We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hampton Inn...Decent for short business stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Average Hampton Inn...Decent for short business stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Arrived at the Hampton Inn and was greeted by the front desk staff and checked in quickly. The lobby was satisfactory with the "Business Center" near the entry door (see photo). I entered a plain elevator and arrived at room 201. I entered and found the room clean but not spotless. This hotel seems to be a bit dated. Found some dirt on walls and many scuff marks. Inspection of the bathroom revealed some minor mold growth in shower but nothing to get upset over. Nice HD flat screen TV with cable box hookup. Many channels and some in HD with full on screen guide.

HVAC was quiet and cooled the room quickly and did not bother my sleep at all. The hotel was full and was very, very quiet. I heard no exterior noise. The bed was clean and the sheets and comforter smelled fresh. The bed was good and I had no issues sleeping in it.

The breakfast is what you would expect from a Hampton. Nothing fancy, had a good selection of foods and the staff kept it well stocked. The coffee was very, very good. Tasted smoother and less bitter than other Hampton's. Very enjoyable and available 24 hours a day.

Wireless internet was quick and better than expected. Desk chair was comfortable and I was able to work with no issues.

Check out was quick and efficient.

If in the area again this would be my hotel of choice. Not the best Hampton Inn but adequate for business travel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muskywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    98
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
106
70
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

My wife and I stopped-over in Teays Valley, WV on a long weekend trip. We stayed at the Hampton Inn and were given an excellent rate. There is a Shoney's next door and a gas station in front. The staff was friendly and the room was well appointed and clean. An excellent hot breakfast was included on our morning of departure. I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to the weary traveler.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed here while visiting family in the area. The hotel is nice, staff friendly, child friendly and had a $20 military discount. My only complaint is the trash had not been emptied from previous people (which always makes you think did they clean the room at all? but I am sure it was an oversight) and the rooms were a bit small to try to fit a playpen in. The beds were very comfy and breakfast was good and had toddler friendly food! I plan on staying here again next month and would recommend to others. Plenty of resturants and stores near by. Has indoor pool but we did not try it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medawara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

We needed a good stopping place overnight from Ohio to our home in Virginia. A few days prior I had logged onto trip advisor after we had traveled out here and scoped out which exits would be convient for us. We arrived almost at midnight and the clerk at the desk had our key ready for us. The room spelled fresh and clean, and when woke up I was able to notice that it was as clean as it smelled. Breakfast offered a ton of variety - including Lucky Charms and yogurt for the kids and Danishes, breakfast meats and oatmeal for the adults. I loved that they had hot chocolate in addition to three types of coffee since I do not drink the stuff. The staff was friendly. I absolutely would stay here again. It is super convienent too
to the new Rt. 35 exit on I-64.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lundve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

I was traveling from Florida with my disabled mother, sister and two teenagers.We stayed at this location for a week. From the moment we checked in the staff was more than helpful and VERY accommodating. One night we sat down in the lobby using the table for a photo frame we were working on. The lady at the desk was helpful with things like scissors, tape etc. This was really over and beyond the call of duty. The breakfast was good and fresh. Extra blankets, towels.. no problem. Be sure to stop by the front desk for the travel snack bags. My kids took one every day and the front desk even threw in a couple extra bottles of water because it was a hot day. I will return to this location when I go back to W.va.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnette_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

Check-in was quick easy. Upon check-in, there were cookies, hot chocolate, coffee, and tea available. Room was clean and comfortable.

Nice variety for a free breakfast...hot biscuits, eggs, cold cereals, toast, bagels, pastries, yogurts, and juices.

Would stay here again on our way through town.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarriedGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

My wife and I booked this room at the last minute on a whim to go gambling at the dog track. When we got there to check in at ~ 5:00 PM on the 14th, the woman at the desk was very friendly and helpful. We asked about local resaurants and she told us what was close by. After an evening at the track, we got back to our room ~ midnight. We turned on the room heat to warm the room a bit and the heater chirped like a bird, and wouldn't stop. So, after the room heated up a little, we just turned it off. I'm glad that we didn't need it all night. We also discovered a problem with our bed comforter. I called the front desk and explained the situation to the clerk and he brought us up a (not washed, but a NEW) replacement comforter.
The room overall was very nice. Our kingsize bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was vey good and the staff was very good. We mentioned our little problems to the day clerk who said that the night clerk had noted the linen problem, but that he would note the heater noise also and appoligized for that.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurricane
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley
8.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
14.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley

Property: Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley
Address: 511 State Route 34, Hurricane, WV 25526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hurricane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley is located conveniently between Winfield and Teays Valley, WV, in the town of Hurricane. Walk to local restaurants, spend the day shopping at Liberty Square or take a quick, ten minute drive to Waves of Fun waterpark. No matter what your itinerary entails, enjoy your time at this West Virginia hotel. During your stay, enjoy complimentary high-speed internet, a free hot breakfast each morning, fitness center, pool and a clean and fresh Hampton bed each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley Hotel Hurricane
Hampton Inn Hurricane
Hurricane Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing