We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Stay Every Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Save
You added Historic General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hometown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay Every Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here most summers for the last 15 years while she is in town on business. There are many options to stay nearby with pools and exercise rooms but we just can't tear ourselves away from the wonderful service we receive at the General. The food service is also amazing. Their chefs rival anything we have tried in the area and that includes the Greenbrier. The entire staff go out of their way to ensure a delightful visit. If we are traveling anywhere near Lewisburg we make a point to stop in for a meal. I am happy that the dinning room is again serving lunch also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Joe, It's hard to believe that it's been that many years!!! Wonderful to have you as our guests. We look forward to keeping the Inn a tradition for your stay in Lewisburg. Thanks for all the good words and many years of knowing each other. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    75
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
65
142
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is my favorite place to stay. Better than all other hotels nationwide. The atmosphere, the service and the restaurant are just magical. I have stayed here many times over the past 25 years, and it just gets better. The decor and atmosphere is amazing. The restaurant serves nothing but the best, and the service is impecable.

Room Tip: Any room of great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moocow719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Friends, How kind you are to post on Trip Advisor. Time passes so quickly. Hope that you will make the Inn part of your travel plans for many years to come, Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family stayed here on our way to take our children to camp. Although the bed was small (do not stay here if you are used to a king!), overall it was great. The service was very friendly, the rooms were clean, it was quiet, and the breakfast we had at the restaurant downstairs was hearty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We hope you'll make the Inn part of your Camp experience. We have generations of "girls" that have stayed with us and it's always a pleasure. Thank you for your kind words. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My family and I have stayed at the General Lewis for the last 14 years every late June. The grandchildren love the garden in the back, to run and play. They catch lightening bugs and play games. There are several tables and chairs in the garden for family to set about and visit with one another. If not too busy, the staff will serve you drinks on the front porch and breakfast in bed. Each room is different . The dinning room serves a great breakfast. Do not miss an opportunity to experience the General Lewis in Lewisburg, WV.

Room Tip: I prefer the larger up stair rooms. The garden rooms look out on the beautiful back yard gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lois h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Reading your review was very moving. As you know, your visits bring great memories to all of us here. It's been wonderful getting to know you and your family. Many thanks for being part of the General Lewis Inn Family. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Short and sweet; if you want to feel the essence of the early 20th century enhanced with relics from the civil war era and wrapped up in friendly, accommodating service, stay here! Second floor rooms are best for a quiet night. Guests at the in observed the request for quiet after 11:00, making a lack of insulation a non-issue. We were here for a family reunion and would definitely return. We felt as if we were at home. Early risers, we found fresh brewed coffee at 6:00AM. Everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Friends, It was delightful to have your family stay here with us. Thank you for the kind words on Trip Advisor. Good suggestion about the rooms on the second floor, yes, they are more out of earshot. Hope to have you back again soon. Warm regards, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Inn and the town were very nice. Highly recommend Lewisburg and the General Lewis Inn. They have a nice Pub and nice dining all in walking distance. For ghost enthusiasts there is a cemetery at The Old Stone Church, also The Confederate Cemetery was awesone!

Room Tip: No pool hit accidentally The Inn was very nice. We actually went in July 2011
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rn_stefanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Ghost Lovers, Well, it may have been a while since you've been here, so you'll need to come on back and hear new stories about the Ghosts!!! We've had plenty of unidentified doorbell ringing and mysterious other happenings. Thank you for the kind words about the Inn and Lewisburg as well. We've probably got the best restaurants in a three block area in the entire state of WV!!! Hope to have you back soon, Nan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is the only place one should stay when visiting Lewisburg! I was in town with the family for the D.O. graduation. This Inn is located in walking distance to the medical school and the historic downtown. The bed and breakfast is perfect for families. Very clean, elegant, and classy. I can't forget the polite staff and cute white dog. Beautiful landscape and views. We stayed for 2 nights and had 3 rooms. I found the rooms upstairs to be larger then downstairs. There is a dining room that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I will have to say the breakfast was my favorite out of the three. Either way this place was perfect and I would not consider staying anywhere else when visiting Lewisburg.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be small. I would consider paying the higher fee for the bigger room. There cost per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie01225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear D.O. Graduate Family, We loved having you here, too. Haley (cute white doggie) recognized you by the time you'd checked out. Those days went so quickly. Hope that if the winds blow you our way again, you'll be sure to stop and stay with us. Fun to catch up and hear how the Graduate fared in this crazy world. Warm regards, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.7 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
2.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
24.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 1236 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing