We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome sight.”

New River Gorge Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome sight.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an impressive steel arch bridge. We were there a few days before Bridge Day. It's one day a year they close the bridge to vehicle traffic and base jumpers come from all around to jump and parachute down. Not for me but it would be cool to see it. There are two viewer platforms one lower down that the other. It's a pretty good walk down and a tough walk back up if you are out of shape like me. I think a must see if you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoadKing8084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    137
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip, Need more than one day”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are just driving through, then stop and see the bridge, take a picture and continue the trip. However, you need a couple days just to get to see everything in the National Park, much less go rafting or horseback riding. The gorge is amazing and there are so many things to see. We drove around the park one day, making multiple stops and enjoying the slow pace. We took a ton of pictures and couldnt imagine not having took our time.

The favorite portion within the National Park was the abandoned town. It was amazing to see the old buildings and we were there alone as it was a little bit off the main path to get there. Also there are many State Parks in the vincinity warrenting a stop, so at least 2 full days are needed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PLM2534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bridge Day/ New River Gorge”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Worth the trip for sure! Along with the awesome BASE jumping, New River Gorge has killer trails, awesome kayaking, and climbing. Everywhere you go is beautiful, and the people are very nice. Plan for a few extra days to hang out, and really get into it. Oh, and if you see some crazy BASE jumpers out, buy them a beer :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bridge Day”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Watching those lunatics jump off the bridge with parachutes was exciting. Venders lined the road leading to the bridge so food was plentiful. Toured the small roads around the gorge the next day to take in the scenery and got some great pictures.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
497 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This bridge has been on my list for a long time and did not disappoint. Setting is great and the Visitor Center is very good. We should have allowed more time to visit some of the restored areas in the New River Gorge

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank califken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New River Gorge Bridge also viewed

 

Been to New River Gorge Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing