We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet place for dinner after a long day”
Review of The Vandalian - CLOSED

The Vandalian
Cuisines: American
Description: Just opened spring of this year.
Restaurant details
Description: Just opened spring of this year.
Rockville, MD
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet place for dinner after a long day”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went here for dinner after going to Bridge Day earlier in the day. It was a cold day so being out most of the day on the bridge with 3 kids in the group was tiring. Based on a brief look at the menu online and drive around the previous night, this place did not look like it had much to offer especially for some vegetarians in our group. We actually went to the Cajun place next door which really didn't have anything vegetarian. Happened to look at the menu for this restaurant and it looked interesting. Turned out to be the perfect place for our needs that night. Quiet, clean, comfortable, casual atmosphere. Individual menu items seemed a bit pricey but serving size is huge especially for pastas so definitely can share. Salad was fresh and a good size serving too. The woman serving us, Erin, was very friendly and turned out to be someone very interesting to talk to with all her travels around the world. The cash only was a little strange. Overall, a great experience - would definitely go back to try other things on their menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aurora03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great burgers and breakfast”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

The Vandalian is a tasty place for lunch and breakfast. I've never been for dinner, but every meal I have had had been high quality and tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brevardrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Depot, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The food here was amazing! The service was great too...over all a wonderful experience! We had children with us and they loved it as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kellybelcher2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Average Restaurant, I was expecting more”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I ate here with a group of four friends while in the area for rafting. I was expecting savory family-style cooking and got more of a burger and pasta place. I ordered a salad that was average, nothing special. Someone got a burger that was also average and two got pasta. We started off with smothered fries, which were a big disappointment. There was one solid lump of sliced cheese in the middle that wasn't fully melted. We sent them back to be heated more.

The cash only policy is outdated. There are many more restaurants in the area worth trying than the Vandalian. The service was poor. It wasn't busy but we couldn't get our waitress to wait on us. Not sure where she kept disappearing to. Not worth a repeat trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirkdawg98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, West Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solid But Outclassed”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Vandalian usually has pretty good food and pretty good service. However there have been times I've traveled here and the service has been awful (usually when they are busy) and the food can sometimes slip in quality. Some menu items are a little over priced, and they now only take Cash only. Good idea, but in practice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vandalian also viewed

 
Fayetteville, WV
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing