We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Gumbo's

Gumbo's
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Price range: $5 - $40
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Gumbo's is kind of small, and located in the center of town. There isn't much parking, so if you are there in season, go early.
The menu is a mixture of dishes with an emphasis on Cajun, and everything we had, from the shrimp appetizer to the pie for desert was delicious. The service is a little slow ( this was off season) but the place was cute and had big front windows to watch the foot traffic while you wait.
If you're in the area, don't miss it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    38
    14
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Great food, interesting menu”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Gumbo's doesn't look like much from the outside, and the inside is unusual with it's mismatched furniture, slanting floors, and eclectic decor - but the food is wonderful. The menu features many items that are home made, organic, or locally sourced, and it sounds like the specials vary by day. The prices were very reasonable, and the staff was friendly. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Absolutely delicious Cajun food. We had fried green tomatoes and fried pickles for appetizers and both were perfectly fried, not oily, and spiced to perfection. My husband had jambalaya and I had shrimp étouffée. I told the waiter to let the cook know that the étouffée was to die for. My husband said it was the best dinner he'd had in a year. Our waiter, Noah, was a very nice young man and took the time to make you feel right at home. It was a joy to find such a gem in the little town of Fayetteville.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, busy place”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Gumbo's came highly recommended and the food does not disappoint. The menu offers a wide range of choices including steamed seafood, simmered dishes like gumbos and soups, fried foods, salads and burgers. The variety of the menu should satisfy almost anyone. My husband and I ate their twice and all of the food was great but the seafood gumbo was a standout. If you plan to go know that this joint is a favorite of tourists and locals. If it is a weekend or peak dinner hour you may wait a while to get a table. The kitchen also seems to have difficulty keeping up with the tables that are seated. The food is worth the wait, but don't go there for dinner if you are in a hurry. Apparently there is a planned expansion that may resolve some of these issues.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Save your self & don't go there!!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

At the time of our arrival it appeared that there busiest time was over, there were open tables in this 12 table restaurant. The menu sounded very appetizing! Our lump crabmeat fried green tomatoes arrived without the crabmeat, waitress didn't even realize it, & it was served with some kind of half mustard, half ketchup dipping sauce, yuk! Waitress suggested if we were hungry to order one of the specials, so we did. Our salads were so limp & old looking they should have been thrown out! My husband was given the wrong dressing, the amount of that was given wasn't even enough for someone on a diet! We waited 30 painful minutes between dishes. Our entree finally came with 6 medium scallops, that were fairly gritty, a half cup of delicious grits & 3 stalks of cold asparagus! The only thing positive about this place was the 1 beer I had. Our waitress came up to us & asked us in a convicting tone "why we didn't tell her there wasn't any crabmeat on the fried green tomatoes?" We told her that the other waitress was in close proximity. Frankly she was too busy with other customers, to even be close enough to our table that we could get her attention. We did not leave her a tip, which we haven't done in 20 yrs! Save yourself & go to the secret sandwich society or Diogis.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patti j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo's also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing