We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suites that were sweet to stay in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Huntington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Huntington
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Suites that were sweet to stay in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My room was a studio suite, that had plenty of room to put stuff. The hotel is conveniently
located to attractions in Huntington. The pool was nice and clean. The breakfast could have had more items, but good enough for 2 nights. Nikki was very nice and helping us check in and out, along with the entire housekeeping staff catering to my every needs. I could not have asked for a better stay! I will stay again! My only complaint was the amount of dust in the room, but overall great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the FRONT of the hotel away from I-64.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    48
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
43
17
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, MN
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very pleasant front desk, an excellent room and a good breakfast - what one would expect from a Marriott property. Only negative was the relatively limited choice of TV stations. Worth returning to. (Take a side trip downtown to the city park on the Ohio River if you can.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have to return to this area occasionally on business and have had to stay in many hotels. This one by far exceeds any that I have ever stayed at. I usually do not bother to write reviews but I was so impressed with every single aspect of this hotel that I had to post. The front desk staff was so helpful and made it quite clear that if I needed anything, just let them know. The General Manager also came out and greeted me and in the morning, asked how my stay was. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. It definitely is nice to feel like you are welcome. The rates are reasonable also. This hotel is definitely going to be my home away from home and this is where I will be staying on my future trips to the area. Kudos to the GM and staff and keep up the good work..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSB35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I made reservations at TownPlace a year ago for our daughter's graduation from med school. I got a really good rate for the block of rooms - $88 for a studio and $129 for a two bedroom. I went by the hotel three times during the month before our arrival to see the rooms and make sure they could handle our handicap request - first floor room. Each time I was told it would be no problem. The last time I went, I was shown the rooms and told that they would be blocked for us. Imagine my surprise when I arrived as scheduled and I was told they did not have a first floor room for us. A manager came out and solved that problem by giving us two studios on the first floor - across the hall from each other - splitting up our family for the two nights! Nikki the front desk manager, then gave me the sheet to sign which indicated a rate of $140. I told her my rate was $129 but she assured me I was wrong because her sheet stated otherwise. I attempted to pull up the email on my phone but it had been deleted. We argued back and forth for 10 minutes about the rate. Finally, I said charge me what you want but when I get into my room and get my laptop, I will pull up the Marriott rewards account and show you. At this point she finally backed down. That night I asked the front desk person to show me how to print off my reservation info so I could prove to Nikki I was not lying to her over $11. He could not figure out how to print or email the information. The next morning, I spoke to someone and asked did Nikki get the message. The general manager of the hotel overheard me and came over to see what I was speaking about. She completely missed the point - that Nikki had wrongly argued with me for 10 minutes about the rate. She chastised me for expecting a first floor room - after one had been promised to me three different times- you know a first floor room is only a request! No one ever apologized to me for challenging me on the rate - when they were wrong and I was correct. No one. Not Nikki who was responsible for the problem. Not the general manager - no one. I did not find the management hotel staff to be courteous or polite. The other problem is the smokers. They sit right outside the front door of the hotel and smoke - it seems all day long. You have to walk through the haze to enter!

The rooms are clean and quiet -as comfortable as any hotel. Our friends did complain that the interstate noise is annoying on the third floor but you cannot hear it on the first floor.

I don't plan on returning to WV now that our daughter has graduated, but if I do, I would not stay at Town Place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the interstate for quiet! Don't expect much from breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hot-tea-and-Scones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I travel for a living and stay at many Marriott properties. I would say for the most part I am hard to satisfy 100 percent. I have to say that the staff and the management did everything they could to make me feel at home. The hotel was very clean and it was in a good location. Every time I saw an employee they stopped what they were doing to ask how I was and if I needed anything at all. Keep up the good work, because you are doing something right! Next time I am driving through I am going to make a point to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times when visiting my son. I have to say that within the last year, they must have made some changes. The rooms are clean, the market is fresh, and the staff is excellent! The front desk clerk was so nice when checking in and the general manager was very pleasant. I will continue to stay here when visiting family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manderso_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The staff were more than helpful, with where to eat and where the local places to shop were. Very friendly. The room was clean, and bed was comfortable. Would definately stay here again. I read the one interview from the women who wanted a free room, and I could not disagree with her more. Sounds like she wanted something for nothing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicster59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
4.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#2 of 12 in Huntington
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntington
Holiday Inn Huntington
#4 of 12 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Huntington WV
Super 8 Huntington WV
#5 of 12 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pullman Plaza Hotel
Pullman Plaza Hotel
#10 of 12 in Huntington
3.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Huntington
Ramada Limited Huntington
#6 of 12 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Huntington

Property: TownePlace Suites Huntington
Address: 157 Kinetic Drive, Huntington, WV 25701
Location: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Huntington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The areas only extended stay hotel near Marshall University, Cabell Huntington Hospital and Downtown Huntington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your TownePlace Suites Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Huntington Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing