We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thompson's Motel
Nearby Hotels
Park Motel(Petersburg)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaan Valley Resort(Davis)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
4
13
13
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
13
13
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 33 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We found this motel after traveling for awhile and not finding any town to stay in. It turned out to be a reminder of the motels we stayed in growing up in the 60's. Nothing fancy but clean and priced right. The management was extremely helpful and friendly. Very easy to get right back on the main road to get to Seneca Rocks and other attractions for hiking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gretchenabc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I happened across Thompson's while doing some leaf-peeping in the WV mountains. We arrived at 8:30 at night, dog tired. The lady in the office was very pleasant when I checked in. I asked if there was a microwave in the room, since we had brought along a cooler of frozen dinners to eat. She said no, but we could use the one the staff uses in her office if we wanted to! We thought that was very nice, but opted to ask about any local places. She referred us to Fox's Pizza and Subs, right up the road. The pizza was great! Our room was okay for $42 a night. No frills, but clean. If we're back that way again, we would stay there in a pinch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_from_BG_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The Thompson Hotel, is a good stay for the money, it's in a very pretty setting, the room was clean other than the carpet, but to be fair, many trout fisherman stay there & do not remove their waders before going in, but the rest of the room was clean. We loved sitting on the veranda. There is a excellent restaurant a few steps away. There are few hotels or restaurants in Franklin, but we would definitely stay there again, the people from the hotel & restaurant were very friendly. It's a beautiful steeped in history.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimisue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the best motel in this small, hid-away nice town. NOTHING fancy, but reasonable price ($49-$59 off season), all 1st floor, large rooms. Generally very clean, especially the bathroom, but the room carpet needs GOOD cleaning / replacement, as does the chair cushions. The beds are clean, but much to hard for us.

Front desk service is "functional" but not friendly, as I expected here. Had to buy a calling card for phone calls .. UNLESS you have AT&T (only) your cell is no good here. You cannot call-out on the motel phone ... at all (charge or no-charge).


Next to the FIRESIDE Restaurant, making it easy for breakfast, or any meal. Again, not GREAT food, but good food, reasonably priced.

There are 2 other small motels here, but don't look any better from outside, and Thompson's is a "known quantity" to us (son lives in the area, so we are up 2 - 3 X per year).

Room Tip: BTW, a "chain" hotel is back over the mountain in Harrissonburg VA .. about a 45 min drive and "sharp" curvy mountain roads. This motel is HEAVILY used by visiting hunters .. as the seasons change. They have never bothered us, however, just might need a reservation if "in season."
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murrell89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I knew I was in trouble when I walked into my room and there was a refrigerator-size dehumidifier running at full speed. It ran on high all night! The room reeked of mold and mildew. The rug was absolutely filthy, slept with my shoes on. Not even an entry mat or rug to wipe your feet on when you enter from the outside where the sidewalk was wet, dirty and covered in salt. The beds must be 50 years old, the furniture was falling apart. I could go on and on. One small piece of soap, no shampoo. The towels were like old rags and tiny. There is a restaurant in the same parking lot and the breakfast there was good and cheap. The staff at both places were very friendly as well.

Admittedly, not much choice in Franklin

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank beefdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews