We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel and staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and staff ”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

This holiday inn was very nice. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff was friendly and made our stay the best it could be.

Pros: The breakfast was hot, flavourful, and abundant. The rooms were large with a fridge.

Cons: the blow dryer in the room looked like a left over from the seventies. The pool and hot tub were out of service for our entire stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Mike B,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We are very happy that you liked our breakfast selections. We also appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. Whilst, please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations with some of the room amenities. Your comments will be forwarded to the hotel for consideration of future upgrades. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    19
    11
    10
See reviews for
41
17
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had reservations at adjacent hotel but didn't like the location or the look of the place. Lucked out in that there just been a cancellation, and the other gal at the desk thought to remind the check in clerk of that fact. Rooms were nice and clean, and roomy. Husband just can't sleep on the extra thick pillows that seem to be the norm nowadays. We approached a room service attendant on the lower floor, and she immediately brought up two small pillows. Always appreciate the extra lighting and large work area. Breakfast tasty, but getting tired of the watery scrambled eggs we seem to be encountering everywhere. Appreciated the low cost guest laundry after being on the road for 10 days. Nearby restaurants and

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blokzijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our party of 5 stayed in a suite (one King bed, one Queen bed and rollaway). The room was huge and appeared to be either fairly new or recently redecorated. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The only thing I would change is to make the sofa in the room a pull-out. Instead, we had to move the sofa and other furniture around to make room for a rollaway. The breakfast was very good, and the breakfast room was very attractive with a fireplace. The desk clerk and breakfast room staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel. It just gets worse every year. We come to this area for an annual event, so the location is good, but it ends there. Indoor pool water is COLD and so overly chlorinated that being in the pool area will make you eyes water. The rooms smell like they have been doused in air freshener so much so that the it is nauseating. I went to the front desk to ask if there was an automatic air freshener in the room so I could unplug or disable it. The clerk said no, that housekeeping just sprays freshener in the rooms... Well I have been here for 8 hours and it is still overly pungent, and the carpet smells like they spray it directly. Of corse we are on the first floor, so we an only crack the window 3 inches to try to get some fresh air. I think if the room were actually cleaned, you wouldn't have spray to cover up the fact that it is not truly clean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavrix24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mavrix24,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I truly apologize for the shortcomings you may have had during this visit particularly with the maintenance levels and indoor pool facility's condition being substandard. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hurricane hotels

Hay Springs, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I picked this hotel so I could say I stayed in Hurricane WV. You gotta admit it's an interesting name for a town. It was a lovely place to spend the night. There were several places to eat close by and it was clean and comfortable. Our room did have a musty odor like old smoke but once we got the fan going and the window open it was ok. The staff was nice the breakfast was good and check in and out was simple. The shower head was great. All in all a good place to rest your head for the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I took my family to a reunion in Hurricane...we stayed at this hotel. Very clean and more than friendly! Beds were very comfortable,and the area is quiet. The only problem was the chlorine in the hot tub. It was overwhelming and was not able to even use the pool. HOWEVER...the hotel was quick to react to this situation and went out of their way to accommodate us in other ways. Would definitely stay here next year again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryGroveCity_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This location is good for a quick nights stay while on the road. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The staff was friendly and courteous. Harbor Town Fly Fishing

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarborTownFlyFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Harbortownflyfishing,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had such a pleasant and comfortable stay particularly with the room amenities and breakfast. We work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy a great relaxing stay with us. Again, thank you for the feedback. Please feel free to stay with us when in the area again

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurricane
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley
8.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley
Address: 941 State Route 34, Hurricane, WV 25526-7093 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hurricane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hurricane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Teays Valley/Winfield Hotel is located midway between Charleston and Huntington West Virginia; the two largest cities in the state. The hotel is just a short distance from the Toyota Motor manufacturing plant. Marshall University, West Virginia State College, Blenko Glass Factory, and the West Virginia State Capitol Complex are just a short drive from the hotel. We are the only facility within the county to have an indoor pool,unfortunately due to the size of our pool and consideration of our in house guests we do not allow any type of pool parties. Additional hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, even eggs and bisquits and gravy . We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Hurricane, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Hotel Hurricane
Holiday Inn Hurricane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing