We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem of its own” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenville Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenville Inn
Save
You added Glenville Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenville
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“a gem of its own”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is located in a very remote location in West Virginia on route 5. Surprisingly, the hotel are clean, staff are very friendly. Breakfast are decent, they have oat meal, grits, muffins, biscuit, eggs, 24 hours coffee in the lobby.
The bed actually very comfortable, the room is very quite, and a surprise view from my room to the back of the hotel which is a small creek.
The only down site is the phone reception and internet reception is very slow, and on and off.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deb-5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Having never traveled to Glenville, I was a little leary booking a room at the Glenville Inn. I was very pleasantly surprised. The inn was very nice and clean. The location was good since we were visiting Glenville State College. I was also pleasantly surprised with the complimentary breakfast. There were lots of choices, eggs, breads, pastries, cereals, etc.

The Glenville Inn turned out to be a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location!! Restaurant was within walking distance and had good food! Area was right outside the city limits of Glenville, WV. The majority of the visitors on weekends were for FCI-Gilmore. This didn't both us but just thought I'd throw that out.. Maids were very hospitable and gave me cleaning supplies for my windshield.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVETHATWINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickasha, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The rooms are nice sized, mattresses are decent, and pillows firm and fluff. The best parts about this hotel is that it used to be a Best Western, it lies in the front of a river, and the breakfast food is decent. The not so good parts of this hotel is that it is not Best Western quality, there is no fence to protect children from the river, it smells like cigarette smoke throughout entire hotel, and it is booked mostly by out of state construction workers who come in after work drunk. This hotel is pricey, but all and all, all the area has.

Room Tip: Call a month or two ahead to get the room you want, but be prepared to pay big bucks!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is in the middle of nowhere but that's where I was working so I was pleased to find the hotel. It is about 6 yeas old but everything still looks new. My room was spacious and clean. Staff was friendly. It's a few miles from the town of Glenville, but there is a restaurant next door. Rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

While hotel staff were very nice and beds comfortable, housekeeping could have been trained better. the 2 days we stayed , I had to retreive cleaning supplies ( soap, trash bags, towels, wash clothes, toilet paper etc) from housekeeping cart and clean our room because no one to be found and waited til 1pm before i did it myself. Which for $70 per night with no pool etc was ridiculous! Also bad storms hit, hotel staff was very unprepared for emergency! No back up generator, or flashlights for guests so no light to draw insulin by or take their medication, power out 100 degree temps,no screens on windows got ate alive by mosquitos! no communications not their fault but no food, limited bottled water , there were elderly guests with medical issues that required oxygen machines , CPAP and nebulizer etc and couldnt use them...( potenially life threatening) Next morning the only way off 2nd n 3rd floors was down back stairwell, was pitch black, hotel staff did not help elderly or handicapped guests down the stairs. or assist with their luggage. Didnt even hold open the fire doors so we would have some sunlight to get down the stairwell! Could not get a copy of our bill or check out because hotel manager was no where to be found and housekeeping lady that was there didnt even offer to find him. My suggestion is for better training for staff, put together emergency kits for each room with flashlights & batteries, get a back up generator in case of power outage ( i know they are expensive but can apply for federal grants or low interest loans for purchase, ) and would be beneficial to business and their guests for safety reasons, also put together an an emergency plan that hotel staff can empliment. The storms/ tornados that hit WV also caused mass destruction in IN, OH, NC, VA, and DC, They should have had all guests in one area on bottom floor and enough bottled water and non perishable food to last guests for 2-3 days as no businesses were open, no electricity meant no food available, downed live power lines, trees uprooted and across roads so couldnt get in or out, said it was worse storm in 20 yrs... They needed to be prepared for the unexpected. Next time will stay in Weston...

Room Tip: Choose ground floor if disabled or elderly,in case of emergency. Bring your own small back up genera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ultreasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I recently stayed here while attending a meeting in the area. I was very surprised with the hotel. Very well taken care of and clean. Staff extremely friendly. Rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is a former Best Western. It is about 25-30 minutes from the interstate. Located nearby a state college. There is a local restaurant next door. I did not eat there but the reviewed from colleagues who did were great.
It is a simple property so no frills. Small but nice fitness room. My only recommendation would be to get better mattresses.
Overall, much more than whatI expected. I would recommend this property if you need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Live2TravelWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenville
17.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weston
18.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Weston
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
15.8 mi away
Stonewall Resort
Stonewall Resort
#1 of 1 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
20.3 mi away
Super 8 Weston WV
Super 8 Weston WV
#2 of 3 in Weston
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenville Inn

Property: Glenville Inn
Address: 61 Development Dr, PO Box 397, Glenville, WV 26351-7409
Location: United States > West Virginia > Glenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenville
Number of rooms: 57
Also Known As:
Glenville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing