We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel and very caring staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pullman Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Reviewed July 17, 2014

this is the first time I stayed at Pullman plaza hotel and it was wonderful! the rooms were so clean and very, very comfortable and huge! plenty of room inside. loved the pool! perfect for laps swimming. the staff was outstanding and so caring! loved the delicious breakfast! Monique, my server, was so kind and caring. the front desk people so helpful and the shuttle service drivers were so wonderful! I highly recommend this super hotel for everyone!

Room Tip: rooms facing the plaza are a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MALCOLMSMOMLuray_va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 201 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have been regulars at the hotel. Under the new management, I feel as though we were deceived. I had a certain expectation based on previous stays, but we were not informed during reservation that policies had changed so significantly. And not for the better. The complimentary breakfast has been greatly scaled down to a limited continental breakfast. However, we could upgrade and pay for what we were getting in the past. Not only did the new management get rid of the free valet service, now they are charging for parking. On top of all that, the quality of the hotel has dropped off. One elevator was out of service, beds were not neatly made, and ice machines were not working. The hotel is in an ideal location, but with all of the sudden unannounced changes, it is time to search for a new hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rmw820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of a group tour and can say that the property was very clean both in the public areas and the room itself. That said the public areas are tired looking and the room furnishings are from the late 80s or early 90s. This is the first property that I have stayed at in the last 6 or 7 years that does not have flat screen televisions. Every staff member I interacted with was friendly and accommodating - that is a very positive sign in my estimation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lafguy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I do enjoy staying at the downtown location in Huntington. The front desk staff is nice and responsive. The rooms are comfortable and nice. The drawback has to be the complimentary breakfast. On my last visit, there was not much left on the continental breakfast bar. Service was sort of slow. Even when I let them know the food needed to be replenished, nothing happened. I saw others come in later, look at a rather empty breakfast bar and leave disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fpalmer321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The waitress staff in the breakfast room were very helpful also the bartender and waitress for the evening. The hotel on the whole was below par. The breakfast coupon was for a limited breakfast and they charged for milk. The old management gave a drink coupon and if you stayed at the hotel parking was free, now pay $6 and not a free drink. The tv's we're not flat screen and I could not access wifi for some reason. It as a real shame because the location is ideal for a nice hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank GashF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We just held another conference at this hotel. Clean. Ready for us. Accommodating. Quick response to any issue. The audio system in the Grand Theater was excellent. Friendly staff. We'll be back. Great value. Fabulous location. Easy walking to many places for dining, shopping, sightseeing. Shuttle service. This place is great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess Kathy ... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Sink and toilet run slow, wall paper in rooms peeling ,outdated tv, showers hard to adjust. Box spring on bed torn. Website states free complimentary breakfast, it's cereal and pastry, some fruit. Not as the picture shows, bacon, eggs, toast , unless you pay $8.00 more and tip a coffee lady!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cooneymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington hotels
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#3 of 12 in Huntington
362 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntington
Holiday Inn Huntington
#7 of 12 in Huntington
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntington
2.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Huntington
TownePlace Suites Huntington
#6 of 12 in Huntington
135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Huntington WV
Super 8 Huntington WV
#4 of 12 in Huntington
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Plaza Hotel

Address: 1001 3rd Ave, Huntington, WV 25701-1505
Location: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range: $78 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pullman Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic hotel in downtown Huntington WV. Ideal location on the Ohio River in the area known as the Tri State region, due to its convenience to both Kentucky & Ohio. Known for the lunch buffet and Sunday brunch and the desserts made by Baker Joe. Full Renovation will be underway by winter of 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pullman Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing