We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Our Wedding”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had our wedding at the General Lewis Inn in 1998. Our reception dinner and family party were held there too. The owners were great, as well as the entire staff. Our requests were handled professionally and with care. It was a small and intimate ceremony and it was the perfect place for it. The best place to spend our budget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Friends Having Your First Anniversary! Thank you so much for your post on Trip Advisor. We are having a wedding here this weekend and hope they'll be saying how much they enjoyed it, too! Hope you'll come back and celebrate some of your anniversaries with us. Love to see you back again. Warm regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 345 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed there recently. Pretty historic building with professional and friendly staff. . The rooms are quaint, the bathrooms small. Lovely antiques. If you want a chain motel-style experience, this isn't it. But that's what we like about this place-cozy, unpretentious...a place you'd like to stay in a picturesque town. Walk to restaurants and town. Had a nice dinner and breakfast the next morning. Cordial waiter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann_dalpiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind words for the Inn and our Staff. We feel very fortunate to have guests who are interested in our little spot in Lewisburg. Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the general Lewis, great atmosphere and the coziness. The antiques add to it all and we liked it so much better than an average hotel. We were close to downtown to walk and the grounds were well maintained. We unfortunately missed the upcoming summer gardens but looked like they would be beautiful. I really liked all the rocking chairs on the porch also.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor. Paula has been taking care of the gardens and flower arrangements for several years and she'll be glad to hear that you noticed. The summer flowers are just about here and we'll be posting pics on Facebook. Thanks again, Nan Morgan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Vert nice Inn. Great location. Food was good; service slow but staff was very customer oriented. Bathrooms were very small and not enough places in room to put items. Decor of the Inn was nice--lots of interesting antiques. Grounds were beautifully maintained. Only real negative was that the bed was to high and difficult to get in to. Could of used stepping stools on both sides.

Room Tip: Rooms and bathrooms are small. Be prepared for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukerooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Pennsylvania Friends, Thanks so much for your review of the Inn on Trip Advisor. We appreciate that you let us know about needing additional stepping stools up to the beds. Seems like there are never enough! Hope you will come back for a visit with us again. Sincerely, Nan Morgan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at the General Lewis Inn many times over the last 6 years and have never been the least disappointed. The rooms have always been very comfortable, clean and quiet. The Inn and Restaurant staffs are all incredible and the meals are absolutely beyond compare. We stayed there again just last week and while I was there I had the Pork smothered in peaches and bourbon sauce for dinner. It was without a doubt one of the best meals I have ever tasted. I've stayed in many hotels and inns over the years and nothing compares to "The General Lewis Inn".

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveGeneralLewisInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Friends from White Post. Thank you very much for your post on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to let Misty know that you enjoyed her specialty Bourbon Pork! We look forward to having you as our guests again soon. Nan Morgan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

General Lewis Inn is a true charmer. It is a two-story inn right in the middle of historic Lewisburg. We could walk to all the restaurants and sights that we wanted.
The Inn itself is an old grand dame. Furished with authentic, homey furnishings, and tons of interesting accessories. Our room and bathroom were tiny, but they always are in these type places. You take the good with the bad.....
My only complaint is a very unfriendly front desk clerk. Didn't fit with the rest of the staff at all. And the owner visited with us one morning and was delightful. I cannot imagine why they let a front desk clerk (the Inn's first impression for each guest) behave with such indifference.
But other than that, the grounds are beautiful, the location is perfection, and the Inn felt like a genuine, old-world Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Friends from Texas. Thank you for your kind comments on the Inn. And thank you for bringing to our attention a shortcoming at the Front Desk. It is always great to hear good comments, but the more difficult comments give us an opportunity to improve. We hope you will be greated with the warm hospitality and personal service that we'd like you to have on your next visit. Sincerely, Nan Morgan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I booked a two night stay at the last minute. We originally planned to stay at a chain hotel but it was booked due to a golf tournament. So glad we couldn't get a reservation because the General Lewis Inn was perfect for us. Rooms met our extreme cleanliness standards and the linens were soft. Staff was pleasant and friendly. We enjoyed relaxing in the back garden during the evenings. A short walk to downtown provides specialty shops, bakeries, antique shops and fine dining.

During the days, we rode our bicycles on the Greenbrier River Trail. Very scenic and trail is well groomed.
We’re watching the weather forecast to determine if we can return next weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linkousk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you. We all enjoyed reading your great review of the Inn and remember your recent visit. We look for to having you back! Nan Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lewisburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
478 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Marcel
Maison Marcel
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range: $95 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing