We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could give 6 stars!”
Review of Foxwood

Foxwood
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flat Top
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foxwood
Ranked #1 of 3 Flat Top B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2012

As close to heaven as one can get and live to tell about it. We keep coming back each year and we keep loving it more and more. The beauty of the inn and its surroundings is breathtaking and the hosts, Betty and Jack, could not be nicer. I always hate leaving and immediately begin looking forward to "the next time". The rooms are huge, the decor is fabulous and all the houses on the property are outstanding. The inn will rival any five star hotel I have ever stayed in. Don't miss this experience! There is truly no place like it in the world!

Room Tip: We like all the rooms but our favorite is the top of the stairs to the right at the end of the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonbon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Foxwood 3 times. Every time we go, I love it more. Enchanting get away in the beautiful mountains. The Inn Keepers are wonderful hosts who make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Wonderful food and wonderful atmosphere. I cannot say enough about this marvelous mountain mansion!

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated beautifully and are extremely comfortable. I like the ones on the back b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The drive into foxwood is breath taking and we hoped the service would not disappoint. It didn't!!! The rooms are fantastic and the hosts even better. Betty and Jack are unbelievable, they made us feel right at home. From the home cooked breakfasts to the luxurious beds, the whole place was amazing. The only negative about our stay was having to leave!!! We are counting down the days until we get back.Xxx

Susan, Ciaran, Ruby and Charlotte. Belfast, N.Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Foxwood was an amazing place for a wedding. If you are looking for complete freedom and peacefulness, it's for you. We basically had the entire complex rented with our friends and family. It was breathtakingly beautiful. We all relaxed and had a wonderful time. The innkeepers are very helpful and easygoing. Our expereince was exceptional and I would highly recommend this destination to anyone for any event.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carriehalkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Holy Cow. We can not express enough our gratitude toward Jack, Betty & Kevin for hosting all our friends and family for our wedding at their Mulberry House. Not only did they help us throw the perfect event, but we filled the inn and the two other houses with family and friends. No one has said anything but wonderful things about this secluded retreat, where you can time-warp back to simpler days, and get lost in the comfort of family, friends and the views. Everyone complimented the hospitality, Mrs. Betty's fantastic breakfast, and the absolutely beautiful scenery. The accommodations are to die for, from the pillowy king size beds in every room, to the amazing breakfast. All this, and more, has made our time here something to remember. It could not have been more perfect. We will definitely be back with all our friends! The family is already talking about coming back next year for a reunion.

Our hosts were super accommodating and friendly toward everyone the encountered. Even after everyone was gone, we sat and conversed for over an hour about everything under the sun, and what a gorgeous place West Virginia, Mountain Momma', really is. Thank you, thank you, thank you - for everything.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed here overnight after our daughter's wedding at Mulberry House, another house on the property. This inn is as beautiful inside as out. There are two ponds on the property: one is right outside the front door, and the other is down over the hill. What a beautiful place to stay! The interior contains a library, and the dining room has the biggest table I have ever seen. Our room was lovely. It had hardwood floors and a large bathroom. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful: eggs, bacon, toast, and fruit. The owners made us feel right at home.
The only downside to Foxwood Inn is the drive to get to it. It is 10 miles off the main road, and the last mile is not paved.. The price of the rooms is very reasonable. If you are looking for a place to "get away from it all," this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meggieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

I would highly recommend staying at Foxwood (Linden House) as long as the roads are clear. We stayed there while skiing at Winterplace and it was perfect for 2 families of 4ppl each (plus a dog), however the trek to/from the mountain was quite difficult due to all of the snow in the winter of 2009/2010. Granted, the owner Betty advised of such prior to booking and confirmed that we had 4WD, but you can't truly grasp the conditions until you are actually driving them! Definitely no going back-and-forth for lunch or forgotten items. However, this was a freak winter season so it should be OK during normal conditions.

The house was 4BDRM/4 1/2 baths and perfect for us. All of the cooking stuff you need and tons of room to hang out. There are actually 2 fireplaces and there was plenty of wood provided by Betty. She also allowed us to bring our dog who enjoyed romping the compound and chasing the critters.

We truly loved this house and hope to go back in the future. Just be aware of road conditions and call Betty for information in advance!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachmountainhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Foxwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxwood

Address: Ellison Ridge Road, P.O. Box 5, Flat Top, WV 25841
Location: United States > West Virginia > Flat Top
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Flat Top
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles from Winterplace Ski Resort, this hideaway is open year round, and is located on 250 secluded acres in the mountains of West Virginia. Three houses compose this unique complex and offer the most serene, luxurious accommodations in Southern West Virginia. Foxwood is ideal for romantic vacations, honeymoons, weddings, wedding receptions, ski trips, and family reunions. Foxwood can be used for company parties, conferences, and workshops. Churches will find the facilities ideal for retreats and other activities. Guests may fish our stocked ponds, hike, bird watch, and enjoy nature. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing