We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck!”
Review of Glen Ferris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Ferris Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Glen Ferris B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The view may be beautiful, but the food and rooms are anything but acceptable. The double room we stayed in had two beds. One of them required a step ladder to get into and the other was as comfortable as sleeping on the thoroughly stained carpet. The food is not fine dining. It is barely above greasy diner standards. Management was rude and less than accommodating. The showers were filthy with mildew and the temperature control was nonexistent. If you are coming to this area, this Inn is best avoided. Hawks Nest Lodge and Fayetteville are just a short drive. Save yourself the money! Highly dissatisfied!

Room Tip: Find a different place to stay. Eww.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown3722, Owner at Glen Ferris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the late response as our company just took over the Glen Ferris Inn at the end of June. Now that we manage the property we will ensure that issues like the ones you experienced don't happen again. Barry Eagle, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed here several times - it is a quaint old hotel that was built in 1800's. The room are very clean. We have stayed in the same room all 3 time I have been here -
The restaurant is by far one of the best things, we ate both breakfast and dinner there.
I look forward staying here again -

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank oldrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown3722, Owner at Glen Ferris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the late response as our management company just took over the Glen Ferris Inn at the end of June. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Glen Ferris Inn. This was my 4th stay at the Inn. Wonderful suite with large wrap around porch on the second floor. Beautiful views of the mountains and New River. Kanawha Falls is directly behind the Inn. The food was excellent as always! Plus we were there during German Fest. An excellent place to relax. I would recommend a trip to the Glen ferris Inn for the food, history, and scenic beauty that will surround you. All staff members were very nice and service was outstanding!!! We will return!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank electriclazyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown3722, Owner at Glen Ferris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the late response as our management company just took over the Glen Ferris Inn at the end of June. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

we have had a great lunch at the inn again.we live 90 miles away and love to antique shop and stop for lunch or early dinner at the inn.we have been there about ten times.dining room service is very attentive and pleasant.food is great,we havent stayed but would love to, it is very cozy in the lobby and is such a nice atmosphere all around

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank james e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown3722, Owner at Glen Ferris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the late response as our management company just took over the Glen Ferris Inn at the end of June. We're glad you enjoyed dining with us and we hope to see you again in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Vintage decor makes the hotel (build in the early 1800s) charming and cozy. The room we had was small but nicely decorated in the period style. Chintz and lace - and ladder back rush seat chairs at a small table for two. Our room looked out on the New River and the mountains. There is a very nice deck with chairs where you can sit and watch the river and the mountains.
The stay was adequate. The towels somewhat thin - and it is true what another reviews said - the pillows are really flat. But there was a second pillow in the closet that was much fuller - and that combined with the flat pillow gave one of us a good night's sleep.
No hair dryer - so bring your own.
Wi-fi is spotty - I could not get it to work in the sitting room - the only place it is available.
Help is just friendly enough to not be rude - but no more.
Place is clean and for the price, a good stay.
And the location is wonderful - right in the midst of the New River Gorge and an easy drive to the bridge, falls and other sights.

Room Tip: We had a great room on the first floor looking out at the river and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Riverliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown3722, Owner at Glen Ferris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the late response as our company just took over the Glen Ferris Inn at the end of June. Now that we manage the property we will ensure that issues like the ones you experienced don't happen again. However, we're glad you were able to enjoy the location! Barry Eagle, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

In taking a 72 mile drive on Route 60 off the interstate today (for the purpose of getting off the highway and seeing some beautiful scenery), this was the only fine dining spot I could easily see from the road during almost the whole drive. I did not stay overnight, but had lunch there, and the food was very good with some particularly nice touches, such as the prime rib with vegetable soup and the potato chips being homemade to order. Served in a very pretty and historic looking dining room with very friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown3722, Owner at Glen Ferris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the late response as our management company just took over the Glen Ferris Inn at the end of June. We're glad you enjoyed dining with us and we hope to see you again in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ferris
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
224 reviews
24.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
5.6 mi away
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
8.5 mi away
Adventures on the Gorge - Lodging
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn New River
Comfort Inn New River
#2 of 4 in Oak Hill
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Ferris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Ferris Inn

Address: U S Route 60, Glen Ferris, WV 25090
Location: United States > West Virginia > Glen Ferris
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ferris
Price Range: $70 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glen Ferris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing