We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs work on customer service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived 45 minutes after check in and our room was still not available. They didn't even offer us a glass of ice tea while we waited. The bed was so high we had to swing our leg up over the edge. You couldn't sit down on it even standing on tip toe. The bathroom was so small I stubbed my toe on the tub half the time I went in there.

Room Tip: Don't get the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAT41099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 345 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

We came here to meet up with some friends in "America's Coolest Small Town" for the Taste of our Town" festival. It has been a great time! First of the Inn is cozy and very friendly with a great restaurant. The festival is a one day event benefiting their local Carnegie Hall. Yes they have a Carnegie Hall. apparently Carnegie built 4 of them and this cool little town has one one of them. The feet had loads of great food and entertainment.

Back to the inn... Our room is comfortable and clean and filled with antiques.the staff is welcoming and very accommodating and the food in their restaurant is not to be missed.

We have had a great week starting on the coast of NC and now amongst the turning autumn leaves! We highly recommend the General Lewis Inn to couples and for families

Room Tip: Just call the inn and tell them what you want they have a lot of choices for rooms. Some overlook th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachBunny025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a charming B&B. A short walk to town brings you to shopping, enteratinament and food. Of course, we always eat dinner at the Inn and the food is excellent. I was happy to see that they added more selections to the menu. My husband and I don't live far, but do like to
"get away" for our anniversary. The Inn is close to home, in case the kiddos need us, but far enough away to feel like we are on a vacation. The staff are always friendly and the rooms very clean. I love the big front porch and the beautiful grounds in the back. We will visit again this Christmas for dinner after seeing a Christmas play at the theatre down the street.

Room Tip: We always stay on the 2nd floor, seems to be less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Remember, this is an historic building; the wooden floors creak, the walls have seen a lot of action, the doorways have had many people pass through. The decor and ambience stays fairly true to the 19th century. We stayed in Room 111 with two double beds and enough pillows to bolster any body. The room was clean and bright with plenty of good bedtime lighting. The bathroom was new, white, clean and fairly spacious; the plumbing worked just fine. Our room had two large windows to the back of the house but our view of the yard and garden was obscured by tall shrubs. We had two problems with the room: with 90+ heat with matching humidity on Labor Day weekend, we wanted blasts of cold air to offset the outside misery, but the AC rattled miserably on high--so we toned down the chiller and lived with the mugginess; and the chest of drawers may have been authentic, but they should have been functional as well instead of constantly off-track and unmanageable. The staff was pleasant and the room was clean. The backyard is perfect for kids to run around. What's nice is that downtown Lewisburg is just a couple of blocks away and a very pleasant walk. Returning from a lovely dinner, you can sit on the front porch and rock awa. I can see why it was considered the coolest USA town in 2011.

Room Tip: Visitors strolled outside our room all the time to see the 19th century antiques hung on the wall, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HurricaneFinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Charming Inn within walking distance of shops, restaurants and historic sites. Lots of character and history. Why stay at a chain hotel when you can have this experience for a few dollars more. Will come back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The stay was a little pricey, but well worth it. The room was just a perfect size, nice TV. The food was out of sight!! Everyone was friendly. Nice area, within walking distance of shops and quiet. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice rooms, good food, reasonable prices. Several blocks from the heart of downtown Lewisburg. Very nice grounds in a relaxing setting. Parking is very convenient. The nicely appointed dining room lends itself to unhurried dining. Be sure to take time to look at the many antiques and historical artifacts found throughout the Inn. We arrived fairly early in the day and were the first guests to check in. This was our first visit to the inn and after stepping through the front door, we could not wait to get our bags to our room so we could explore the rest of the inn. It is just that kind of place. We were very pleased with our room and we took time to view several other rooms during our stay. All were just as nice as ours but no two were alike. We recommend that you use the photos on the inn's website to select your room. Dinner was excellent. The menu choices were sufficiently varied that you will find something that suits your palate. In fact, the more people you have in your party, the more opportunity you will have to sample across the menu. Although the dining room was not particularly busy on the weekday evening when we dined there, the setting gave the impression that this was a place where local folks would want to come for special occasions. Service was attentive but unhurried and the prices were very reasonable. We enjoyed breakfast at the inn on the following morning and had another great dining experience. In all, our experience at the General Lewis was first rate and we would go out of our way to stay there again. We have recommended the General Lewis to our friends and neighbors and, based on our experience, we recommend the inn to you as well. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lewisburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
478 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Marcel
Maison Marcel
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range: $95 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing