We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The "Best" kept secret in West Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Save
You added Historic General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
White Post, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The "Best" kept secret in West Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at the General Lewis Inn many times over the last 6 years and have never been the least disappointed. The rooms have always been very comfortable, clean and quiet. The Inn and Restaurant staffs are all incredible and the meals are absolutely beyond compare. We stayed there again just last week and while I was there I had the Pork smothered in peaches and bourbon sauce for dinner. It was without a doubt one of the best meals I have ever tasted. I've stayed in many hotels and inns over the years and nothing compares to "The General Lewis Inn".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveGeneralLewisInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Friends from White Post. Thank you very much for your post on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to let Misty know that you enjoyed her specialty Bourbon Pork! We look forward to having you as our guests again soon. Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    74
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
65
142
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

General Lewis Inn is a true charmer. It is a two-story inn right in the middle of historic Lewisburg. We could walk to all the restaurants and sights that we wanted.
The Inn itself is an old grand dame. Furished with authentic, homey furnishings, and tons of interesting accessories. Our room and bathroom were tiny, but they always are in these type places. You take the good with the bad.....
My only complaint is a very unfriendly front desk clerk. Didn't fit with the rest of the staff at all. And the owner visited with us one morning and was delightful. I cannot imagine why they let a front desk clerk (the Inn's first impression for each guest) behave with such indifference.
But other than that, the grounds are beautiful, the location is perfection, and the Inn felt like a genuine, old-world Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Friends from Texas. Thank you for your kind comments on the Inn. And thank you for bringing to our attention a shortcoming at the Front Desk. It is always great to hear good comments, but the more difficult comments give us an opportunity to improve. We hope you will be greated with the warm hospitality and personal service that we'd like you to have on your next visit. Sincerely, Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I booked a two night stay at the last minute. We originally planned to stay at a chain hotel but it was booked due to a golf tournament. So glad we couldn't get a reservation because the General Lewis Inn was perfect for us. Rooms met our extreme cleanliness standards and the linens were soft. Staff was pleasant and friendly. We enjoyed relaxing in the back garden during the evenings. A short walk to downtown provides specialty shops, bakeries, antique shops and fine dining.

During the days, we rode our bicycles on the Greenbrier River Trail. Very scenic and trail is well groomed.
We’re watching the weather forecast to determine if we can return next weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linkousk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you. We all enjoyed reading your great review of the Inn and remember your recent visit. We look for to having you back! Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. The family and staff were extremely nice and attentive. The room was very comfortable and had all the amendities you would need (even have handicapped accessible rooms). A big plus is that the Inn also has a great restaurant that has a very complete menu. The evening meal was especially good had to commend the "Chef", she prepared an excellant dish that was comparable to the meals we had just had in Washington D.C's finer establishments. We stayed here 20 years ago and must say it is still a great place. Another plus is the location that it is close to downtown and shopping. The last thing to say is that cost is very reasonable just check out their website and you will see. If your in the area the General Lewis Inn is a must place to stay.

Room Tip: It is a two level Inn, so if stairs are an issue, request 1st floor. Parking can be an issue as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sir, Thank you for your review of our Inn. We certainly appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us and have come back. Looking forward to seeing you again. Nan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a really good experience here. Our room was great - very large, very nicely designed and kept up. The service was fabulous - extremely helpful and personal; they went out of their way to help. We give it our strongest recommendations. Can't comment on dinner as we had it elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your Great Review. It's our guests that make the Inn so special. Hope you will find your way back to Greenbrier Valley again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The only location I stay during my frequent trips to Lewisburg, West Virginia. The family of owners and staff welcome you with open arms. Each room is unique and comfortable with individual amenities, not a "rubber stamp" space! Cleanliness exceeds expectations and the charm of the Living Room and Dining rooms cannot be re-created in today's environment. The location to the downtown shopping district (a miniature Ann Arbor) cannot be surpassed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKJaniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We loved reading your review of the Inn and Lewisburg. Quite a nice compliment to be compared to Ann Arbor shopping! Thank you. Hope you'll find your way back to WV again.
Nan Morgan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

For the past 12 years we have traveled to Lewisburg dozens of times. Having discovered the GL during our first visit we would never want to stay anywhere else. The ambiance there is warm and sympathetic to anyone having an interest in the history of the nation and the staff are always welcoming and friendly.

Not only do we stay at the inn, we have, many times, booked meals there with friends from nearby communities and had a wonderful time. After traveling thousands of miles around the world and having stayed at scores of hotels, motels, and inns, we are always keen to come back to the comforting environment and the good people there who have, over the years, become our friends.

Room Tip: You can see images of the rooms on their site. Book ahead as they tend to fill up on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris and Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you. We greatly appreciate your Trip Advisor Review. Sincerely, Nan Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
24.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 1236 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing