We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cantrell Ultimate Rafting
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn New River(Fayetteville)(Great Value!)
$90
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Beckley(Beckley)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
82
2
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
2
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergreat tripupper gauleyday triplive musicgreat guidecan't wait to go backfeel like familywest virginiafather son tripexpert guideyear after yearother companiescountry cabinawesome weekendpersonal attentionan awesome experience
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 87 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great people beautiful place and the price was by far the cheapest. I would recommend anyone interested in a experience of a lifetime to gave it a try. The guide Terry was awesome makes you feel right at home. Thanks for everything see you guys next year. Can't wait to do it again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandongray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I have only used Cantrell and I don't believe I will ever try anyone else. Every time is an awesome experience. This time was the first on the all day and Cantrell even exceeded expectations on the lunch spread. Great company. Duncan was our guide and he did a great job. Already anticipating next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelaneysDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great for teens and adults. It'll whip you into shape! Great guides and great prices. Fun family memories and fantastic environment. Pictures are taken and ours turn out to be absolutely hilarious every year! We'll keep coming back to Cantrell's every year!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We knew white water rafting on the New would be fun, but we didn't expect to have so much of it! Cantrell is one of only three family owned companies that remain in the area, providing all sorts of outdoor adventure services, competing with some big companies and doing a pretty good job at it. We made a last minute reservation and they were able to not only secure us a spot only a few days before the event, but also recommend a local hotel to stay... all at a price that could not be matched.

Duncan, our "oarsman" taught all five of us (my wife, three kids, aged 13 through 17 and I) how to raft through the Lower New with 10 times the water volume for this time of the year, safely and enjoy the adventure at the same time.

The Lower New gave us several Class III rapids and a Class IV to go through. We experienced waves as large as 10 feet high (typical of spring and not of mid-July) and a thrill you can't get anywhere else. We only wish we'd done more of it!! Definitely a YES on my list of places to revisit and companies to do business with.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank grioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

What a great full day trip yesterday! The New was really up but George of the Gorge gave us a wicked good ride!

I had relatives from FL and TX out on the river for their first ever trip...and they're ready to come back for another trip!

Thanks Ritchie...super deal yesterday coupled with George of the Gorge doing his guide gig made a lot of happy folks! We'll be back dudes!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MSgt-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews