We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a perfect location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Huntington
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Sc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a perfect location!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised. We visit family in Huntington every year, and stayed at the Holiday Inn regularly for a few years. Then we switched to another hotel right down the road for several visits. This was our first visit back staying at the Holiday Inn. We were so glad we switched back!! The beds were very, very comfortable, and the shower was one of the best ones we have experienced in a hotel. Great water pressure, and so relaxing! The staff was friendly and helpful. The kids loved the pool. Our room was clean and large. We used the frig to keep our drinks cool. We loved the table in the sitting area. We had plenty of room to charge all our electronics. The room was quiet. The only improvement was we would have preferred the room to be slightly cooler. I am very picky, and yes I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    96
    52
    22
    17
See reviews for
67
50
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff was nice, but our room was run down. The pool area was nice for our small children. The morning breakfast was horrible! All the food was cold or poorly cooked. There are only 2 luggage carts for the entire hotel which made leaving in the morning a nightmare. It wasn't horrible, but wasn't the best.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Huntington, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Patricia U,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We took a short trip to Huntington with my husband while he was working there during the week. The hotel staff was knowledgeable and helpful. We checked in late on Tuesday night around midnight. We didn't have any trouble checking in that late. Our room was one with double beds and a sofa. The room was large enough for all of us. The couch was comfortable. The beds were also comfy! The room also has a fridge (no freezer) and a microwave. This allowed me to stock the fridge with lots of snacks and drinks for the week. The shower also had really strong water pressure which was relaxing after a day out sightseeing!
The only negative was that whatever they clean with or wash with was overpowering in the room. There is a fan in the room for that reason, I am guessing. My son and I had a little trouble with our asthma the first night. After we were in there for the day, we were fine.
My kids swam in the pool everyday. We also used the workout rooms.
My children forgot to pack quite a few items and the front desk was quick to supply those for us. I also needed aspirin on one evening, Scott took the time to look around before sending me out to buy some. He didn't find any, but I appreciated the effort! (btw, the bookstore over in Pullman square had some!)
My 2 HS kids and I took a tour of the Marshall campus on Thursday, while it was only about 8 blocks away, the hotel was happy to have someone drive us there with their shuttle! We just asked the front desk and were set up! That was wonderful considering my husband had to use the car for work.
Pullman square is right next door as is many other stores and places to eat. We had a great couple of days. Thanks to all the staff that helped with this!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and didn't have any issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkkramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
708 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Spent two weekday evenings here. Our room was right beside the elevator and we were concerned it would be Lou's. The first night we slept soundly using white noise from our phone and never heard anything. The second night there was a party going on next door. We started calling the front desk at 12 MN. People were yelling, pounding the wall, running in the halls. We asked them to please speak to the guilty party. It was quiet for the 10 mins hotel employees were at the door. We called again at 1am when the noise had escalated further. They assured us the noise level would be reduced. We turned up our white noise and once again tried to sleep without success. At 2 am we called the front desk again. Finally after about 40 additional minutes the partiers passed out but neglected to turn off their music and TV. It was a horrible night and we felt as if the hotel staff did not respect our rights as guests and allowed the partying to continue week past midnight. A more forceful intervention by the staff could have resulted in the party being shut down at 12MN on a work night. Won't stay here again unless all other hotels are sold out. Will be my last resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Huntington, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear terri E,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I sincerely apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stay here each time I visit Huntington and my son at Marshall university. Very good, clean and customer friendly hotel. I like it. Great location and very pleasant people working for the hotel . The location is next to Pullman Square which has good restaurants and shops,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinson, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times & I really like the hotel & the area. The hotel is always clean, the rooms are nice, & the Staff is super friendly. There are many restaurants, shopping, & a movie theater, all within walking distance. My only complaint would be the breakfast - it's what I would consider "continental" but it's like $7.95. I just didn't see $8 worth of food when I tried it. But I will always stay here when I'm in the area!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 4471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great Room and Staff. Traveling alone I felt both safe and welcome. Would definitely stay again in Huntington. Points off on some cleanliness issues but overall it was a great stay at this price point.

Room Tip: Junior / Mini suite was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington hotels
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntington
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
0.2 mi away
Pullman Plaza Hotel
Pullman Plaza Hotel
#11 of 12 in Huntington
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#3 of 12 in Huntington
351 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Huntington
Ramada Limited Huntington
#4 of 12 in Huntington
456 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Huntington WV
Super 8 Huntington WV
#6 of 12 in Huntington
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntington

Property: Holiday Inn Huntington
Address: 800 3rd Ave, Huntington, WV 25701-1403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Huntington 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is conveniently located in downtown Huntington, West Virginia. It is adjacent to the Big Sandy SuperStore Arena and minutes from the campus of Marshall University. Located beside the hotel is Pullman Square which features Marquee Cinema, Funny Bone Comedy Club, Max and Erma s Restaurant, Five Guys Burgers, and many other restaurants and boutiques. The hotel also offers a full service restaurant and room service available 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 5pm to 9pm for dinner. The hotel offers a state of the art fitness center and indoor pool. All rooms are equipped with high speed wireless internet, microwave, and refrigerator. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is 12 miles from the Tri-State Airport and does offer complimentary shuttle services to and from the airport with advance reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntington Hotel Huntington
Huntington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing