We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Huntington, WV”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Huntington
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Marion,IN
Level Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Huntington, WV”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

My wife & I were traveling along the Ohio River on a weekend getaway and stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Huntington, WV. I am a rewards club member and had a free night coming so I used it here. The check-in and check out were super smooth with everyone involved very cordial. The room was a Junior Suite and it was very spacious, clean and quiet. They serve a hot breakfast bar in the morning for $6.95 and it was great with eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage links & patties, biscuits & gravy, several juices and fruits. Everything was plentiful, hot if it was supposed to be and cold if was supposed to be. The room came with a fridge and microwave. No complaints here!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 732MPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    96
    52
    22
    17
See reviews for
67
50
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We were in Huntington to visit Marshall University and selected this hotel because of its location, and because the price seemed pretty reasonable. I was impressed by how clean the hotel was, and it also had all the amenities we needed -- free wi-fi, in-room coffeemaker and fridge, TV, iron and ironing board, etc. Also, parking was free and they had a decent -- though not fabulous -- breakfast buffet for $6.99. My only issues with the hotel were pretty small: the shower didn't have a non-slip mat inside, and you couldn't adjust the shower spray. Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OccasionalAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Downtown Huntington is quite nice for a city its size, with actual nightlife and shopping within walking distance of this hotel. This Holiday Inn has both positives and negatives-but overall an OK experience. I found the employees very helpful and willing to do whatever it takes for customer service. The lobby restaurant was great for breakfast-good food, fast service in a lovely setting. Obviously, no better location for any downtown activity and just off campus of Marshall University. Parking is a problem. The rooms(I had a mini-suite) are in need of serious updating, in fact the bedding and pillows were below the standards of a Super 8. An investment in new furnishings could make this an outstanding property. To wrap it up, I can recommend, but this Holiday Inn really defines average.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RML-OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home in WV,SC,TN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

My family was in Huntington to attend an event at Joan C. Edwards Stadium, and with the minimal amount of hotels in the downtown area of Huntington, we selected the Holiday Inn. Upon arrival we were directed to the incorrect room, but the front desk promptly corrected their mistake. After unloading our car at the hotel, we were directed to park in a car garage that was already full. After these two mistakes our stay was pretty good. The hotel is in a wonderful location in the midst Pullman Square and the John Eye's Big Sandy Superstore Arena. Now to the cons about the guest room. First, the decor is of the late 1990's, and is in major need of updating. The pillows seemed to me that they had been on the bed since this hotel was opened in 1999 I believe. However, the pros outset the cons. The room was very spacious, the bathroom had ample space, and the room was very quiet in the midst of downtown Huntington. If in the area again and not requiring a downtown accomadation, I will be staying at the new Holiday Inn at the mall, but if I require a downtown accomadation, I will be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zachmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Ok ok...there were a few bad reviews of this Holiday Inn but we decided to stay due to location. Yep..it's a Holiday Inn. It's a very clean place in a fantastic location if you want to step across the street to the Marshall Cafe and have pub grub and watch a ton of sports or even for a nice walk through a cute part of a quaint college town. The staff are nice. What you could expect in a college town...college kids working their way through the university by checking in weary travelers at the Holiday Inn.

We forgot toothpaste and a razor and were given one, free of charge and with such a vigor that it made me smile a bit.

If you are looking for a place to stay in town, stay here. It's the best hotel in downtown Huntington. I'd come back if I ever came back to West Virginia.

The only negative is the $95 dollar price tag for a Holiday Inn room. I would have expected to pay closer to $60.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness, Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — 95 bucks for a Holiday Inn in West Virginia
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This hotel is awesome! They have Jr Suites which make it large enough to take the kids and not trip over them. I have stayed here twice and never had ANY problems, from check in to check out! Clean and desk people are ready to help you. Also close to convention center(across the street) and shopping area w/ movie theatre 1/2 block.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank dragnlady1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefbi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

I booked non-smoking room weeks in advance of my stay. I have sleep apnea and must wear a CPAP Machine when I sleep. A smoking room to me is not an inconvenience it is not an option. The last thing I need in my condition is forced pressurized smoke. If this facility could not provide me with a non-smoking room, I would expect ample notification so I could make other arrangements.

I was not notified until check in at 4:00 p.m. the day of my stay. When I told the front desk of my situation, I was told they had no obligation to notify me that they could not accommodate my needs. This left me driving around Huntington, WV checking motel after motel for a room.

The Holiday Inn in Huntington may have a real corner on the market in this spot on the road trust me I will never darken their door.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arrogant Front Desk .... Tha is as far as i got !
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington hotels
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntington
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
0.2 mi away
Pullman Plaza Hotel
Pullman Plaza Hotel
#12 of 12 in Huntington
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#3 of 12 in Huntington
352 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Huntington
Ramada Limited Huntington
#4 of 12 in Huntington
457 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Huntington WV
Super 8 Huntington WV
#6 of 12 in Huntington
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntington

Property: Holiday Inn Huntington
Address: 800 3rd Ave, Huntington, WV 25701-1403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Huntington 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is conveniently located in downtown Huntington, West Virginia. It is adjacent to the Big Sandy SuperStore Arena and minutes from the campus of Marshall University. Located beside the hotel is Pullman Square which features Marquee Cinema, Funny Bone Comedy Club, Max and Erma s Restaurant, Five Guys Burgers, and many other restaurants and boutiques. The hotel also offers a full service restaurant and room service available 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 5pm to 9pm for dinner. The hotel offers a state of the art fitness center and indoor pool. All rooms are equipped with high speed wireless internet, microwave, and refrigerator. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is 12 miles from the Tri-State Airport and does offer complimentary shuttle services to and from the airport with advance reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntington Hotel Huntington
Huntington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing