We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Best" kept secret in West Virginia”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at the General Lewis Inn many times over the last 6 years and have never been the least disappointed. The rooms have always been very comfortable, clean and quiet. The Inn and Restaurant staffs are all incredible and the meals are absolutely beyond compare. We stayed there again just last week and while I was there I had the Pork smothered in peaches and bourbon sauce for dinner. It was without a doubt one of the best meals I have ever tasted. I've stayed in many hotels and inns over the years and nothing compares to "The General Lewis Inn".

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveGeneralLewisInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Friends from White Post. Thank you very much for your post on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to let Misty know that you enjoyed her specialty Bourbon Pork! We look forward to having you as our guests again soon. Nan Morgan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 344 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

General Lewis Inn is a true charmer. It is a two-story inn right in the middle of historic Lewisburg. We could walk to all the restaurants and sights that we wanted.
The Inn itself is an old grand dame. Furished with authentic, homey furnishings, and tons of interesting accessories. Our room and bathroom were tiny, but they always are in these type places. You take the good with the bad.....
My only complaint is a very unfriendly front desk clerk. Didn't fit with the rest of the staff at all. And the owner visited with us one morning and was delightful. I cannot imagine why they let a front desk clerk (the Inn's first impression for each guest) behave with such indifference.
But other than that, the grounds are beautiful, the location is perfection, and the Inn felt like a genuine, old-world Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Friends from Texas. Thank you for your kind comments on the Inn. And thank you for bringing to our attention a shortcoming at the Front Desk. It is always great to hear good comments, but the more difficult comments give us an opportunity to improve. We hope you will be greated with the warm hospitality and personal service that we'd like you to have on your next visit. Sincerely, Nan Morgan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I booked a two night stay at the last minute. We originally planned to stay at a chain hotel but it was booked due to a golf tournament. So glad we couldn't get a reservation because the General Lewis Inn was perfect for us. Rooms met our extreme cleanliness standards and the linens were soft. Staff was pleasant and friendly. We enjoyed relaxing in the back garden during the evenings. A short walk to downtown provides specialty shops, bakeries, antique shops and fine dining.

During the days, we rode our bicycles on the Greenbrier River Trail. Very scenic and trail is well groomed.
We’re watching the weather forecast to determine if we can return next weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linkousk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you. We all enjoyed reading your great review of the Inn and remember your recent visit. We look for to having you back! Nan Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. The family and staff were extremely nice and attentive. The room was very comfortable and had all the amendities you would need (even have handicapped accessible rooms). A big plus is that the Inn also has a great restaurant that has a very complete menu. The evening meal was especially good had to commend the "Chef", she prepared an excellant dish that was comparable to the meals we had just had in Washington D.C's finer establishments. We stayed here 20 years ago and must say it is still a great place. Another plus is the location that it is close to downtown and shopping. The last thing to say is that cost is very reasonable just check out their website and you will see. If your in the area the General Lewis Inn is a must place to stay.

Room Tip: It is a two level Inn, so if stairs are an issue, request 1st floor. Parking can be an issue as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review of our Inn. We certainly appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us and have come back. Looking forward to seeing you again. Nan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a really good experience here. Our room was great - very large, very nicely designed and kept up. The service was fabulous - extremely helpful and personal; they went out of their way to help. We give it our strongest recommendations. Can't comment on dinner as we had it elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chazzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your Great Review. It's our guests that make the Inn so special. Hope you will find your way back to Greenbrier Valley again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The only location I stay during my frequent trips to Lewisburg, West Virginia. The family of owners and staff welcome you with open arms. Each room is unique and comfortable with individual amenities, not a "rubber stamp" space! Cleanliness exceeds expectations and the charm of the Living Room and Dining rooms cannot be re-created in today's environment. The location to the downtown shopping district (a miniature Ann Arbor) cannot be surpassed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKJaniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

We loved reading your review of the Inn and Lewisburg. Quite a nice compliment to be compared to Ann Arbor shopping! Thank you. Hope you'll find your way back to WV again.
Nan Morgan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

For the past 12 years we have traveled to Lewisburg dozens of times. Having discovered the GL during our first visit we would never want to stay anywhere else. The ambiance there is warm and sympathetic to anyone having an interest in the history of the nation and the staff are always welcoming and friendly.

Not only do we stay at the inn, we have, many times, booked meals there with friends from nearby communities and had a wonderful time. After traveling thousands of miles around the world and having stayed at scores of hotels, motels, and inns, we are always keen to come back to the comforting environment and the good people there who have, over the years, become our friends.

Room Tip: You can see images of the rooms on their site. Book ahead as they tend to fill up on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris and Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoNameCanyon, Owner at Historic General Lewis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you. We greatly appreciate your Trip Advisor Review. Sincerely, Nan Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lewisburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
435 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Marcel
Maison Marcel
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range: $95 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing