We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay Every Year”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here most summers for the last 15 years while she is in town on business. There are many options to stay nearby with pools and exercise rooms but we just can't tear ourselves away from the wonderful service we receive at the General. The food service is also amazing. Their chefs rival anything we have tried in the area and that includes the Greenbrier. The entire staff go out of their way to ensure a delightful visit. If we are traveling anywhere near Lewisburg we make a point to stop in for a meal. I am happy that the dinning room is again serving lunch also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Joe, It's hard to believe that it's been that many years!!! Wonderful to have you as our guests. We look forward to keeping the Inn a tradition for your stay in Lewisburg. Thanks for all the good words and many years of knowing each other. Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Historic General Lewis Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 336 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is my favorite place to stay. Better than all other hotels nationwide. The atmosphere, the service and the restaurant are just magical. I have stayed here many times over the past 25 years, and it just gets better. The decor and atmosphere is amazing. The restaurant serves nothing but the best, and the service is impecable.

Room Tip: Any room of great
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moocow719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Friends, How kind you are to post on Trip Advisor. Time passes so quickly. Hope that you will make the Inn part of your travel plans for many years to come, Sincerely, Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family stayed here on our way to take our children to camp. Although the bed was small (do not stay here if you are used to a king!), overall it was great. The service was very friendly, the rooms were clean, it was quiet, and the breakfast we had at the restaurant downstairs was hearty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

We hope you'll make the Inn part of your Camp experience. We have generations of "girls" that have stayed with us and it's always a pleasure. Thank you for your kind words. Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My family and I have stayed at the General Lewis for the last 14 years every late June. The grandchildren love the garden in the back, to run and play. They catch lightening bugs and play games. There are several tables and chairs in the garden for family to set about and visit with one another. If not too busy, the staff will serve you drinks on the front porch and breakfast in bed. Each room is different . The dinning room serves a great breakfast. Do not miss an opportunity to experience the General Lewis in Lewisburg, WV.

Room Tip: I prefer the larger up stair rooms. The garden rooms look out on the beautiful back yard gardens.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lois h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Reading your review was very moving. As you know, your visits bring great memories to all of us here. It's been wonderful getting to know you and your family. Many thanks for being part of the General Lewis Inn Family. Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Short and sweet; if you want to feel the essence of the early 20th century enhanced with relics from the civil war era and wrapped up in friendly, accommodating service, stay here! Second floor rooms are best for a quiet night. Guests at the in observed the request for quiet after 11:00, making a lack of insulation a non-issue. We were here for a family reunion and would definitely return. We felt as if we were at home. Early risers, we found fresh brewed coffee at 6:00AM. Everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Friends, It was delightful to have your family stay here with us. Thank you for the kind words on Trip Advisor. Good suggestion about the rooms on the second floor, yes, they are more out of earshot. Hope to have you back again soon. Warm regards, Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Inn and the town were very nice. Highly recommend Lewisburg and the General Lewis Inn. They have a nice Pub and nice dining all in walking distance. For ghost enthusiasts there is a cemetery at The Old Stone Church, also The Confederate Cemetery was awesone!

Room Tip: No pool hit accidentally The Inn was very nice. We actually went in July 2011
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rn_stefanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Ghost Lovers, Well, it may have been a while since you've been here, so you'll need to come on back and hear new stories about the Ghosts!!! We've had plenty of unidentified doorbell ringing and mysterious other happenings. Thank you for the kind words about the Inn and Lewisburg as well. We've probably got the best restaurants in a three block area in the entire state of WV!!! Hope to have you back soon, Nan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is the only place one should stay when visiting Lewisburg! I was in town with the family for the D.O. graduation. This Inn is located in walking distance to the medical school and the historic downtown. The bed and breakfast is perfect for families. Very clean, elegant, and classy. I can't forget the polite staff and cute white dog. Beautiful landscape and views. We stayed for 2 nights and had 3 rooms. I found the rooms upstairs to be larger then downstairs. There is a dining room that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I will have to say the breakfast was my favorite out of the three. Either way this place was perfect and I would not consider staying anywhere else when visiting Lewisburg.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be small. I would consider paying the higher fee for the bigger room. There cost per...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie01225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear D.O. Graduate Family, We loved having you here, too. Haley (cute white doggie) recognized you by the time you'd checked out. Those days went so quickly. Hope that if the winds blow you our way again, you'll be sure to stop and stay with us. Fun to catch up and hear how the Graduate fared in this crazy world. Warm regards, Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
419 reviews
24.4 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 5 in Covington
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range: $95 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing