We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Coolest little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo's

Gumbo's
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coolest little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Went hiking to the kaymoor mine & we were pretty hungry after the 821 steps! The place didn't look like much on the outside, but I'm so so glad we took a chance on it. We started with their spindrift all natural soda (blackberry or orange mango)-- both were great! We then got an order of buffalo shrimp. They were very tasty. As the main entree, three of us shared the crab & shrimp steam pot. It had sausage, crab, shrimp, corn on the cob, and potatoes with Cajun seasoning. Everything was awesome and we finished the whole thing! Saved room for some salted carmel pecan cheesecake-- so very yummy! Love love love this place! Our waiter and service was fantastic as well.

Helpful?
2 Thank lizgburg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    35
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love me some Gumbo's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have been living in Southern Louisiana for past year and the food was awesome. Gumbos is right on par with some of the best restaurants in New Orleans so if you want some authentic Cajun Gumbo just take the trip to Fayetteville you'll think you are in a genuine Bourbon Street restaurant in the Big Easy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Crab cakes I have had in a long time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We went here as a group of 4 and did not realize that you needed reservations. The hostess was very nice and said she could take our name and the wait would only be 30 min. It was a warm sunny evening so we walked around town going in a few of the shops. Once we went back we were seated immediately. The service was a little slow but, it was very busy. Three of us out of the group ordered the crab cakes and all agreed they were great. One of the best I have had. They were a little on the spicy side, but what else would you expect out of a Cajun restaurant. :) Would recommend anyone that has a little time to go here and grab a bite to eat. Would go back again if visiting the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“nice little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we wanted to try something different during our trip and this was definitely it. service was a little slow and our waitress seemed like she was on speed or something, but that could be because they were so busy. i was going to get a turkey club sandwich because i don't like spicy food but i wanted to try something new so i got the crab cakes. they were good, however, i could only eat one because it was too spicy. there is "regular" stuff on the menu for those that do not like spicy food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Big Easy in W.V.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My Grandad used to always say, "Walk slow and drink a lot of water". He was from the region that this restaurant's theme comes from. With that in mind, this is not a place to go if you are in a hurry. Our wait (without reservations) was around 45 minutes and it took an additional hour after we ordered before our food hit the table. We were talking with the folks at an adjacent table and they waited almost an hour after ordering as well. Normally, I would knock a place down a couple of notches for the wait but the staff was attentive and drinks were kept full during that time. The food would rate excellent and the prices were on par.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo's also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing