We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bo not stay there” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
American Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bo not stay there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

bed was uncomfortable,dirty bath room, the hot breakfast consisted of frozen fried eggs and frozen bacon to microwave..i paid extra for a good breakfast, i explained to the staff it is too discusting to eat..still got charged for it...staff speaks little broken english..rooms advertised 39.99 for any room..got charged 68....in all a very bad experiance.....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe_s17050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navnit S, Front Office Manager at American Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest Sorry to hear that your stay with us was so unpleasant. Did want to let you know We have since underfgone New Management & Staff, unfortunately the only thing Hot on Breakfast Buffet is Coffee & Sausage. We hope you wil give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    1
    3
    24
See reviews for
5
7
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

The ownership and management of this motel is in a perfect remote location to take advantage of the weary traveler. There are very few choices to stay along this route to begin with. Upon check-in the staff spoke very little English and where rude. The lobby should have been an indicator when you approach the front desk and there is bulletproof glass dividing the counter. This part of WV is not crime ridden and I am convinced that the glass is in place to prevent and intimidate angry guests from demanding and getting a refund after seeing the condition of the rooms.

The rooms are distgusting! Mattresses collapsing and worn out. Beds half made upon check-in. Carpets worn and in need of cleaning, not just vacuuming. Bathrooms dirty with visible mold. It was only after being very direct and menacing where we able to get a refund thankfeeully due to paying cash. Of course throughout the debate/ discussion through the little hole in the glass the front desk clerk broke out into a tyraid in some foreign language to a co-worker about the only thing I understood was "rude American". My advice to to anyone is RUN!!! DRIVE FURTHER DOWN THE ROAD OR SLEEP IN YOUR CAR, IT WILL BE BETTER.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damadsigntist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navnit S, Front Office Manager at American Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest Im am so Sorry to read about your Unpleasant stay with us. I just wanted to inform you that since your stay New Management & Staff has taken over. We have also Remodeled & made new Rennovations to upgrade our rooms. If you get a chance, we hope you will try us again. Im sure your stay will be more Enjoyable than before.

Thank You
New Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hurricane hotels

New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

I stayed here with my wife while travelling through. It was a pleasant experience overall. We arrived earlier than planned and were given access to our room before the check-in time. When we saw the reviews from our phone, we were skeptical about the place, but the experience was very positive. The room was clean and well laid out. We needed extra pillows and the staff promptly delivered these to our room.

If you're seeking a hassle-free and friendly staff, I recommend American Inn.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amigo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navnit S, Front Office Manager at American Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & we look forward to serving you in the future.
Many Thanks
Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

I wish I could give this a minus 10! I have been all over the US and Canada and this is the worst place I have ever stayed. I am not kidding in the least. Where to even begin.... the buildings are a mess, run down, bug infested, the parking lots are a pot hole mess, the rooms are diry (my shower didn't work so they gave us a key to another room to use the shower and that shower had no curtain and looked like someone had been staying in there recently), no one speaks english and they double charged us for the room, when we got back we called and tried to explain but they did not speak english so finally disputed it on my credit card. My family is from Hurricane WV and the little town has come a long way but this place needs torn down now, it's dirty, unsafe, unfriendly and I could go on and on. DO NOT STAY HERE! If I would have known how bad it was I would have gotten back on the highway and slept in my car at the rest stop a mile or so away.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medawara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navnit S, Front Office Manager at American Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest I Apologize for your unenjoyable stay with us,unfortunately at that time the Motel was under different Management. It is with Great Pleasure that I want to Inform you that since then the Motel has undergone tremendous Remodeling, Rennovations & New Management & Staff. So I hope that you will give us another chance if you're ever in the area again.

Sincerely Yours
Joyce
Office Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST VIRGINIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

I am a female that was traveling alone with my son this past weekend. We were looking for a place to stay while we were on the road so we decided to give this place a try, figuring that it couldn’t be that bad for the price. The lady at the front desk was extremely rude and her English was impossible to understand but we managed to get checked in (please note they assumed I was traveling alone and didn’t realize my son was with me..this detail will become important to the rest of this story). Around 9 p.m. at night, my son was laying on one of the twin beds as I was taking a shower (the room had no hot water). I was just getting out of the shower when three men barged into the room, WITHOUT KNOCKING. They used their hotel card/key to enter my room. Yes, I said THREE MEN came in without knocking, having used their own hotel card/key to unlock my room door. Upon entering, they seemed shocked that my son was there and started mumbling in broken English something about being the maintenance men and they were seeing if I needed anything. They immediately left the room without any further explanation once they saw my teenage son with. Calls to the front desk went unanswered. After laying there afraid to close my eyes and get some sleep, we attempted to check out early the next morning. After repeated attempts to find a front desk receptionist by ringing the bell, we left the key on the counter along with a letter detailing the events of the night. Once we arrived home, I told my husband what had taken place and he called the manager and attempted to speak with him. The manager did not want to hear my story or hold a conversation with my husband and eventually hung up on us. At this point we are going to contact the state police and at least file a report and let them be aware of what happened. In conclusion, please be careful of this establishment if you are a female traveling alone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WVTRAVELER2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navnit S, Front Office Manager at American Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest Im so Sorry to hear of you & your sons Aweful Experience when you stayed here with us. Unfortunately the Motel was under different Management at that time. It is with Great Pleasure I wish to share with you that New Management & Staff have taken over the Business. I hope if you are ever in the area again that you will give us another chance. I Guarantee that the unfortunate events that took place that night would Never happen again.

Respectfully Yours
Office Manager Assistant
Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

I am a traveling IBEW electrician and stay in motels across the country.I dont expect much from weekly rental motels but I expect to pay what is quoted to me.I picked up a job at John Amos power house and had a hard time finding a room and finally found a room at Budget Inn/American Inn(same place,same owner,just devided by parking lot)in Hurricane W. Virginia,about 9 miles from power plant.Most places were charging $210.00 a week but this guy saw us coming and charged $280.00 a week for a single + tax of course,which is his right.After staying for a couple weeks I went in the office and asked how much for a single weekly rate and was told $245.00 +tax which I accepted.After checking I found they charged me $280.00 againso when I complained they reduced my next weeks rate accordingly on my receipt.Now I am home and checked my statement and they charged me $280.00 + tax again.If overcharging behind your back isn't relevant to tourists then I don't know what is. PS I do't think they own a vacume.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — overcharged,dirty
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ibewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navnit S, Front Office Manager at American Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest all I can say is Im Terribly Sorry that this happened to you. I dont know anything about the previous Owners, but I can tell you there is New Management & Staff and if you ever are in the area again we do offer a Special Discounted Rate for Construction or other type of Workers who need a room for a week or longer. Again please accept my deepest Apology.

Sincerely Yours
Office Manager Assistant
Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

We stayed there for one night because we were tire of driving , when we got up we saw the mistake we had made, Disgusting bathroom terrible breakfast , mold all over in bath , old exhausted furniture. Holes in blankets.Place needs to be renovated.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank sinva6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navnit S, Front Office Manager at American Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest Im Sorry for your unpleasant stay. I did want to Inform you that since your stay New Management & Staff has taken over. We have also undergone New Construction & Rennovations as well as Remodeled. We hope you will give Our Business another chance if your ever in the area again. Our Sincerest Apologies again.

Respectfully Yours
Office Manager Assistant
Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurricane
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley
5.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane
18.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley
18.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn

Property: American Inn
Address: 419 Hurricane Creek Rd, Hurricane, WV 25526-1206 (Formerly Super 8)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hurricane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Inn is a clean, well maintained economy motel. We offer a meeting room and laundry room on site. Walkig distance from restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your American Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Hurricane
Hurricane Super 8
Hurricane Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing