We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost Hunting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Inn and the town were very nice. Highly recommend Lewisburg and the General Lewis Inn. They have a nice Pub and nice dining all in walking distance. For ghost enthusiasts there is a cemetery at The Old Stone Church, also The Confederate Cemetery was awesone!

Room Tip: No pool hit accidentally The Inn was very nice. We actually went in July 2011
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rn_stefanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Ghost Lovers, Well, it may have been a while since you've been here, so you'll need to come on back and hear new stories about the Ghosts!!! We've had plenty of unidentified doorbell ringing and mysterious other happenings. Thank you for the kind words about the Inn and Lewisburg as well. We've probably got the best restaurants in a three block area in the entire state of WV!!! Hope to have you back soon, Nan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 345 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is the only place one should stay when visiting Lewisburg! I was in town with the family for the D.O. graduation. This Inn is located in walking distance to the medical school and the historic downtown. The bed and breakfast is perfect for families. Very clean, elegant, and classy. I can't forget the polite staff and cute white dog. Beautiful landscape and views. We stayed for 2 nights and had 3 rooms. I found the rooms upstairs to be larger then downstairs. There is a dining room that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I will have to say the breakfast was my favorite out of the three. Either way this place was perfect and I would not consider staying anywhere else when visiting Lewisburg.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be small. I would consider paying the higher fee for the bigger room. There cost per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie01225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear D.O. Graduate Family, We loved having you here, too. Haley (cute white doggie) recognized you by the time you'd checked out. Those days went so quickly. Hope that if the winds blow you our way again, you'll be sure to stop and stay with us. Fun to catch up and hear how the Graduate fared in this crazy world. Warm regards, Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We love the General Lewis Inn and every year head to the Inn to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn is comfortable with a great front porch, creaking wooden floors, and a helpful staff. Lewisburg is a charming town with outstanding shopping, restaurants, and a great vibe. Do yourself a favor and put this one on your calendar.

Room Tip: WE like the second floor because it is a "historic" Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ani725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

And it's great for us to have you come back and celebrate with us. There is nothing better than having a chance to catch up with you! Warm wishes for a great summer, Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Highly recommended. The location is quiet and residential, but only a few steps from excellent coffee shop and a truly great Irish pub. The hotel dining room is also welcoming. Breakfast is not included, but worth the price. The staff is warm and outgoing. And the ambiance truly historic. As a plus, there is a spacious garden, partially tree-shaded, with chairs and tables, perfect for that before-dinner glass of wine complete with the scent of flowers and bird song.
One caution: if stairs are a problem, be sure to request first-floor rooms, as there is no elevator.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. It's great to know you enjoyed yourselves here with us. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Nan, Helen and the GLI Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A friend of mine and I rented one of the two two-bedroom "suites" at the inn. This is the fourth or fifth time I've stayed at the General Lewis, and my experience has always been excellent. This stay was no exception. Although we had breakfast elsewhere every morning of our visit, we had dinner at the inn restaurant all three nights of our stay. Each meal was outstanding: well prepared, plentiful portions, and delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the General Lewis most highly.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Some have two double beds, some have king-sized beds, and some have beds fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 294Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Friends, Thanks so much for the great review! Those family suites make great rooms for getting together with family and/or friends. So glad that you enjoyed having your meals here at the Inn. With all the great choices that Lewisburg for fine dining, it's good to hear that you choose us! We look forward to having you again, warmer weather next time, we hope!!! Best regards, Nan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We originally wanted to go to the Greenbrier for our 30th anniversary but just couldn't justify the cost of the room and the outrageous meal prices. Found the General Lewis instead and what a treasure. Desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are cozy and charming. They leave the vacant rooms open so you can look in them. They have a variety of rooms for all kinds of groups. Some have complained about the firm beds--I slept very soundly on ours. Breakfasts are delicious! Staff in dining room were fun, efficient and very good at their jobs. Lewisburg is a real gem and the General Lewis is the best place to stay. Within walking distance of the downtown shopping area. Looking forward to going back some day. Thank you all for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but choose your room based on the number in your party--no need for two or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buckeyegrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Ohio Friends, We love being so close to the Greenbrier Resort, and what good news for us that your interest in staying there led you to our doors!!! It's great to be close enough that you can enjoy all the wonderful shops at the Greenbrier and then come back to Lewisburg to enjoy our lodging and great variety of wonderful restaurants and shops downtown here, too. Thanks so much for posting your review. So many people use Trip Advisor to find us!!! Hope you'll be back again to celebrate another anniversary. Sincerely, Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I travel regularly to the area for business and love to stay at the General Lewis Inn. I loved it so much that I had my wedding in their garden area. On my last stay I asked about the soup of the day. It was a broth-base spinach soup. I couldn't imagine it being good, but tried it anyway. As with everything else I have ever eaten, it was delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanpinnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear General Lewis Inn Bride! What a great review you've done for us on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much. Phyllis' spinach soup has been a favorite for many years - so glad you like it, too.
We look forward to having you as our guest for many years. Thanks again! Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lewisburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
478 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Marcel
Maison Marcel
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range: $95 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing