We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Hurricane, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still here”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I checked in May 3rd 2012 I am still here. I moved back from Fl and having a place remodeled. So needed a place to stay until my place is ready. All front desk employees are very kind..Housekeeping has been very helpful and kind. The day I checked in I spotted a bug in my room I told the housekeeper. I got a call from front desk asking if I wanted to move to another room and that room would be treated. I did move to another room and that room was treated as soon as I left it . I have not seen any kind of bug in my new room. My point being with people coming and going as they do in this business that kind of thing will happen. But as soon as I told someone it was taken care of. I feel you can't ask for more than that. This has been a stressful time for me with the move and then finding out how much had to be done to my new place. So I would like to Thank all the employees of the hurricane red roof inn for making it much easier for me :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you are enjoying your stay with us. We have enjoyed having you here. I'm sorry about the bug in your room, that does occasionally happen since we are an exterior corridor hotel. Bugs do sometimes come in the room whe the door is open. I appreciate your understanding of the situation. Thanks again for you business.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
29
25
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter while visiting family in the area. We chose them because of the great price. Boy was that a mistake. The room was dirty, moldy, damp and unsafe. There seemed to be 'residents' of the hotel that sat on the lanais to drink in the evenings. They ogled and were inappropriate to me and my daughter. Never felt so unsafe. And I am sure there are health concerns in the rooms. Avoid!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiAgain2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for your review and I'm sorry you had a bad experience with us back in August. We have addressed the cleanliness issues in this room and the housekeepers that previously worked in this section are no longer with us. I'm also sorry if other guests were inappropriate with you and your daughter. We are a very busy hotel and do get some construction workers that stay for a longer period of time working on projects. However, they are normally very respectful towards other guests. My staff is very adept at addressing issues with guests when we are aware of the issue. We most definitely will not tolerate behavior that makes other guests feel unsafe. We want to provide a clean comfortable room with great service in a safe environment.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Jon Campbell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hurricane hotels

Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I was bitten all over from bed bugs and searched the mattress and even found 2 bed bugs ,and this is even after they put new mattresses in the rooms

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
I'm very sorry that you had a bad experience and that you found a bed bug in the room. This is a huge problem in the hotel industry and we are doing everything possible to eliminate it. The room was treated after you left and further inspections show no evidence of any further activity. We will continue to treat all of our rooms for all types of pest activity. We will continue to strive to provide every guest with a clean, comfortable room with great service at an affordable price.

Thanks for your review and I hope we will see you again.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We travel a lot and found this Red Roof to be a good value and clean (underscored). It was near the Interstate, but we never heard any traffic noise. There were nice places to eat within walking distance. We would stop here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for your review. We do our best to provide a clean comfortable room with friendly service. i'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again for your business.

Jon Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicwizz
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I recently went to Hurricane WV for Business purposes. I wanted to stay in a cheaper hotel for the night previous to my meetings as the company was paying for the rest of the week. This room was very clean , however it was very outdated! The bed was so hard that my back bothered me for the rest of the week. but you only get what you pay for and the price was right at $55.00 a night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medicwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry that the mattress was too hard for you. We are planning on replacing our mattresses and updating the rooms in the near future,, so hopefully you will try us again soon and enjoy the experience more. i do agree that the rooms are very clean and my staff does work very hard at this. Thanks again fo your review and I hope to see you again soon.

Jon Campbell
GM, Red Roof Inn, Hurricane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piqua, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We checked in at 11 pm the other night. We were exhausted from driving and ready to sleep. The desk attendant was very kind although it seems he was a little confused and not up to date of promotions, discounts, etc. I have an Entertainment book which offers 15% off and he at first told me he could not offer this because they did not "do E Book discounts". I'm glad I had the book with me to show him that they were right in the book, and I had used the discount twice before. After this was resolved, all went great. Until we entered the room. It wasn't the cleanest Redroof I have ever stayed in. No bugs that I noticed, just lots of dust. The worst part was that the air in the room was not really on, just the fan. The humidity in the room made in unbearable. The carpet was soaking wet and the toilet paper just ripped when trying to pull it out. The sheets were miserable. It took a few hours until we were able to fall asleep (when the humidity issues corrected from the ac). If the ac had been on...... the night would have been halfway decent. We fell asleep at approx. 2-3 am. which made driving the next day kind of tough.

Room Tip: If you are staying in summer and pre-booking.... ask that they turn the air on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santhony6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for your review. I will discuss these issues with my staff so that we can get better. I don't know what happened with the air conditioning. Normally, we leave the air on to avoid this type of problem and I'm sorry that this happened in your case. I will also discuss the dust issue with my staff to make sure that we provide clean comfortable rooms to our guests. I do appreciate your business and hopefully next time you stay we will get it all right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I take frequent trips to WV to visit an ailing family member. I no longer have the option of staying in the family home, so I needed to find a motel that was clean, provided free Wi-FI, and ample room to work. We decided to try this Red Roof Inn, and we were happy with our decision. It met all the criteria above, our room was cleaned and linens refreshed daily, and the bed was comfortable. If you are looking for a scenic location, this is not it, but if you just want a clean room with most amenities, you should give Red Roof a try. We definitely would go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogmom1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofmanager1, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your kind words and am glad that we have been able to take care of you while you visit your family. Hopefully, we can be part of your extended family while you are here. Thank you for your business and I will pass on your comments to my staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurricane
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley
22.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#3 of 12 in Huntington
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV
8.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
257 reviews
14.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane

Property: Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane
Address: 500 Putnam Village Dr, Hurricane, WV 25526-1355
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hurricane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location near Tri-State Greyhound Park! Waves-of-Fun Water Park, Blenko Glass, Charleston Civic Center, Kanawha Dragway, and Toyota Motor Manufacturing are all within a 15-30 minute drive. Close to plenty of local shopping. The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This inn offers a coin laundry facility and free micro-fridge units in select rooms. Free WiFI in all guest rooms. Free coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. One small pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hurricane
Hurricane Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing