We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-class accommodation in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tygart Lake State Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tygart Lake State Park to your Saves list
Tygart Lake State Park
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   1240 Paul E. Malone Rd, Grafton, WV 26354   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenixville
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“First-class accommodation in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Was here several years ago, but only passing nearby for one night this time. A little hard to find and quite crowded for early April, but still a real joy!

Rooms are very high-quality, spotless and with nice touches, such as actual creamers and Splenda for coffee. Only negative is that they still haven't installed fridges in the rooms.

Had a lodge room right off the lobby, all of which have reserved parking spots. View of the lake from right out the window was incredible!

On-site restaurant had good grub, good service, very reasonable prices and, at least on a Saturday night, live entertainment.

And of course the scenery in the park itself is practically worth the price.

Even if you're not into camping or canoeing, a great place to stay in a beautiful area.

Room Tip: Get a downstairs lake-view room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I just got back from a 3-night stay in one of the pet-friendly cabins and can't say enough about this place! The cabin has a porch and a wood-burning fireplace with a cord of wood stacked right outside. The view of the lake was gorgeous.

The cabins are very remote -- a little bit of a drive into the woods -- and I loved that. Then there is the Lodge with the gift shop and the restaurant and bar a short drive -- through the woods -- away. The forest rangers are driving around all the time and working around and every day come and check the kindling supply and take the garbage so you never feel unsafe.

I just loved it and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monjon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

OK, so this is not a top of the line modern hotel. It is a State Park Lodge apparently built many years ago but well maintained and a wonderful place to stop to relax. My room had a beautiful view of the lake, I think they all do, and the people working there were all helpful and friendly. The walls are a bit thin and the mattress was not the most comfortable I have been on but not the worst either. Lots of places to sit luggage and clothes. Parking right in front of the room as all ground floor. You can walk down to the lake on a short, but steep, path in back of the lodge and just around the corner on the road are several places to put in your boat, canoe or kayak.

Room Tip: Not sure of the designation but some of the rooms have small patios overlooking the back yard and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorcycle-tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the lodge. The staff were wonderful. The room was clean and comfy, and quiet!! The view was spectacular, and the food at the Boston Beanery was delish. Our only complaint is the steep windy roads to get there. They freaked me out, but my husband handled them like a pro. Now that we know the route we would undoubtedly stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stara52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Beautiful country and views. Lovely, rustic rooms. Friendly, cordial and accommodating staff. Great restaurant, Boston Beanery. Book early as rooms are limited. Other than that, just a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed two nights over the July 4th Weekend. First time staying at the lodge. Rooms are an older design but furniture, curtains, lamps etc. are new. The rooms were renovated in 2010. We had a room with a window not the deck...not sure it would have made a difference. Overall this was more than I was expecting from a lodge in a state park. I had a good experience. Will go back.

Pros
-Clean rooms.
-Not too noisy
-A bar and restaurant are connected to the lodge. Both stayed open until midnight.
-Food at the restaurant was ok...not great but not bad.
-Service at the restaurant was overall ok...had some mistakes here and there in the back when cooking the food but the service up front overall was good.
-Prices at the bar and restaurant are reasonable.
-Had a gift shop to go through while waiting to be seated or while waiting for food to arrive at your table.
-View of the lake from the rooms and the restaurant.
-Found most of the staff pleasant. Restaurant staff go out of their way to make sure you are happy.
-No issues with the cleaning staff.
-Not far from the marina.
-Clean little play area for kids next to the hotel. Also had a swinging chair for parents so you can watch the kids play.
-Bar staff asked manager to help carry drinks to my room. Nice to have a drink at the end of the day to help us wind down.

Cons
-When checking in we noticed cones in the parking spots with room numbers on them...apparently people try to take parking spots from the lodge and will even move the cones. I asked the folks working at the lodge to tell me what they do when a spot is taken...they responded with 'try to find the person who owns the car if we can...else not much we can do' I was expecting them to say 'tow the car away if they are parked where they shouldn't be'. Our spot was never taken...things would have gotten ugly if the spot was taken. Not a lot of parking at the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
231 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the last few years and will continue in the future. The lodge needs to be updated but it is clean and offers a nice view of the lake. The restaurant is now an outside concession and is excellent. Great move to bring them in. The staff at the front desk were all grumpy and should be retrained or replaced.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Robear46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
11.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bridgeport
12.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fairmont
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bridgeport Clarksburg
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Fairmont
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
12.5 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 11 in Fairmont
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tygart Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tygart Lake State Park

Property: Tygart Lake State Park
Address: 1240 Paul E. Malone Rd, Grafton, WV 26354
Location: United States > West Virginia > Grafton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tygart Lake State Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Tygart Lake State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing