We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time”

Heritage Farm Museum and Village
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn from the Past, Appreciate the Present and Dream for the Future at this beautiful Appalachian treasure. Experience the major inventions that changed the world in the award-winning Museums of Progress, Transportation, Farm and Industry. Guided tours Monday - Saturday 10am to 3pm. Extend your stay at one of our five log homes or conference facilities. Three miles from Exit 8 of I-64.
Chesapeake, OH
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Back in time”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You have to visit just once. It takes you back in time to a place in history. The owners are personal friends and take great pride in the place they call home. Each building is a different place in time and there are people there to guide you through. There are places to eat, sleep, and have weddings and anniversaries. You have to go just once and you will go again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank marvinmChesapeake_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    20
    1
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, WV
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extremely rude”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you visit during one of their special Saturdays, they will be pleasantly crowded, there will be a hay ride, and you can visit all the buildings and the petting zoo, which has some cute babies to pet and some interesting (albino peacocks!) animals to look at. The kids will be able to do the hands-on activities, and they may have extras like face painting.

However, is a little aggravating to navigate with a stroller or a wheelchair, because the main walkway is covered with fine gravel, and the "accessible" areas require some lifting and muscle to get over the stoop. The early closing time of 3:00 pm is also problematic for anyone who works or goes to school.

If you manage to visit on a day other than a special Saturday, they act like you are trespassing on the property, and are very reluctant to give the advertised guided tour. Don't bother to ask about group rates at ANY time, because they pretend they don't exist, despite online writeups and advertisements.

I also inquired about having a party there, as encouraged on several pages of their website, including the Groups > General page: "Heritage Farm is the perfect setting for group tours, corporate retreats, family reunions, educational outings, church picnics, birthday parties, marriage seminars, school groups, etc. ... use your imagination and come spend some time in yesteryear with your friends."
http://www.heritagefarmmuseum.com/pages/aa-generalgroup.html

When I asked one of the owners about this in person, she told me that I was mistaken, that they haven't done parties on site in years, and that I shouldn't trust "word of mouth." Laura Perry further informed me that even if they were inclined to make an exception, she had a family commitment on the day I was interested in booking. Apparently she is the only employee that can be trusted with such an undertaking.

In summary, it's a great place to visit on a special event Saturday, but don't go for anything else.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank FangedFaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenswood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Living history at its best!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I love EVERYTHING about Heritage Farm Museum and Village! Just being there is like taking a trip back in time, yet you have all the modern amenities and you are just minutes from I-64 and downtown Huntington! There is something there for everyone and it is a fabulous place to take the entire family! Book a night or two at one of the log cabins or stop by for a tour. You will come away with a greater appreciation for the way our ancestors lived and for the modern conveniences we enjoy today.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great museum; hands on fun for special events”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We tried to volunteer but the weather got the better of us. The proprietors are most friendly and welcoming and I know that the stuff is un ique and real antiques! Thanks, guys! Great place!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgenie4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Living History”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our Corvette car club visited the museum on June 15, 2012. We were greated upon arrival and given a run down of what we would be seeing and asked if there were any special needs or concerns. The way that our guide wove history and the need for survival of the early settlers, brought to live just how difficult a task it was. But yet he showed how they built a strong sense of community. I would recommend this for any age or occasion. Yes, they do have meeting, conference, and social gathering facillities. Perfect for a reunion, wedding, or family retreat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank C5CorvetteLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Farm Museum and Village also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Farm Museum and Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing