We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Hear Voices..........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Huntington
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, IL
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“I Hear Voices..........”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel is very convenient to Interstate 64 with restaurant next door or across the street if you do not want to drive a short distance to downtown where the campus (Marshall University) has lots of student off campus food. BUT, this hotel, although new and trendy with nice layout and colors, is also noisy. I can hear voices from other rooms in my space and the floor above makes noise every time the occupant moves around. Soundproofing somehow got missed in this whole building. Too bad, forces some bad sleep. Not many choices, no other Marriott choices in Huntington. Quality sleep for me, while on the road, matters. If important, find another hotel.

Room Tip: Go to top level and on the end unit to avoid noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BossRino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tps25701, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Huntington, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I sorry you were not able to get a good night sleep while you were here. On your next visit please make a note on the reservation requesting the top floor they tend to have less sound issues.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    52
    13
    4
    8
See reviews for
45
20
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Very nice room. Good breakfast. The women at the checking was very helpful since somehow I forgot to make a reservation. She was able to get me a good room at the hotel at a good price. Clean hotel

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tps25701, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Huntington, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review I delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return!
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmont
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel staff was nice and the rooms were clean. Although the pull out sofa bed was very uncomfortable. The people staying in the room next door made a lot of noise at 3:00am-5:00am. It sounded like they just came in and were not considerate at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tps25701, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Huntington, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I sorry that your neighbors were inconsiderate and disturbed your rest if this ever happens again please contact the desk to quite them down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Typical Towneplace hotel by Marriott. Comfortable, although small rooms equipped with fridge and microwave. Cost is somewhat on the high side in the area and compared to other hotels. Should improve quality of pillows.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minah_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tps25701, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Huntington, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review. Please tell you co-workers we found and repaired the hot water issue and we now have more than enough hot water for everyone to have a long hot shower.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Came here for several weeks to work on a project in the area. Each time, I stayed in a studio w/ king bed.

Rooms here are clean, which is the most important thing I look for when traveling for business. There are 3 levels with stairs/elevators in two wings from the central check-in area. To get upstairs, you'll need to walk down a wing as there's no central elevator or stair well.

Studio is equipped with a 2 burner stove, microwave, refrigerator, and a full set of dishes and utensils. (Can't remember if there was a dishwasher). The decor is modernized which is nice, as you can tell the hotel was updated not too long ago. Bed's are pretty firm which is good. The bathrooms have a hard wood floor, which seems unique.

Walls are typically thin and you can hear conversations (and snoring) coming from adjacent rooms. If noise is an issue for you, I'd request you be next to a stair well, elevator or on an end.

Hot water is an issue here as co-workers have said they've sometimes had to take cold showers. I also did notice that hot water would seem to get cooler during a shower.

Location wise, there's a Bob Evans right next door. To get anywhere else, you'll need to hop into your car. Downtown Huntington, however, is really only a 10 minute drive away. Being home to Marshall University, there's a pretty good choice of restaurants in the downtown area.

Breakfast is very simple with a selection of 8 or so cereals, hard boiled eggs, apples, grapes, bananas, yogurt, muffins, bagels, and apple or orange juice. Not much else.

Exercise facilities are more than adequate. 2 treadmills, an elliptical, and free weights. Pool is outdoor (covered during my winter stay, didn't use).

The staff is friendly and very accommodating, especially in the morning.

Room Tip: Walls are thin, request room on end or next to elevator or stairs. Elevator/stairs are in wings, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totonka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I travel extensively for work and family, and this was my first somewhat negative experience at a Marriott property. I hope it's the exception rather than the norm, because this and the Holiday Inn downtown are the only Huntington properties I would consider staying at, and this hotels proximity to the interstate is better for me when I have to be in Wayne County early in the morning. On this particular stay, I was unable to take a shower at 7:45am because there was no hot water. Needless to say, that is unacceptable from a hotel point of view. I am one of those people who NEEDS his shower in the morning to wake up and start my day, and this particular day got off to a very poor start as a result. I was informed that someone was coming to fix the problem upon calling the front desk, but unfortunately that would occur too late for me.

On another note, my room has the overpowering smell of Indian food (I'm guessing Indian). I eventually got used to it but it was rather annoying for a while.

All that aside, this is a very attractive property, with quality furnishings and amenities that live up to high Marriott standards. The staff were friendly, and there even appeared to be dog friendly accommodations made, with litter picker upper bags outside, and there appeared to be a nice outdoor pool area for warmer weather fun.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgervey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed over night while on a long drive cross country. The decor and style seem outdated, but everything was very clean, well-maintained. The bed was super comfortable and I got the best night sleep on our trip. Internet speed quite acceptable. Breakfast was good, but not with as much variety as we generally get in similar hotels. Best of all was the friendly staff. All whom we came into contact with were great, but our favorite by far was Stacy (I think that was her name), the head of housekeeping. She is so warm and hospitable, you would think she is a member of your family. She even offered to walk my wife and I over to the restaurant next door, because she was afraid we might slip in the snow. Then the next morning she brought the cart back in from the parking lot for us (again in the falling snow). I think you can't go wrong when a hotel employs such quality people.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papa_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntington
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
4.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#3 of 12 in Huntington
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntington
Holiday Inn Huntington
#7 of 12 in Huntington
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Huntington WV
Super 8 Huntington WV
#5 of 12 in Huntington
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Huntington
Ramada Limited Huntington
#4 of 12 in Huntington
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Huntington

Property: TownePlace Suites Huntington
Address: 157 Kinetic Dr, Huntington, WV 25701-5264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Huntington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The areas only extended stay hotel near Marshall University, Cabell Huntington Hospital and Downtown Huntington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Huntington Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing