We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Inn with Fine Dining”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We have stayed here twice. The staff is friendly, there is a great front porch and it is walking distance from the shops and galleries in downtown Lewisburg. The food is excellent and compares favorably with high end metropolitan dining, and really good food is hard to find in West Virginia. Both times we stayed in the 1840's Inn, groups from the Greenbrier came in for small events-the anecdote is that smart people enjoy the grounds at the Greenbrier but spend the night at the General Lewis! The lobby is period with museum pieces and the rooms and bathrooms are clean and modern. FIne dinner for two, cocktails and appetizers on the veranda, big country breakfast and the room overnight was less than $300......

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 339 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

quaint, romantic inn featuring loads of antiques, delicious food, friendly, helpful staff, beautiful gardens. within walking distance to the historic town of Lewisburg.

Room Tip: check out the photos on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank educator312003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The accomadations and service is superbed. The rooms are always clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is perfect and easy to get to any locale event. The food is always delicious and the portions are ample. I've stayed there many times and each time it is absolutly perfect. I honestly cannot think of a single negative thing to say about the General Lewis Inn or anyone that works there. Everyone at the General Lewis Inn takes immense pride in what they do.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveGeneralLewisInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

The main reason to stay here was that there didn't seem to be many options in the area especially ones with something different to provide. Its a beautiful building from the outside with lots of antiques inside and the furniture is very traditional.

But traditional doesn't exactly mean comfortable and this place does the best it can out of history rather than the whole experience of one's stay. Amenities were minimal and we skipped the restaurant and the whole hard sell thing at it. Town was really nice with a few good options for dinner though looking around pays its dues.

Room Tip: book early has fills up due to weddings etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fridgemagnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. They were friendly and helpful during our entire stay. In particular, I want to mention that Kendra (I think that was her name) went out of her way to find directions somewhere for me and called my room to let me know. The experience was awesome! The Inn is historic and a museum in itself. I would love to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Something for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casperbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

If you like old Hotels in a small town this is one of the best . Most places we do not eat at the hotel but if you don't eat at there restaurant you missed something.

Room Tip: Look at web site to pick your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckeyesOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

One of our nicest visits to our beautiful state.
Recommend this quaint, well situated charming Inn

Room Tip: Didn't see any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDykeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
465 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
426 reviews
24.4 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 5 in Covington
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Address: 1236 Washington St E, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range: $95 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing