We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If the price is right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Martinsburg South - Inwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Martinsburg South - Inwood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inwood
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If the price is right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This Hampton Inn is just below average for expectations of the "Hampton" quality. The decor and room amenities are right on par with what you would expect from a "Hampton Inn." However, the staff and breakfast food quality need some attention. The staff was pleasant but did not seem to go out of their way for the guests. In fact it was very rare to even see anyone at the front desk. The breakfast food was of poor quality and was not fresh. I will probably not stay at this Hampton Inn again but if the price is right, who knows...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connoisseur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Martinsburg South - Inwood, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand from your review that you had some inconveniences with our staff and breakfast quality. Your feedback is incredibly important to us, in fact, I have taken your comments into consideration and we are currently looking at different options to increase the selection of items for our breakfast menu. In regards to the staff I truly apologize if you did not feel that you received the attention you deserved. I can assure you that our main priority is making our guests feel welcome and well attended. Again, I apologize if you had any inconveniences during your stay with us and hope that you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.

Sincerely,

Melanie Manuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    88
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
94
81
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I traveled to WV for work and had to stay here for 17 days. At first I was extremely reluctant to stay at another Hampton Inn do to a very bad experience I had many years ago. I told myself that I would never stay at another Hampton Inn but I work reserved the rooms and I had to go. I am soooo happy that I ended up having to stay here. I have never been more pleased with a hotel then I was with this one. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The quality and comfort of my room far past any of my expectations!! I would without a doubt recommend this hotel to anyone! I am now once again a firm believer in the Hampton Inn! They have definitely made it to the top of my list as a first choice when I travel! Thank you Hampton Inn for treating me like family and taking care of me while I was away from home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Martinsburg South - Inwood, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! I am glad that you had a wonderful experience at our property! I am glad that the Hampton Inn Inwood staff restored your faith in the Hampton Inn Brand. I hope that you will come back to stay with us again.

Thank you,

Melanie Manuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a overnight business trip and stayed here. The staff was very friendly and helpful - suggested several places to eat and more importantly where to avoid. It's right off the I-81 exit and easy to find. The room was clean and the bed was, as always with Hilton properties, very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at this property for one night while in the area on business. Having previously stayed at the Hampton in Martinsburg and having road noise challenges there, I chose to try this property.

The Hampton Inwood is located adjacent to I-81, just east of the interstate. It is located in a commercialized area with some fast food options adjacent. One must drive to reach a restaurant offering table service.

The exterior of the property is clean, well lit and in good repair. Parking is adequate for the size of the property.

The lobby area is clean and attractive. The obligatory Hampton "round the clock coffee" was available. Check-in was flawless and the desk clerk was polite and helpful.

Elevator service was prompt and cab interiors were noted to be clean and well maintained. Interior hallways were clean, neat and well lit.

The sleeping area and bath were noted to be of the typical Hampton "look", although the room size was larger than average. All areas were clean, furnishings were in good repair and all electrical items worked as advertised. Internet service was of moderately high speed with no drops. Bath amenities were typical for the chain. Staying on the east side of the building, road noise was a non-issue.

Breakfast was the Hampton standard. Staff members in the breakfast area were cheery and helpful and all food products were constantly stocked and refreshed.

Check-out was a prompt affair. I was thanked for my business and invited back. All room charges were found to be appropriate.

As noted in the title, this is a solid Hampton. I would not hesitate to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cburley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This Hampton had all that we needed for a 2-night stay in the area. The bed was very comfortable. Hard to find great pillows these days so they were appreciated. Nice, clean rooms. The staff was friendly. Only thing that wasn't great was that the traffic noise from the road/highway was a bit loud.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a room on the back side of the hotel. Perhaps it will cut down on the traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LookingForWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Very good stopover. Friendly, clean, quiet and breakfast buffet. Made arrangement by phone in Jan for disabily accommodations, perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToxeyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

No complaints about this hotel. It was easy to get to right off the highway, clean, comfortable, and breakfast was great. Rooms and bathrooms were immaculate. Staff was friendly and helpful. What else do you need? I will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADoerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inwood
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
#4 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
16.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Martinsburg South - Inwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Martinsburg South - Inwood

Property: Hampton Inn Martinsburg South - Inwood
Address: 4758 Gerrardstown Rd, Inwood, WV 25428-3415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Inwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Martinsburg South - Inwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Inwood, West Virginia, the Hampton Inn Martinsburg South-Inwood is the perfect place to stay when traveling to the Inwood or Martinsburg area. Just off of I-81, this hotel provides easy access to downtown Inwood, Martinsburg and the Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races, which is just a 20 minute drive. While you stay, enjoy a free, hot breakfast each morning, a clean and fresh Hampton bed, complimentary high-speed internet, outdoor pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Martinsburg South - Inwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Martinsburg South - Inwood Hotel Inwood
Hampton Inn Inwood
Inwood Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing