We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hinton Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square
Ranked #1 of 3 Hinton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were warmly welcomed with a fresh-baked quiche and a quick tour. We stayed in the Kenneth suite, which was beautifully decorated in a tasteful railroad motif. This is an immaculate, charming old home - it has been completely renovated and refreshed - combining the best of modern amenities and traditional charm. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for visiting us and for the great review! I am pleased to see that you received friendly and excellent customer service from our team as this is what we strive for. We hope to see you again soon and that you can enjoy more amenities on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 64 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a very nice place in an area where lodging is hard to find. We came to the area for a funeral and we struggled finding a place where we did not have to drive a long distance to and from the services. We found this place on Trip Advisor and it was a gem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarissa12419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with the travel community!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Guest House is a great B&B in southern WV. I recently had to stay overnight as I came into town for a funeral. They worked with me on a very late reservation and got me into a room. The interior of the B&B is immaculate. From the moment you get in the front door, the decorations and furnishings are high quality throughout.

I stayed in the Rosemary Suite and it is very well appointed. From the sun room with leather couch, through the very comfortable bed, and into one an incredibly spacious and comfortable bathroom it hits every the right note throughout.

The only small knock I could give on the property is breakfast. It was pretty skimpy and although I knew it would be a continental, I would have expected a little more (at least make a pot of coffee for the morning).

That is a very small knock on a wonderful property, though. Will definitely be going back as my wife has seen my pictures and is jealous.

Room Tip: Rosemary and Kathleen suites are upstairs. Rosemary has a gorgeous sitting room/sun room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OVERHERD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I filled the Guest House with guest attending my daughters wedding weekend in Sept. Joanne let me in early to place gift basket in everyone rooms. It is more beautiful than some 5 star hotels that I have stayed in. The renovation of the property was totally professional and it is so special not letting beautiful old properties go to ruins. The owner of this Inn should be very proud. Our wedding guest were impressed with their accommodations.

Sylvia Kennedy McCort

ps...there is no pool or room service

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kencort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review! This is a great example of our staff going above and beyond; we will certainly share this with them. We are happy that you discovered us and look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in the Parker House last year and at that time they were considering selling it. Something must have changed because the house had an upgraded security system. This is a nice place to stay when visiting Hinton. However, if you want a hot breakfast, this is not what's offered here. Fruit, cereal, juice and muffins are available for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray-n-Sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The photos on their website do not do this facility justice. Gorgeous, spotless, every amenity you could want, beautifully decorated, excellent comfortable beds, roomy suites! Washing machines and dryers are in each room (complete with soap, etc.), as well as iron & ironing board. So thoughtful! Location in the small but very charming town of Hinton (what a hidden treasure!) is central, and access to area sights and scenery cannot be beat. I was here for a week of business meetings, but got to see some of the sights as well. Would have loved to spend more time. The quality of this B&B is on a par with the best quality hotels in any major city. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If the AC is not at your preferred level of comfort, just let Judy know! While there is no swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linscottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Fabulous, modern , well appointed , spacious and clean rooms/baths. Comfy beds and great shower. Judy welcomed us with open arms and shiwed us around. even wrote directions for where we were going. very sweet and hospitable but she lives offsite.It was a warm night and the central AC was not on and we didn't know whom to contact. Finally figured out how to use the remote to keep the fan on and the light off. Didn't want to open windows because there were no screens and we were afraid of bugs. Would've been a great night had the AC been on. No breakfast. Not a true B&B. Self-serve modern kitchen. There was fresh fruit and muffins, a stale box of Cheerios but NO coffee. We ended up going out for breakfast. This place could be a total 10 if they addressed the above issues. Don't mind the self serve breakfast but didn't expect to have to brew the coffee.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank ronk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton
10.5 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
20.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
16.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
13.3 mi away
Skyline Resort
Skyline Resort
#1 of 2 in Ghent
52 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Old Victorian Inn
The Old Victorian Inn
#1 of 1 in Alderson
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square

Address: 419 2nd Ave, Hinton, WV 25951-2427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton
Price Range: $105 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Small Town Elegance - Private Suites & Meeting Areas - Overnight & Extended Stay The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square located in the heart of Hinton's historic district, encompasses three non-hosted bed and breakfasts, a conference facility and an event center. The newest addition to our properties is the cabin on Coney Island. An updated modern cabin on a private island at the confluence of the Greenbrier and New rivers. We accommodate families, business travelers, small groups, parties, and receptions. All of our properties, with the exception of Coney Island, are within walking distance to shopping, museums, and dining. "A superb blend of historic charm and quality accommodations." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing