We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel, not very modern though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pullman Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel, not very modern though”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you are looking for a well staffed, clean hotel, then this hotel will work for you. It's location downtown is excellent for Pullman Plaza (theater, dining, shopping, live music) and the Civic Center (Big Sandy Arena). It is also very close to the River Front Park. The staff are quite competent. The rooms are quite clean and I am very particular about the cleanliness of my hotel rooms. There is a pool, but I didn't use it. They have valet parking, but I didn't use that either. There is plenty of room at the front door for multiple cars to unload their vehicles at the same time.

Now for the not so good. The breakfast is free so maybe I shouldn't complain. There were eggs, sausage, bacon, ham, hash browns, coffee, orange juice, and fruit bar. It is buffet style. The food wasn't the best tasting but I guess it's better than just a bagel. The rooms are not very modern. They aren't run down at all, but they lack a desk for working at. There is a large dresser but an internet cable for your laptop, but you can't really pull a chair over to it and work as its just a dresser. The TV isn't a flat panel (if you care about that kind of thing). The furniture is in good condition however, just not modern.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river. The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smith1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    52
    46
    30
See reviews for
37
29
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The staff was very, very nice. The room and bathroom were large and clean. The location of the hotel made for a nice one day stay. It has a nice bar (free drink included with stay). Complimentary breakfast was unusually nice with table service. The night we stayed they were completely booked with men working round the clock to restore power in the region. Despite being at capacity with the workers laundry coming in and out and providing meals to a booked establishment, everyone we talked to was really pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckermdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
167 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I arrived during a convention check in and the first thing Rose said was I am apologetic for you having to wait. Second, she is suffering from allergies and could noit talk until today she is coughing. What does she do, she get's sterile wipes from the back room and sterilizes my credit card so I will not catch what she still suffers from. Next I needed directions for a meeting and she not only tell's me the streets to turn on but the landmarks as well. I return to the hotel and Rose get's the manager on duty to handle my car parking since the bellman are tied up with the convention checking in. Rooms are fine but only two elevators and one out of service during and convention check in is a issue

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, West Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Pullman Plaza Hotel has been a grand hotel at one time. The first floor is still lovely, open and spacious with marble floors and grand piano. The hotel is located in downtown. Across from the hotel is an area with stores, eateries, cinema & a bandstand. We listened to a band perform one evening.

The staff is very friendly and check in was very easy. Our room was comfortable and clean, but dated. The furniture was worn. There was a large glass door to our room that went to a patio, but the door was locked. There was a slit in the frame and we could hear the traffic through the hole.

The room came with one free drink in the evening and a free buffet breakfast that was basic but with plenty to eat.

The hotel is near the river and we took a walk and strolled along the river. There are a lot of homeless people that seem to congragate there. We came upon a "food give-away" to the poor near the river, which was something to see.

All in all it was a nice little get-a-way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

It's a rather old, run down place. But the staff is friendly and the room was clean. The breakfast was horrible. I'm a vegetarian and there unless I wanted rock solid doughnut, I was out of luck.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Good points: The breakfast was a pretty good buffet. It was free, but I was with a convention. Don't know if this applies to everyone else or not. Lunch and dinner were reasonable--especially for a hotel and I liked the food. There was also one free drink each evening. Again don't know if they have this for everyone or just conventions. The room was large, the bed comfortable. (Not a "sleep number" mentioned in another review.) Things were convenient for a convention.
Bad points: Response was slow to replace 2 burned out light bulbs the first evening. Late evening I found that the sink would not drain out. Reported it the next morning. They sent someone who poured a drain cleaner on top of the water. Didn't do anything. A couple of hours later I went to the desk and asked if they had a PLUMBER to fix the plugged up drain. They did send someone, & I could tell he replaced the drain pipe & trap. I didn't say anything to them about the way the hair dryer was "rigged" for electricity. It was plugged into an extension cord which most of it laid on the floor in front of the sink & then went up and plugged into an outlet on the front of the sink facing. "An electrician's nightmare."

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms have recently been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Although Huntington has done some remarkable work in keeping the downtown attractive, this hotel is way over-due for an update. The 10th floor had an overwhelming odor of sewage. We didn't notice it so much in our room as in the hall....but still.... The whole place is just sad. They do have "sleep number" beds, but ours didn't seem to work. Neither did the entire outlet with the coffee maker and lamp on the desk. The area around this hotel is nice, however I would try very hard to find someplace else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntington
Holiday Inn Huntington
#7 of 12 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Huntington
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#3 of 12 in Huntington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Huntington
Ramada Limited Huntington
#4 of 12 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Huntington WV
Super 8 Huntington WV
#6 of 12 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Plaza Hotel

Property: Pullman Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 3rd Ave, Huntington, WV 25701-1505
Location: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pullman Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic hotel in downtown Huntington WV. Ideal location on the Ohio River in the area known as the Tri State region, due to its convenience to both Kentucky & Ohio. Known for the lunch buffet and Sunday brunch and the desserts made by Baker Joe. Full Renovation will be underway by winter of 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing