We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Quality Inn New River(Fayetteville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New River Inn(Oak Hill)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Summersville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
27
7
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
7
2
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 38 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Jim and Keith have a great set up for Corporate meetings. The facilities are intimate and minutes from terrific team activites in the New River Gorge. We held meetings in the morning and then did Zip Lining and Rafting in the afternoon.

This kept the meeting time really focused and allowed plenty of "follow up" discussion while doing the activities.

What really sets this meeting apart from the quarterly meetings we do as a sales leadership team is the service and attention to detail we received from Jim, Keith and there entire staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianDoughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We were able to stay one night Saturday after white water rafting. We opted for this rather than camping, and were EXTREMELY happy with this decision. Although the cabin is small and more rustic in nature (we were in cabin #4), it was perfect for us, we had all the cooking utensils we needed, including a gas grill, and enjoyed dinner and breakfast on the screened in porch, followed by a dip in the hot tub. We were even greeted with a basket of fresh baked cookies and complimentary glasses to take home. After we went rafting and grocery shopping, we never saw or heard another person, and that was what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

To be perfectly honest, when we first walked into our cabin (Over the Hill) we were disappointed. The cabin was clean, but very old, and very small (especially considering the price). The grounds were amazing (in the middle of the woods).... and it was close to all of the activities the new river gorge area has to offer.

Good: Location, grounds (unbelievably scenic). hot tub was clean and inviting, fresh cookies were waiting for us upon arrival (along with souvenir drinking glasses, and key-chain flash lights).

Bad: WiFi was nearly useless... only worked on rare occasion... and when it did, it made old dial-up seem fast by comparison. The cabin was small, and the appliances all looked like they were at least 15 years old (kinda low-brow for the price IMHO).

Other: Would have been hard to find but not for the map they send you (your GPS and Mapquest and/or Google maps will get you lost). Requested pics of the cabin several times before arriving (never got them)... I think I know why now (it's not very impressive on the inside... the ones w/inside pics provided on the website look nicer inside). Free common laundry was provided (2 small stacked machines)... which is better than nothing... but many cabins offer washer/dryer in the units. By comparison to other lodging options I suppose this one is OK (lots of older looking cabins, or lower-end motels)... maybe the bigger cabins are more nicely appointed (they seem to get great reviews)?

I had a hard time deciding whether to give this a thumbs up or down, in the end we had a good time so I give it a very lukewarm thumbs up.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Buddy's and I stayed at El Gordo. Eight of us total for a bachelor party. Good enough amount of room for all of us. The owner supplied us with a map to get to the cabin and we found it, even in the dark on our ride into town. He even made us cookies! The cabin was stocked with everything we needed to cook our own food and it was centrally located for all of our activities. Between climbing, rafting and hitting Summersville lake as well as the restaurants in Fayetteville, we were within 20 minutes of everything. Would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a great spot to vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krzycracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I stayed at the largest cabin - the Meadows, with a group of 16 a few weeks ago. The cabin is fantastic, with a very large common area, and enormous grounds. It was very well maintained, and had a new feel to it. The bunkbeds weren't so ideal for the adults, but it wasn't a huge deal. Overall, it represented a great value, and I recommend it highly.

The reason for the half star deduction is the poor communication prior to our visit. I often had to leave several messages before hearing back a few days later. Additionally, we did not receive directions (nor are they on the website), so we used google maps, which led us to the wrong place. We drove for nearly 2 hours at 3 am trying to find the place -- my group was NOT happy.
To be fair, when we locked ourselves out one night, the owner was terrific and came by quickly to open up the door for us.

To sum up - a wonderful time -- just be sure to get proper directions before coming.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amk212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews