We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Valentine's Day Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Save
You added Historic General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Richwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Valentine's Day Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a lovely dinner in the dining room and then spent a restful night in our second floor room. What a wonderful Valentine's Day present for both my husband and me. On Saturday morning after breakfast we talked with the Inn's owner and reminisced about her father who was "Mr. Personality" of the Inn and the first person we met on our first trip to the restaurant over 10 years ago. Going to the Inn is like visiting old friends, and we always enjoy returning and feeling welcomed..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Friends, What a great pleasure to reminisce with you about days gone by. Mr. Morgan, Dad, enjoyed the chance to meet and make new friends, year after year. They came to the Inn in 1985 which was the year that Dad retired from forty years with DuPont. How much fun it was for me to talk about Richwood and your dedication to travel and tourism there. It's a great business to be in!!! Look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    75
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
65
142
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I have fallen in love with the General Lewis Inn as have our friends, and this is our second weekend stay with friends. The Inn is charming and warm, and every room is different. They are all furnished with antiques, but still have flat screen TV and wi-fi! The food, too, is not to be missed! You absolutely must try the winter weekend special the Inn offers. The dinners and breakfasts are all included in a two night stay for a fabulous value. Make reservations for your dinner! Staff is great, too!

Room Tip: No elevators, so first floor rooms are great for those who'd rather not deal with stairs. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkernc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Well, thanks for a great Trip Advisor Review. You were such a fun group of people it seemed like the Inn came alive when you arrived, and it got very quiet when you left. We just loved having you all here and the weather seemed to give us all lots to talk about. Looking forward to having you back. Sincerely, Nan and all the Crew here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent time...my sister and I took mom for her 60th. Great dinner and breakfast. Enjoyed the fireplace, string music, games and drinks on Sunday night. Had been there several times prior with my spouse. Always a great experience. Staff is very kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSibold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Friend, Thanks so much for your review on Trip Advisor! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our live music! Hope that you'll make the Inn a destination for the next hallmark birthday. Thanks for celebrating 60, too. Warm regards, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We've stayed at General Lewis Inn a few times now, and it's always a wonderful experience; charming, cozy, and convenient to Downtown Lewisburg. The staff is excellent and the restaurant is very nice. Breakfasts are good and plentiful! The wait staff treat you like family. When traveling to West Virginia, this will be my "second home."

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgbachand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for your kind words on Trip Advisor. We're grateful for our downtown location and how our guests only have a couple of blocks to walk to great restaurants (in addition to our own!) and fun shopping. Looking forward to being your "second home"!!! Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas and the decorations in the great room by the big gas fireplace
made for a great Holiday atmosphere.

The restaurant is also very good but frequented by locals so you need reservations.

Room Tip: This is an antique building so some rooms are more updated than others. Heating unit can be noisy...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Paula did a great job on our Christmas Decorations and we had a wonderful holiday here. Glad that you had a chance to enjoy our dining room, and yes, we've got a lot of local people eating here, too, so it is good to have your reservations early. Sorry about the heater noise. Just can seem to get the fans to run as quietly as we'd like. Thanks for staying with us and looking forward to your return. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The staff were extremely professional, and the rooms were clean. It's a great place to stay if you want to explore the town of Lewisburg. There's a cozy common area with a nice fireplace and plenty of antiques and historic artifacts to look at. Best thing about this place is the silence. If you're looking for peace and quiet this is the place to go.

The food was decent (but not exceptional). The service offered was good too. I can't offer a perfect rating because I'm a coffee fiend, and there was no coffee ready in the lobby when I went down in the morning. Other than that, no real complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zcpen405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Fellow Coffee Lover,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. And thank you ESPECIALLY for the reminder on the importance of Morning Coffee. My sincere apology for not having our coffee ready for you. That's certainly one of the first things on most (whether travelers or workers) minds as we awake and get going in the mornings.
We are always trying to improve, so thanks also for the heads up on the food. Thank you again for your help. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had the most wonderful time during my stay in Lewisburg at the Gen. Lewis Inn. Can't wait to go back! Food was great, ambiance spectacular, and the staff was super sweet. Just a short walk into downtown Lewisburg with a great coffee shop and a pub that made me feel like I was back in Ireland!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Friends,
Thanks very much for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. It's great to be compared to being in Ireland!!! Hope your travels bring you back to Lewisburg again. Sincerely, Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.7 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
2.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
24.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 1236 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing