We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Road Cabins 1508 Sunday Rd. Hico WV”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Road Cabins
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Country Road Cabins 1508 Sunday Rd. Hico WV”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is the second year that we have stayed at the "Insignificant" cabin in Hico WV. I have to say that the name is a misnomer. It is anything but insignificant!! Absolutely fabulous; spacious, new, clean, well stocked, private log cabin nestled in the woods of West Va just minutes away from the New River Gorge. Our group meets there annually to raft. We have people from Germany, CA. CO. NC. PA, and IL & everyone says, "Hico WV is a cool place to be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
79
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, West Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My family had a great time. We stayed in the Mountaineer for 5 days. The staff was friendly and the location is convenient for New River Gorge activities. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandyTomblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We also stayed during the "storm of the century." I guess I'm more use to the outdoors then some, but we had flashlight, candles, and other light, but over all it was fine. People can't control the weather. Yes there were trees down and we had to be very careful but I didn't mind. I knew the employees there had their own familys and homes to worry about. When 95% of the state lost power, millions of dollars of damage was cause state wide, and they were under a State of Emergency it was the best one could have done. The employees a were very helpful and nice and even offer to reschedule us for anytimes we chose. I will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the "Almost Heaven " Cabin- but only got to actually stay there one out of the 3 nights I paid for due to the storm of the Century. There was no internet in our cabin and we could only get one channel ( a Little house on the prairie marathon) for the first day. We could not get back to the cabin due to road conditions until the early morning of our third day. Our road was blocked and we had to carry all of our stuff out over fallen trees that no one attempted to move. The power was out and would not be on for several days so we were forced to flee back to NJ.
All the owner said was- we don't give refunds. The cabin was nice, but far from luxurious and we paid over $700 for the 3 nights and did not even get to stay there ! We will not be back. It may be more economical for large groups , but for two people- it's not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leta1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our stay in the Jackson cabin was very nice. The location was only 10 minutes away from the whitewater rafting comanies. It had more amentities than expected. It even had a washer and dryer. There was nothing that we needed. The hot tub was nice and clean. The only thing that could have been better was the bed - it sagged a little, but wasn't horrible. The price wasn't bad, especially, when being split by 8 people!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Country Road cabins for 2 nights last weekend and the stay was great! The cabin we stayed was called "insignificant" with 4 bedrooms and huge hot tub at the back porch. Immediately when we entered the cabin, we were like "wow!!" because the cabin was really big with 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms downstairs and 2 bedrooms and one and half bathrooms upstairs. Two of the rooms have two queen size beds. There were only 6 of us, so you can imagine how excited we were when we realize the amount of space we get. There's also an open lounge area upstairs with TV and stereo system for people to relax. The cabin is very very very secluded located at the end of one way street and there are no other cabins around us! You have pretty much the cabin and the woods for yourself! It's very dark at night (since no one is around), so remember to bring flash light (the cabin provides one) if you plan to adventure at night.

The kitchen was fully equipped with almost everything you need. They even had cooking oils, flours, and a bag of ice in the freezer. This is the only cabin that I've stayed provides such detailed accessories.

The location is good. It's about 25 min drive to Summerville lake and 25 min to New River Gorge Bridge. The people from Country Road cabins are very helpful by providing directions or making reservations. Amber was really nice by providing a discount for our stay.

The only thing I am disappointed is that it's gas grill and no fire pit; but I heard it's the WV law not because of the cabin.

Overall, we had a great time and the cabin stay was great.

*Summerville Lake is a great spot to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed for a week in the "Suprise" cabin at Country road Cabins and enjoyed our stay immensely. Like all the cabins on the property it is named after rapids on the New and Gauley rivers. We were only 10 minutes from the gas station at Routes 10 and 19, and only 20 minutes from the New River Bridge and the town of Hico. Our log cabin was surrounded by woods, with no other houses or cabins in sight. The gravel road that runs through the property is well maintained, with signs to each of the cabins so that you do not get lost. We were late booking our cabin for the New River Birding and Nature Festival, and all of the smaller cabins were rented. Ours was a two bedroom - sleeps 6 easily, and 8 in a pinch. The log cabin looked like it had just been built, with a covered front porch and side porch - complete with rocking chairs and a hot tub. The full kitchen had new appliances and everything you could ever need to cook a full meal or heat up leftovers. The beds were comfortable - not the luxury pillow-tops you find at 5-star hotels, but comfortable, and we slept well. Both bedrooms had Queen beds. The downstairs bedroom was small, but the downstairs bathroom was nicely proportioned. The shower had lots of hot water. In keeping with ecological awareness - the shower did not have great water pressure - but it was sufficient to take a good shower. The furniture in the living room and dining room was nice - a cut above hotel/motel. It was a warm week, and we did not use the gas fireplace. The hot tub was cleaned between each guest visit and a boron dispenser floated in it to maintain cleanliness. I never ever use hot tubs, but this was so clean and well maintained that I felt comfortable using it. The cabin had both heat and air conditioning, and screens in all windows. Cable TV and DVD player were in the living room - we never turned them on. No Wi-Fi, and could not get a signal on 3G ipad - but IPhone had no problem with signal. We enjoyed hours sitting on our porch watching birds come and go, and an occasional deer. We could barely hear the traffic on Route 19 through the trees. We have already booked a weekend in a smaller cabin for this fall. We can't wait to go back. A couple of things to note - the cabin does not have daily housekeeping. If you stay longer than a day or so, you carry your trashbag to the dumpster at the entrance of the property when it is full. We never met the owners of the property - our key was left in our door, with a note to all guests at the check-in cabin. None of this detracted in any way from our stay - but its good to know what to expect.

Room Tip: read the descriptions of the cabins to find theone that meets your needs for size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank b1sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hico
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
209 reviews
14.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
13.2 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Summersville
101 reviews
5.9 mi away
Adventures on the Gorge - Lodging
2.4 mi away
New River Cabins
New River Cabins
#4 of 4 in Fayetteville
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Road Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Road Cabins

Property: Country Road Cabins
Address: 1508 Sunday Rd, Hico, WV 25854-7294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Road Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe West Virginia Log CabinsGreat Cabins Minutes from the New River Gorge are Perfect for West Virginia GetawaysPreferred by Vacationers Enjoying Canopy Tours, Rafting the New River and Gauley River, for Romantic Getaways, Family Reunions and more.We are located near Hico, just north of Fayetteville, right in middle of West Virginia's best outdoor recreation!Our cabins are within minutes of National and State Recreation Areas: New River Gorge, Gauley River, Summersville Lake, Babcock State Park, Hawks Nest State Park and Carnifex Ferry Battleground State Park, and the new Summit Bechtel Scout Reserve. Since 1996, owners Paul and Jennifer Breuer have built and managed this select group of 18 private deluxe log cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Road Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Road Cabins Hotel Hico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing