We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“General Lewis Inn, the best place in town.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic General Lewis Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic General Lewis Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
White Post, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“General Lewis Inn, the best place in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

The accomadations and service is superbed. The rooms are always clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is perfect and easy to get to any locale event. The food is always delicious and the portions are ample. I've stayed there many times and each time it is absolutly perfect. I honestly cannot think of a single negative thing to say about the General Lewis Inn or anyone that works there. Everyone at the General Lewis Inn takes immense pride in what they do.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveGeneralLewisInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    80
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
71
148
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

The main reason to stay here was that there didn't seem to be many options in the area especially ones with something different to provide. Its a beautiful building from the outside with lots of antiques inside and the furniture is very traditional.

But traditional doesn't exactly mean comfortable and this place does the best it can out of history rather than the whole experience of one's stay. Amenities were minimal and we skipped the restaurant and the whole hard sell thing at it. Town was really nice with a few good options for dinner though looking around pays its dues.

Room Tip: book early has fills up due to weddings etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fridgemagnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

The hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. They were friendly and helpful during our entire stay. In particular, I want to mention that Kendra (I think that was her name) went out of her way to find directions somewhere for me and called my room to let me know. The experience was awesome! The Inn is historic and a museum in itself. I would love to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Something for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casperbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

If you like old Hotels in a small town this is one of the best . Most places we do not eat at the hotel but if you don't eat at there restaurant you missed something.

Room Tip: Look at web site to pick your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyesOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterstown, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

One of our nicest visits to our beautiful state.
Recommend this quaint, well situated charming Inn

Room Tip: Didn't see any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDykeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Terrific location to experience the Chocolate Festival (and other activities the town has to offer). Atmosphere is great, enjoyed the grounds setting, in-house restaurant food and service was very good to excellent, and room (backside) was quiet and comfortable. The only downside was the shower control functioning, which was reported.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackrabbit1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. Especially glad we were there when the rest of the town was dark because of electrical outage and the General Lewis still had power. The food was superb and the staff was really amazing. The only down side was there was no wireless internet and was told there would be.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewisburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Greenbrier
The Greenbrier
#1 of 1 in White Sulphur Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic General Lewis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic General Lewis Inn

Property: Historic General Lewis Inn
Address: 1236 E Washington St, Lewisburg, WV 24901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lewisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Lodging in an Historic and Lovely Inn. We offer the modern traveler gracious service, a tranquil garden, a farm to table restaurant; Jefferson Dining Room, a cocktail bar; Thistle Lounge, and a lovely gift shoppe filled with silk and cashmere robes, spa products, and treasures. We welcome you seven days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Lewis Hotel Lewisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing