We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to shops and restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Save
You added Historic General Lewis Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Walking distance to shops and restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Remember, this is an historic building; the wooden floors creak, the walls have seen a lot of action, the doorways have had many people pass through. The decor and ambience stays fairly true to the 19th century. We stayed in Room 111 with two double beds and enough pillows to bolster any body. The room was clean and bright with plenty of good bedtime lighting. The bathroom was new, white, clean and fairly spacious; the plumbing worked just fine. Our room had two large windows to the back of the house but our view of the yard and garden was obscured by tall shrubs. We had two problems with the room: with 90+ heat with matching humidity on Labor Day weekend, we wanted blasts of cold air to offset the outside misery, but the AC rattled miserably on high--so we toned down the chiller and lived with the mugginess; and the chest of drawers may have been authentic, but they should have been functional as well instead of constantly off-track and unmanageable. The staff was pleasant and the room was clean. The backyard is perfect for kids to run around. What's nice is that downtown Lewisburg is just a couple of blocks away and a very pleasant walk. Returning from a lovely dinner, you can sit on the front porch and rock awa. I can see why it was considered the coolest USA town in 2011.

Room Tip: Visitors strolled outside our room all the time to see the 19th century antiques hung on the wall, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HurricaneFinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    71
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
64
140
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Charming Inn within walking distance of shops, restaurants and historic sites. Lots of character and history. Why stay at a chain hotel when you can have this experience for a few dollars more. Will come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budds Creek
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The stay was a little pricey, but well worth it. The room was just a perfect size, nice TV. The food was out of sight!! Everyone was friendly. Nice area, within walking distance of shops and quiet. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice rooms, good food, reasonable prices. Several blocks from the heart of downtown Lewisburg. Very nice grounds in a relaxing setting. Parking is very convenient. The nicely appointed dining room lends itself to unhurried dining. Be sure to take time to look at the many antiques and historical artifacts found throughout the Inn. We arrived fairly early in the day and were the first guests to check in. This was our first visit to the inn and after stepping through the front door, we could not wait to get our bags to our room so we could explore the rest of the inn. It is just that kind of place. We were very pleased with our room and we took time to view several other rooms during our stay. All were just as nice as ours but no two were alike. We recommend that you use the photos on the inn's website to select your room. Dinner was excellent. The menu choices were sufficiently varied that you will find something that suits your palate. In fact, the more people you have in your party, the more opportunity you will have to sample across the menu. Although the dining room was not particularly busy on the weekday evening when we dined there, the setting gave the impression that this was a place where local folks would want to come for special occasions. Service was attentive but unhurried and the prices were very reasonable. We enjoyed breakfast at the inn on the following morning and had another great dining experience. In all, our experience at the General Lewis was first rate and we would go out of our way to stay there again. We have recommended the General Lewis to our friends and neighbors and, based on our experience, we recommend the inn to you as well. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernVirginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great little garden and wonderful porch to relax on. Price is right and the rooms are dated, but perfectly functional. Nice staff too. I was there with a group of about 30 people, and the staff did a great job with a couple of receptions, and group breakfasts, etc. I hate to say it, but I was very pleasantly suprised at the great food. I'm giving this 4 stars not because it is a 4 star hotel, but because for what it is, this top notch; historic fun, in a very nice setting. And the proximity to other restaurants and fund things to do is a great bonus.

Room Tip: No elevator, so make sure to know what room you are getting if that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichFromVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We always have stayed here through the years when our daughters went to Camp Alleghany (13 years). Lewisburg is not only our favorite town, but the General Lewis is one of our most favorite places we have ever stayed. We have never met more accommodating staff. The rooms are old and lovely. The food and drink is good, and we enjoy relaxing in the rocking chairs on the front porch after a pleasant day in Lewisburg. We have had opportunities to stay at the Greenbrier, but it's much too stuffy (and overpriced). General Lewis is the place to stay if you are ever in this area!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank unctheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and stayed here one night over Memorial Day weekend. That was a plus because a lot of smaller inns/B & Bs require two nights over a holiday weekend. Inn is just outside of downtown Lewisberg - a very nice town to walk thru. Front desk personnel efficient and friendly and our room was comfortable and nicely furnished. Inn is decorated is full of antiques so it's somewhat like staying in a museum. We had some time to kill before dinner and the bar mix us drinks which we enjoyed on the front porch. Overall a very pleasant stay.We had dinner and breakfast (breakfast is not included) and both meals were excellent. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricochet_Rabbit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
24.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 301 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901-1425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing