We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the Vandalian”
Review of The Vandalian - CLOSED

The Vandalian
Cuisines: American
Description: Just opened spring of this year.
Restaurant details
Description: Just opened spring of this year.
Parma, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Vandalian”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I almost didn't go in because they only take cash or local checks. Odd. But, the menu was varied and everything there was made from scratch. I ordered the "Donn" burger without a bun and it was huge. Plus an order of potato chips and an iced tea completed my meal. There was a play down the street and we were treated to a few Christmas songs by two orchestra members on the violin and viola. Now that was special. The place is clean and has an open atmosphere. You get a lot of food for your money. One of the people at the next table had a burrito and loved it. My waitress was friendly and funny. I would really recommend it, but take cash.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't accept credit card.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We ate and found out they didn't accept credit cards. We had to to an ATM and pay a fee to get cash to pay our bill. However the food was good. But who doesnt accept credit cards these days!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet place for dinner after a long day”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went here for dinner after going to Bridge Day earlier in the day. It was a cold day so being out most of the day on the bridge with 3 kids in the group was tiring. Based on a brief look at the menu online and drive around the previous night, this place did not look like it had much to offer especially for some vegetarians in our group. We actually went to the Cajun place next door which really didn't have anything vegetarian. Happened to look at the menu for this restaurant and it looked interesting. Turned out to be the perfect place for our needs that night. Quiet, clean, comfortable, casual atmosphere. Individual menu items seemed a bit pricey but serving size is huge especially for pastas so definitely can share. Salad was fresh and a good size serving too. The woman serving us, Erin, was very friendly and turned out to be someone very interesting to talk to with all her travels around the world. The cash only was a little strange. Overall, a great experience - would definitely go back to try other things on their menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aurora03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great burgers and breakfast”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

The Vandalian is a tasty place for lunch and breakfast. I've never been for dinner, but every meal I have had had been high quality and tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brevardrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Depot, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The food here was amazing! The service was great too...over all a wonderful experience! We had children with us and they loved it as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kellybelcher2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vandalian also viewed

 
Fayetteville, WV
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing