We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Budds Creek
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The stay was a little pricey, but well worth it. The room was just a perfect size, nice TV. The food was out of sight!! Everyone was friendly. Nice area, within walking distance of shops and quiet. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    84
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
77
157
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice rooms, good food, reasonable prices. Several blocks from the heart of downtown Lewisburg. Very nice grounds in a relaxing setting. Parking is very convenient. The nicely appointed dining room lends itself to unhurried dining. Be sure to take time to look at the many antiques and historical artifacts found throughout the Inn. We arrived fairly early in the day and were the first guests to check in. This was our first visit to the inn and after stepping through the front door, we could not wait to get our bags to our room so we could explore the rest of the inn. It is just that kind of place. We were very pleased with our room and we took time to view several other rooms during our stay. All were just as nice as ours but no two were alike. We recommend that you use the photos on the inn's website to select your room. Dinner was excellent. The menu choices were sufficiently varied that you will find something that suits your palate. In fact, the more people you have in your party, the more opportunity you will have to sample across the menu. Although the dining room was not particularly busy on the weekday evening when we dined there, the setting gave the impression that this was a place where local folks would want to come for special occasions. Service was attentive but unhurried and the prices were very reasonable. We enjoyed breakfast at the inn on the following morning and had another great dining experience. In all, our experience at the General Lewis was first rate and we would go out of our way to stay there again. We have recommended the General Lewis to our friends and neighbors and, based on our experience, we recommend the inn to you as well. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernVirginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great little garden and wonderful porch to relax on. Price is right and the rooms are dated, but perfectly functional. Nice staff too. I was there with a group of about 30 people, and the staff did a great job with a couple of receptions, and group breakfasts, etc. I hate to say it, but I was very pleasantly suprised at the great food. I'm giving this 4 stars not because it is a 4 star hotel, but because for what it is, this top notch; historic fun, in a very nice setting. And the proximity to other restaurants and fund things to do is a great bonus.

Room Tip: No elevator, so make sure to know what room you are getting if that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichFromVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We always have stayed here through the years when our daughters went to Camp Alleghany (13 years). Lewisburg is not only our favorite town, but the General Lewis is one of our most favorite places we have ever stayed. We have never met more accommodating staff. The rooms are old and lovely. The food and drink is good, and we enjoy relaxing in the rocking chairs on the front porch after a pleasant day in Lewisburg. We have had opportunities to stay at the Greenbrier, but it's much too stuffy (and overpriced). General Lewis is the place to stay if you are ever in this area!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank unctheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and stayed here one night over Memorial Day weekend. That was a plus because a lot of smaller inns/B & Bs require two nights over a holiday weekend. Inn is just outside of downtown Lewisberg - a very nice town to walk thru. Front desk personnel efficient and friendly and our room was comfortable and nicely furnished. Inn is decorated is full of antiques so it's somewhat like staying in a museum. We had some time to kill before dinner and the bar mix us drinks which we enjoyed on the front porch. Overall a very pleasant stay.We had dinner and breakfast (breakfast is not included) and both meals were excellent. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricochet_Rabbit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed there 6-29-12 when the big storm came through. We lost power about 8:30 no power when we checked out at 6am next morning.it was so hot and miserable up all night. All they said at front desk was beyond his control. Well he could of giving all the patrons there that night was a coupon for another night even on there off season. We will never return again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelnise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

A must if you are charmed by history and great hospitality. If on the other hand you do not appreciate antiques and you want an "impersonal" room that looks exactly like any other modern room in any chain hotel, the General Lewis is not for you.
My husband and I just had our second stay at the General Lewis; we spent 4 nights this year and we already booked our next stay. The Inn is very comfortable , our room with a view on the superb garden was exquisite, and the bathroom, even though a bit small, was very clean and functional for just a few nights. Furthermore, the staff is welcoming, especially the two waiters and waitress in the dining room where the food is impeccable. Our few days spent at the General Lewis were truly rejuvenating ... not to mention the pretty small town of Lewisburg and the gorgeous bike trail (Greenbrier River trail) located relatively close to the Inn!

Room Tip: Second floor will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarbleCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lewisburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
33 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing