We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Appalahian Cabin is Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Road Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Road Cabins
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Appalahian Cabin is Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Appalahian cabin was great.You never would have known it is the dog friendly cabin.This dream come true cabin was perfect..no oders..very clean and accomadating..all utensils and kitchen essentials are provided.this cabin exceeded my expetations..i hope I make it next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerfectCritic412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
75
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a West Virginian get away and we found this place on Tripadvisor. We stayed in the Hideaway. Very nice cabin, very comfortable. When we arrived at the cabin....we walked into a very clean cabin with the lights on, the A/C comfortable, and the hot tub "hot". All we needed to do was unpack and relax. We had plenty of towels, pillows (we relocated some from the other bedroom in the cabin) and tea (and coffee -- but we don't drink coffee). About six feet beyond the back deck, the area sloped away into trees, trees, trees. We enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub at night where we could see the fireflies in the woods that surrounded the cabin. Even though our intent of the weekend was to "unplug", I confess I did use the WIFI and did watch some HBO. One morning after hitting the snooze button on the alarm (but turning it off instead) we overslept. We didn't wake up for several hours because it was too quiet! (Yes...this cabin was too quiet!) I guess that's a good complaint to have on vacation! The "city" of Hico doesn't really have any restaurants, but there are places to eat all around the city (10 mile radius). The kitchen was nicely stocked with dinnerware, utensils and small appliances (I guess we could have cooked or grilled on the back deck). The cabin was centrally located in the state. (Good location for us to get to everything on our "to do" list). I would love to return in the fall. I bet the leaves are breathtaking!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautiful cabins with easy access to local attractions such as zip lining, whitewater rafting, Hawks Nest & the New River Gorge. Very nice people that were very accommodating. Just wish I had more time to spend there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeymooner91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This year we were booked into the West Virginian. The cabin had everything we could ever need for the week, sheets, towels, fully stocked kitchen with a full sized fridge and stove, microwave, toaster and dishawasher. There were gas logs in the living room. We did not prefer the location of West Virginian; it sits over the access road for some of the cabins,and is within sight of two other cabins, unlike Suprise, which was totally isolated. We did not hear any noise from the cabins, nor see the other guests, but we would have liked the isolation.
Our cabin this year was similar in style to Suprise, with 2 bedrooms and baths - one upstairs and one down. The layout of the West Virginian first floor bedroom was much better than Suprise. We had a lot more room to walk around - this was very nice. The cabin had real coffee and filters, sugar and sweetner, along with a selection of spices and foils/wraps stocked for us. The gas logs were nice because the temperature dropped several nights and it was nice to sit by the fire. The logs heated the cabin quickly, and the heatpump was not needed. Each queen sized bed had a blanket and two pillows, with spares in the closet. The bed was firm and comfortable.The pillows were firm too. There were lots of towels and washcloths in the bathroom. I would have liked more luxorious towels, but these were clean and in good shape and dried quickly. The shower was hot and the pressure was acceptable. We did not use the flat screen TV or DVR, but the list of channels seemed long, and instructions were provided. The hot tub was clean and set at 104 degrees. The cabin was clean, but not spotless - the kitchen table did not feel clean when we arrived. We also had a small mouse visitor - which we reported to the office. We had a wonderful week, and the cabin was great. We absolutely will return here next time we are in the area - but we will ask for one of the cabins towards the back of the property.

The road on the property is dirt with gravel, and has been very well maintained, so Our Camry had no problems getting arournd. Each cabin has a lightpost and there are lightposts at each turnoff on the property.

Room Tip: Cabins toward the back of the property are more isolated which provides more of a backwoods feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b1sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wonderful..the cabin was clean and stocked with everything we needed..the hot tub was nice and clean..location was great we will go back for another get away.staff was very friendly and very helpful. It was worth the time and money

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbarnabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

They made my experience with them amazingly perfect:) My wife and I went for our 1 year anniversary and they helped make it affordable, helped make it worht the 6 hour drive, and even set up pictures of us i sent them in the mail throughout the cabin. It was just an amazing experience and wouldn't have changed it for the world! Very nice staff to boot! We also had plenty of essentials in the cabin ready for food and romance. Thanks so much Country Roads!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srfnakd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Recently stayed at the Marathon cabin. ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!! The cabins are very nice and are fully furnished. Even the kitchen came stocked w/ everything but the food (which you can request if you like). The area is so quiet and serene. We can't wait to come back. The only complaint we had was the master bed was very lump (but they have assured us that are replacing it w/ a brand new bed and were unaware of the lumpiness) and we couldn't pick up their wifi due to low to no signal..... but this trip wasnt fo rinterent browsing so it wasnt an issue :)

We also took a stroll through the area and there is a good distance between most cabins, but they all look similarly constructed. THey all look nice and have hot tubs :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenandPaul0143, Owner at Country Road Cabins, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you will visit again soon!
Yes, we have a brand new KING bed upgrade due next week and
a new wireless router for better internet reception! They'll be here for you to
enjoy during your next arrival. Thanks for your comments.
See ya soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hico
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
14.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
14.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
12.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Summersville
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Road Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Road Cabins

Property: Country Road Cabins
Address: 1508 Sunday Rd, Hico, WV 25854-7294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Road Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe West Virginia Log CabinsGreat Cabins Minutes from the New River Gorge are Perfect for West Virginia GetawaysPreferred by Vacationers Enjoying Canopy Tours, Rafting the New River and Gauley River, for Romantic Getaways, Family Reunions and more.We are located near Hico, just north of Fayetteville, right in middle of West Virginia's best outdoor recreation!Our cabins are within minutes of National and State Recreation Areas: New River Gorge, Gauley River, Summersville Lake, Babcock State Park, Hawks Nest State Park and Carnifex Ferry Battleground State Park, and the new Summit Bechtel Scout Reserve. Since 1996, owners Paul and Jennifer Breuer have built and managed this select group of 18 private deluxe log cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Road Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Road Cabins Hotel Hico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing