We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic comfort food dishes.”
Review of Central City Cafe

Central City Cafe
Ranked #30 of 189 Restaurants in Huntington
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago vicinity
Level Contributor
212 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Basic comfort food dishes.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is yet another restaurant we saw on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. Central City Cafe isn't in a location where I'd normally go looking for a restaurant, nor is it a restaurant that I'd normally seek out when passing though a town. But, then again, it was featured on a DDD episode. And I'm glad I went.

The menu is rather simple, just basic comfort food-type dishes. My wife and I each tried a meatloaf sandwich. It was very good, moist and definitely with a homecooked feel... wholly unlike the meatloaf I grew up eating. (Sorry, Mom.) I was hoping to try their white bean chili, but it was out of season. That was my only disappointment and I got over it pretty quickly. Actually, I was over it as soon as the meatloaf arrived. Our server was enthusiatic and friendly, and we had a pleasant conversation with one of the owners.

The area is a bit run-down looking, but that shouldn't deter. Also its a bit away from Huntington's downtown district, so you may need a good map or GPS to find it.

.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BigTool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, good people”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The food is awesome and the servers are great. The atmosphere is a little bit outdated, but its quaint.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good lunch choice”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Friendly, local, good food, nice folks--a good value.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice menu but...”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

a little overpriced. Their lunch specials are usually pretty good, and the food has that homecooked feel to them. Definitely worth a trip if in town just because the diner itself is awesome.

Helpful?
Thank holland23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Had lunch at this Diners, Drive Ins and Dives recomended cafe and had a great meal. My lunch special ,kraut and weiners, was tasty and plentiful. Corn bread was too large to finish. The meal for two was about 22 including 1 drink. I saw a lot of locals visiting which gives me a good feeling about the place. Looks like they have been there a long time. Staff were very friendly and attentive. I would return here for a typical american flavor lunch.
On another note, there were several antique stores in same block.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Central City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing