We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was caught in an ice storm and the interstate was shut down.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I was caught in an ice storm and the interstate was shut down.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was so glad to have found this Hampton Inn. The front desk staff was so helpful and quickly got us into a room. The friendliness of the staff was accentuated by the very clean room! I can always count on Hampton Inn for a good experience!! Thank you Winfield Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corny74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    98
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
106
70
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights with my teenage daughter. We were in town for a funeral and so were not traveling under the best of circumstances. Overall, a good experience. Rooms are clean and updated. Bathrooms have been updated and are very attractive. Our family had a total of 4 rooms and we all agreed on the good service and quality of the hotel. This is what you would expect from a Hampton. Good, clean rooms, good breakfast area and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Memphisbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This has been an overall acceptable and comfortably welcoming hotel over the last year. However, a recent stay (Feb 2013) during their renovation surprised me with no fitness facilities or alternatives, 2 rooms with partially functional locks, and a subpar breakfast. I would consider a stay in the future but WOULD NOT book until calling ahead for updates on the renovation.

Room Tip: ask about the status of renovations and door locks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Overall the hotel seemed clean and well-kept, the ceiling in our bathroom, above the shower head, had a gaping hole in it and the tub appeared to be pulling away from the wall. For the amount of money spent on the room, we were disappointed with the condition of the bathroom.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nbsd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I decided to head out for home a day early but couldn't leave until we were both off from work. We looked for a place about 5 hours into our drive and found the Hampton. I booked the reservation and then realized that I had enough Hilton Honors points to book it for free. I called them up and they changed the reservation with no hassle even though I was well within the 24 hour cancel policy window.

Check in was easy and smooth. I would say under a minute from walk in to walking to the car with the key. Once up to the room its what you would expect from an average Hampton Inn. Clean, cozy and a good place to go to bed for the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Found the room to be clean. It was not one of the larger of the Hampton Inn rooms. The front desk had a bit to be improved upon. It's like checking into a no name hotel here. Front desk guy had a freaky looking ear ring that looked quite painfu. Another guy had long dirty hair and his face was totally unshaven. I'm thinking... it's ok to have a beard, but you still need to groom. But they didn't get that in the memo. The only employees who were outright courteous and friendly were the two ladies who clean the rooms and both of them always spoke to us in the hallsways. I guess one other thing - there was no offer for hospitality - are you familiar with the area? do you need directions anywhere? or even a list of local restaurants. It just was ok.

Room Tip: ask for the backside of the hotel which faces away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4Bizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Gad reservations at Hampton inn in hurricane WV the other night. Walked in, gave them my name, welcomed as silver member, handed my keys with wifi login on cover and offered cookies within 30 seconds. Room was typical new Hampton and very confortable. Breakfast was great with a large enough breakfast area for guests.

Hotel situated between two nice restaurants fat patties and fireside grill. Both were very busy and we chose grill instead of bar atmosphere. Excellent prime rib sandwich au jus.

This will be our regular stop on quarterly trip from Indy to Raleigh nc

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurricane
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley
8.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
14.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley

Property: Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley
Address: 511 State Route 34, Hurricane, WV 25526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hurricane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley is located conveniently between Winfield and Teays Valley, WV, in the town of Hurricane. Walk to local restaurants, spend the day shopping at Liberty Square or take a quick, ten minute drive to Waves of Fun waterpark. No matter what your itinerary entails, enjoy your time at this West Virginia hotel. During your stay, enjoy complimentary high-speed internet, a free hot breakfast each morning, fitness center, pool and a clean and fresh Hampton bed each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley Hotel Hurricane
Hampton Inn Hurricane
Hurricane Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing