We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fleas & no phone nor wifi service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Road Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Road Cabins
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Certificate of Excellence
Fernandina beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fleas & no phone nor wifi service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My sister & I rented two cabins for total costs of over$2200 for just two nights. All the sofas in her cabin had fleas and she had the cabin that did not allow pets. My cabin that did allow pets did not have any fleas!
Neither cabin had wifi or phone service. An old man came spent two mins and said not his problem it is phone company issue!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dagwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryRoadCabins, Owner at Country Road Cabins, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are so sorry to learn about your recent problems during your stay. Did you let our staff know about this flea situation while you were here? If not, please call us asap at 888-712-2246 or evenings at 681-220-0688 to let us know which cabin has the problem. We do have a service contract with Orkin Exteminiating and we need to let them know so they can come take care of issues like this immediately. Being in a heavily wooded, rural area, we do have random issues with our Frontier phone and internet service especially if rainy, windy or stormy weather. We do place service calls thru Frontier and usually they are prompt to come and fix any issues. Again, I apologize that you were not pleased with your stay. I would welcome a call from you and any other family members to discuss all this in further detail. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed in Almost Heaven. It was wonderful. The cabin was clean and inviting. We were celebrating our anniversary, they had the TV set play love songs! They had all the information such as dining and attractions available. We had ordered the romantic dinner for two and the picnic for two. Plenty of food to feed us both for the weekend. They had everything available in the room that we needed to cook, and grill. The linen supply was also sufficient for the both us. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I always enjoy coming back to WV for our family reunions but this was the first time we stayed at the Country Road Cabins. The cabin was clean and inviting place to stay which was close to our reunion site. We will definitely stay longer the next time we return to this area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onancock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

If you are looking for a good clean cabin in the middle of the forest primevial--- then, Country Road Cabins is your place. The staff is helpful, patient, and kind. The cabins are found in the middle of a lush forest with hemlock, rhododendrons and mountain laurel. You are a stone's throw from the New RIver Gorge Bridge, the town of Fayettville, Hawks Nest State Park. All-in-all, it's a place you will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank accomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were looking for a nice, secluded cabin in the woods and that's exactly what we got. We ordered both dinner and breakfast and got more food than we could eat in four meals. We ended up prolonging our stay so got to stay in 2 different cabins. Both were wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We found the cabin to be very clean, nicely appointed, roomy, clutter-free, comfortable, and inviting. The location was great for us; very close to New River Gorge and Summerville Lake, for endless recreation. It was nice to have a clean, spacious cabin to relax in at the end of the day and a full kitchen to prepare meals.

We were very happy with Country Road Cabins!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The cabins are very clean. Needs a new couch in the living room. Wifi is in and out but served it's purpose. The ladies in the office are very accommodating to anything you need. They even pit a flat screen TV in the cabin so we could connect our tablet so we could do Netflix. Very secluded. We had the Hideaway cabin. Husband really liked the seclusion and the hot tub. Highly recommended. This really is the only place to stay with wifi. Recommend the gorge walk as well.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hico
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
14.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
14.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
12.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Summersville
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Road Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Road Cabins

Property: Country Road Cabins
Address: 1508 Sunday Rd, Hico, WV 25854-7294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Road Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe West Virginia Log CabinsGreat Cabins Minutes from the New River Gorge are Perfect for West Virginia GetawaysPreferred by Vacationers Enjoying Canopy Tours, Rafting the New River and Gauley River, for Romantic Getaways, Family Reunions and more.We are located near Hico, just north of Fayetteville, right in middle of West Virginia's best outdoor recreation!Our cabins are within minutes of National and State Recreation Areas: New River Gorge, Gauley River, Summersville Lake, Babcock State Park, Hawks Nest State Park and Carnifex Ferry Battleground State Park, and the new Summit Bechtel Scout Reserve. Since 1996, owners Paul and Jennifer Breuer have built and managed this select group of 18 private deluxe log cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Road Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Road Cabins Hotel Hico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing