We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
Nearby Hotels
Blue Marlin Beach Resort(South Water Caye)
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonefish Hotel(Dangriga)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaleanor Hotel(Dangriga)(Great Value!)
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coco Plum Island Resort(Coco Plum Cay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Verano(Hopkins)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveler rating
521
70
19
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
70
19
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverwater bungalowother guestsfishmain palapaour honeymoonpaddle boardingserenity pointprivate islandisland doglobster huntingisland hoppingnew friendsscuba divinglaid backcommunal mealsmagical placenine miles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 624 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked a 6 night stay at Thatch Caye and cannot believe how fast it went. We arrived towards the end of the busy season, so we spent much of our time enjoying almost solitude on the island. Only engaging other couples at meal times. It was a true getaway. The casita with roof top hammocks and ocean view was amazing for relaxing. We really enjoyed the many other hammocks around the island as well. And hanging on the beach was so relaxing and fun to explore the water for various fish, shells, and sea life. We played around with the kayaks and paddle board out on the water. The staff were absolutely terrific. Chris the onsite manager and her sidekick-island dog Dewey made sure everything was running just right. We can't say enough about the wonderful cocktails Jess blended for us and the meals prepared by Alberto and Sara were beyond delicious. The grounds staff kept everything so groomed and beautiful! Our snorkeling adventure with Roger was great too, he was very sensitive to my anxiety with having not experienced snorkeling before and made it a memorable trip--seeing many fish, coral, rays, and conch. We also spent a 1/2 day off the island--zip lining was a blast and it was great to travel in the Thatch Caye van with AC for this adventure. Linden was especially kind in taking us for Mayan souvenirs, a traditional Belizean lunch, Goss chocolates, and a fresh mango at the market while sharing stories of the land and people. Things we are happy we packed: lots of sunscreen, bug repellent (mostly for jungle adventures), snacks for between meals/late eve, water bottles (can fill with the in-room water cooler), cottonelle wipes, camera with lots of room for snapping photos and several swimsuits of course. Don't over pack the pants and long sleeves. We really didn't need them, even at night. We highly recommend this island getaway! We can't wait to get back to Belize one day in the future! You better "Be-lize" you are going to love it!

Room Tip: We loved Casita #4. Just enough privacy sent back a small bit in the palms with great paths to get around the island and wonderful roof top with hammocks and beautiful views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandSBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thatch exceeded our expectations all around. Diving, snorkeling, swimming, meals, cabanas over water, the bar and of course, great staff. We are a family of 4 with 2 kids ages 12 & 13. We all enjoyed the kayaks, sail boat and wakeboards. Lots of places to explore on the island and nearby reefs. The kids tried discovery scuba and quickly fell in love with diving in their beautiful reefs. The staff was attentive, pleasant and often went out of their way to make us all feel well taken care of.

We've travel to a few island resorts and Thatch was among the best we've visited.

Room Tip: Try the family casita with 2 separate bedrooms and 1 common family area with sofabed/bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaltDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

When you find a hotel enlisted in the Tablet group of hotels, you expect quirky, boutique modern and design hotels, very far away from the hotel chains experience.

What you find in Thatch Caye is all that and at the same time nothing of that, because Thatched Caye is unique. I have been in almost 70 countries and literally 100s of hotels and I never have experienced a hotel like this where basic and luxury goes so closed hand in hand.

We stayed for 6 nights and stayed both in the cabanas and the casitas and even between the two accommodations there are different experiences, cabanas, very basic water bungalows, so romantic overlooking the sea, and casitas much more spacious and comprehensive with roof terraces crowned by 2 hammocks.

For a hotel with about 12 rooms, the island is well over 1 mile long with 3 small beaches scattered almond the island, so you can always feel like you are in the private island, with pristine crystalline water surrounding the island.

Service is amazing with everybody helpful, smiling and with a feeling of personalised service. Food has a feeling of home cooking with 3 different meals cooked in a fix menu every day.

Standard excursions are very varied and well priced and the diving/snorkelling trips are first class, we saw manatees, dolphins, sharks, eagle rays, southern rays, yellow rays and a pristine reef full of tropical fish. They can organised as well customised excursion although they are more expensive (we went to Lamanai, including 11 different transport legs in 1 day and it went very smoothly)

A few warnings
* this is not a luxury hotel, it is a relaxing hotel, no swimming pool, no TV, no Wifi, no ethnic shows,..
* beaches are beautiful but small and great for snorkelling but not ideal for swimming
* if the hotel is full ( only 2 days in our case) if people concentrate in the same area, it can loose a little bit of the castaway feeling
* if you are fuzzy with your food, you can struggle as the menu is fixed, different and cooked everyday, so there are not choices. chef is very good, but there are not snack between meals and nowhere to buy food.

Overall and unforgettable experience. Thank you for all the great staff. Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you want a romantic room with great views but small and basic choose a cabana, if you want something different choose the casita, the roof terrace is brilliant
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Thatch Caye Resort very much. The service was excellent and the resort and ocean views were beautiful. We were the only divers at the resort that week, so we were spoiled with our own dive boat that included a fabulous dive master and captain. The diving was incredible! We saw nurse sharks, spotted eagle rays, turtles and so many varieties of tropical fish.
Our cabana was cozy and clean. The views were just stunning. We found the food delicious and healthy. We ate plenty of fish, shrimp, pork ( we had a pig roast for Easter!) cooked in a various styles that were accompanied by a soup/salad, a starch ( rice, potato, bread) and a dessert. The portions were just perfect. It's refreshing not to gorge yourself as we often found ourselves at other resorts. Don't worry you won't starve, just don't expect all day buffets.
Hoperfully, we'll make our way back to this terrific resort next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseRed1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was lucky enough to spend a week at Thatch Caye in Nov 2012. Coming all the way from Australia I arrived on this magical island and immediately felt relaxed.
Every moment was memorable from the beautifully presented and tasty food through to the smiling faces of the staff every day.
I cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: ask for one of the rooms on the water
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zannies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews