We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the heart of West Virginia”

Tygart Lake State Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Grafton
Attraction details
Grafton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the heart of West Virginia”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Tygart Dam: One of the largest poured concrete structures east of the Misissippi. Built for flood control on the Pittsburgh / WV portion of the Ohio river confluence. This is a must see and they still offer tours.

Lodge/cabins/camping: A small 20 room lodge overlooking the lake is beautiful and rustic. Recent addition of The Boston Beanery Bar and Rest. has brought an influx of locals. I dare say they have done more business in the last couple years than the previous 20 years combined. Good eats and the owners are Grafton natives.
There are cabins for rent and a small camping area located farther back towards the end of the state park area. If you love hiking there are several trails.

Swimming: They only allow swimming off of boats and not off of shore. Have no idea why. Guess safety issues. However, a new and improved swimming area is to open soon. Still think that at a state park, with a huge lake, you should be able to swim without owning a boat or paying. That's just my opinion.

Marina /boating: Large full service marina. One of the best boating lakes in the state. From pontoons to row boats you'll see them all. Plenty of coves to throw anchor and relax. You can even pull up to the dock at the lodge, call the Beanery and they'll run you down a pizza.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2,595 reviews
780 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,913 helpful votes
“Neat lake near Grafton, WV.”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Tygart Lake like most West Virginia lakes is impounded water that serves natives and visitors with many recreational needs.

Tygart Lake is not a heavily visited area, and offers abundant hiking, snow sports, fishing, boating and camping.

Several older cabins are for rent, and the lodge is sometimes open for dining.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful lakes I've visited”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Tygart is one of the most clean and clear lakes I have visited. My husband and I take our kayakes and spend the day on the lake. It can get quite busy on the weekends. We have hiked a few of the trails around the park as well and they are good. Love to visit whenever possible.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GalfromSugarHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawlings, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to spend a few hours of retreat!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I love to get away for a few hours to hike & spend some alone time. I've been here twice in the fall & have had that experience both times.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best water in northern WV”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

In my experience, this lake is not affected by rains and run-off like other lakes and rivers in the area. You won't find the brown mucky water as you do elsewhere after a rain. Beautiful water and lovely coves! The negatives are that you can not swim in the lake except from a boat. In fact they suggest that lodge guests swim in the downtown pool. We have a boat, so that is not an issue, however, they do not have available dock space. A few years ago, we were able to tie up to a buoy, being ferried back and forth to the shore, but the availability was temporary and a bit of a pain. Also, there is no camping on the banks of the lake and unless you are very crafty, the DNR will catch you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank owl-observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tygart Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Tygart Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing