We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Family Tradition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keyser Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Keyser Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Keyser
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Family Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family has been staying at the Keyser Inn every August while in town for a family reunion for almost twenty years. We've always found the staff to be very accommodating and polite, even when we show up in the early morning hours after a long drive. This year my husband and I stayed in room 211, which is upstairs just off the landing for the stairs. The room itself is nothing fancy, but we found it to be quite clean. Because I'd stayed in that room before years ago, I noticed that they updated the carpet, bedspreads, furniture and television. My parents and grandparents were in nearby rooms, which were also updated. Perhaps the sinks will be their next update as it looks quite dated, but it was in full-working order. We did not see any bugs in any of the rooms.

The beds are very comfortable, although the pillows were a little too firm for comfort.

Breakfast is very basic - cereal, bagels, coffee, etc. There's a college in the town, so there are fast food joints and other restaurants nearby. We satisfied ourselves with some donuts from the nearby WalMart before heading to our reunion.

Our only complaint was that some guests arrived at 1am on the Friday night and were very, very loud in the hallway. We were almost to the point of complaining to staff when those guests finally found their rooms and shut up.

For the price, this place is a comfortable little gem. So long as you're not expecting the Ritz, you will be very happy with this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SvenskaSvea1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
7
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, AL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here July, 2013. Had a terrific room- #201- was large and very comfortable. The rates were great and the breakfast was very nice- warm hard-boiled eggs, bagels, assortment of muffins, cereal, etc. Our hostess, Kathy, was wonderful and we had a delightful stay! I would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: #201 had a large Jacuzzi tub, also had an adjoining living room. There was a very large, flat-screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurieb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here until I found a furnished apartment while on a contract job. Comfortable beds, nice TV, microwave and mini-fridge in room, good breakfast, computer with printer provided in common area, can't ask for much more, excellent value overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePotsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The rooms have been updated and were clean and well appointed. This is not a luxury hotel but a good place for a nite or two. The cost is excellent and there is a continental breakfast.
Check in was easy and the room was sufficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmstitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have been staying here several times a year for the past few years and on my last two trips I have noticed a decline in cleanliness and customer service. On March 29th after a 5 hour drive and getting in late from visiting family we checked in tired and ready for bed. After checking in, doing my bedbug check, unpacking and and getting changed for bed Kelly moved the night stand and found an old coke can and candy wrapper covered in dust. We then went to lay down and found what appeared to be a blood stain on a pillow case we pulled from the other bed. We later found what appears to be a blood stain on the sheet of the other bed. We exchanged the pillow for a new one and waited until morning to say something about the trash. There was no apology for the pillow case and we were given the same pillow back.
The night was quiet and we slept fair.
The next morning on our way out I stopped at the front desk and told the staff about the trash and asked if they would please pick it up and vacuum. The woman's body language and language was that of she didn't really care. Again no apology was offered and she followed with a list of things I should have done. Like asking to change rooms when we were already unpacked and ready for bed. She was not pleasant to deal with and showed no ownership of the problem.
March 30th we returned around 930 tired and ready for sleep. We checked and the trash was gone but they did not vacuum. We went to bed around ten. We were woken at midnight by the alarm clock going off. We had not set the alarm and in all my stays it has never gone off. I believe the individual cleaning the room must have set it as we had not touched it during our stay.
I angrily expressed my outrage to the front desk that night and was again met with indifference.
We were suppose to stay another night but checked out Easter morning and found another hotel. I highly doubt I will stay at the Keyser Inn again.
Btw if you don't know blood specs on sheets and pillow case is a sign of bed bugs. They had bed bug covers installed improperly as well.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before paying or getting comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notadrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Nice, clean and roomy inn. The rooms are quiet EXCEPT for the heating/cooling unit, which cycled between quiet and loud. I always have earplugs but they were not enough to drown out this noise, so I ended up turning it off and opening the window. This will not bother normal sleepers, but light sleepers beware!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beentheredonethat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We've stayed in many places in this price range and higher. This Inn is a supervalue, especially with AAA discount. We will be in Keyser again in May and will definately stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odatsandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keyser
21.3 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
17.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
20.9 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
17.5 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#3 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
18.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keyser Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keyser Inn

Property: Keyser Inn
Address: 51 Josie Dr, Keyser, WV 26726-9446 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Keyser
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Keyser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Keyser Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 1 and 2 bedroom pet friendly rooms with free high speed internet and free Continental Breakfast.Truck parking available in rear We are next to the Sheetz Store behind Grant County Bank ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Keyser Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keyser Hotel Keyser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing