We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic place for a large family reunion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lansing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals
Save
You added Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals to your Saves list
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albany, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place for a large family reunion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Meadows (and Cabin 1 for overflow) for a large family reunion with 6 families ranging in ages from 6 - 80 years. After much searching on the internet, I found this place. Everyone was very happy with the clean and modern accommodations. The spacious family and dining areas allowed everyone to eat together, socialize and spread out comfortably. The kitchen was very well stocked. The sleeping arrangements worked well for us as the children and teenagers were happy to sleep in the room with 5 sets of bunkbeds. The adults all had their own bedrooms. The location was nearby white water rafting and zip lining, and yet was very private.

Overall, a fantastic place for a family reunion - I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjw07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were here last year for my friend's bachelor party, had a great time, so we came back to the same cabin, "el gordo". Same great experience! The owners had cookies ready for us again, which sounds unspectacular, but after driving 7.5 hrs, they are really a great surprise. The cabin is everything we wanted in amenities and room. Super clean and well stocked with towels and cooking gear. Hoping to get more friends down next year so that we can hit up the bigger cabins on the property! Well within 10-15 minutes of rafting and climbing and amazing hiking trails.

Room Tip: El Gordo has two large bedrooms and a third bedroom with two sets of bunk beds. Super clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krzycracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The owners definitely put a lot of thought & care into the property. They thought of many conveniences. One example is there are plenty of hooks to hang clothes. One thing I always check out is the carpeting - it was clean & looked fairly new. Adventures on the Gorge is only 10 minutes away for whitewater rafting. The New River Bridge is very close, too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVMountaineerinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed at Opossum Creek in 2004. When we planned a return trip to WV, no doubt, we wanted to stay at Opossum Creek again. It was even better the second time around. I am itching to go back & stay again! The hosts are gracious, the cabins are cozy, the environment is exceptional! I would definitely recommend Opossum Creek to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moetwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avilla, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at cabin 2 and had a great time. There were four adults and two teenage boys. Our purpose was to hang out and then ski for a couple days. When we arrived there was a lot snow that was absolutely beautiful. The hot tub had been changed out the day of our arrival so was freezing until the next morning but it was great to wake up and get in the hot tub surrounded by snow and trees.......and peacefulness!

We had all of the necessities to cook our own meals and took advantage of the BBQ grill. Our only suggestion for slight improvement would be an extended roof line over the walkway between the parking and grilling area as the melting ice, and later the rain, dripped on your head when outside cooking or loading/unloading luggage. NOT a big deal though!

All in all, a fabulous place that you MUST visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danno_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Jim and Keith have a great set up for Corporate meetings. The facilities are intimate and minutes from terrific team activites in the New River Gorge. We held meetings in the morning and then did Zip Lining and Rafting in the afternoon.

This kept the meeting time really focused and allowed plenty of "follow up" discussion while doing the activities.

What really sets this meeting apart from the quarterly meetings we do as a sales leadership team is the service and attention to detail we received from Jim, Keith and there entire staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianDoughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We were able to stay one night Saturday after white water rafting. We opted for this rather than camping, and were EXTREMELY happy with this decision. Although the cabin is small and more rustic in nature (we were in cabin #4), it was perfect for us, we had all the cooking utensils we needed, including a gas grill, and enjoyed dinner and breakfast on the screened in porch, followed by a dip in the hot tub. We were even greeted with a basket of fresh baked cookies and complimentary glasses to take home. After we went rafting and grocery shopping, we never saw or heard another person, and that was what we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
22.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
8.5 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
19.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adventures on the Gorge - Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals

Property: Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals
Address: Opossum Creek Road, Fayetteville, Lansing, WV 25862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Lansing
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lansing
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Cabin in the Woods complete with Hot Tubs, Kitchens, TV, WIFI, AC, Fireplace. Quite and Private with easy access to great local restaurants and World Class Rafting, Fishing, Climbing, Biking, Zip Lines. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Opossum Creek Retreat Cabin Rentals Hotel Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing