We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It don't get no better!”
Review of DiOGi's Mexican Grill - CLOSED

DiOGi's Mexican Grill
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Pineville, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It don't get no better!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is nothing like the traditional Tex-Mex. Oscar, the owner, is from Honduras. He has the perfect knack for using just the right amount of seasonings. Oddly enough, for a place like Fayetteville, West Virginia, his seafood selections are outstanding! Yea, it's quite casual, but extraordinarily clean.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    22
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our rafting group ate here the night before our rafting trip, and it was excellent. The atmosphere was very laid-back and informal, the perfect vibe you'd want when on a rafting trip with friends. The menu had all the usual mexican offereings, plus a few surprises (one of which I had, the polo loco, which was excellent). The service was friendly and the food came quickly. We'll definitely be back the next time we're in the area rafting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

21 in our group, called ahead.
Service was top notch.
Handled our group, big eaters and even bigger drinkers.
Will return when we go rafting again this year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewildasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Eat local”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really try to eat at local establishments and avoid the mega chains. This place is definitely local with pictures of pets everywhere, pretty neat. The beer was good and cold. The food was really good and fresh, not your usual Mexican fare. I have to admit that we were a little surprised with the cost of our meals for the area. They offered vegetarian selections and refried black beans. The place was packed and people were still going through the door when we left. I would recommend this place noting the price range for meals.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richvabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“There is nothing predictable about Diogi's except amazing food!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in for a late Sunday supper after looking at the Christmas lights. This was just the place to warm up with some amazing food! This food is more Central American than Mexican. This is not your ordinary Mexican Grill! I ordered a chicken quesadilla with rice & beans. The quesadilla was huge & generously filled with a yummy chicken filling. It came with two sides, and I chose my favorites-their rice & beans. The rice is not typical Mexican fare, it has peas & other interesting things inside that result in a simply wonderful taste. The beans are creamy, black beans that are almost sweet. The sides could really almost stand on their own as entrees, they taste that good! My companions had the burro casas with chicken. These were grilled chicken, peppers, & onions wrapped in flour tortillas with white cheese sauce on top. There were two on the plate & were so large that each just ate one. My bite was divine! They could also choose 2 sides, & both got salads. These were not skimpy side salads. These were large, lovely salads loaded with toppings. One got spicy papas as a side (fried potatoes in a pepper sauce that were almost flammable!) & the other had the rice. Love that the chips come in dog bowls! We added a bowl of queso dip-they have several from which to choose. There are loads of interesting menu choices here. I have eaten here for lunch, but this was the first time I had done dinner. It is a bit pricey (our dinners were in the $15-20 range), but well worth it! It is very clean, the staff is friendly & attentive, & the food is amazing. The bathrooms are spotless & fun. They are decorated with pictures of customer's pets. They keep bowls of water & kibble outside & welcome dogs at the outside tables! We are looking forward to our next visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labsadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiOGi's Mexican Grill also viewed

 
Fayetteville, WV
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing