lewisburg's cafes, shops and other businesses. Other attractions and great outdoor adventures are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor to avoid hearing foot traffic. Don't expect a typical hotel la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Friends, Thanks so much for sharing your experience staying with us by using TripAdvisor. We appreciate knowing about the inconvenience's, too. Sometime the "charm" of the old inn makes sharing a suite with others a little difficult, especially when they have to walk through your room to get to the shared bathroom!!! Sorry! Hope you will stay with us again and try out all of our rooms. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was my second time staying at the General Lewis. The first was 14 years ago and it was just myself and one other person. This time it was myself, my husband and 5 children. You actually feel like you are stepping into the past from the moment you walk in the door. The children loved playing all of the games in the parlor and sitting on the front porch. The food at the restaurant was amazing for both dinner and breakfast. The staff was super nice and made us feel at home the entire time. One person took the time to tell my children ghost stories about the inn and they are still talking about how cool it was... The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up each morning! We will definitely be back next year and plan to spend more than one night so we have time to check out the rest of the town.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different but some are larger than others. The ones with the two beds are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Friends, It was a pleasure to have your family stay with us. We really do enjoy telling the ghost stories! Different staff have different stories, so be sure to ask about any new stories the next time you visit. Thanks for your kind words on TripAdvisor. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hometown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here most summers for the last 15 years while she is in town on business. There are many options to stay nearby with pools and exercise rooms but we just can't tear ourselves away from the wonderful service we receive at the General. The food service is also amazing. Their chefs rival anything we have tried in the area and that includes the Greenbrier. The entire staff go out of their way to ensure a delightful visit. If we are traveling anywhere near Lewisburg we make a point to stop in for a meal. I am happy that the dinning room is again serving lunch also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Joe, It's hard to believe that it's been that many years!!! Wonderful to have you as our guests. We look forward to keeping the Inn a tradition for your stay in Lewisburg. Thanks for all the good words and many years of knowing each other. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Greenbrier
The Greenbrier
#1 of 1 in White Sulphur Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 1236 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing