We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Spring Weekend in Fayetteville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Fayetteville B&B and Inns
Athens, Ohio
2 reviews
“Spring Weekend in Fayetteville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We met old friends from out of town last weekend in Fayetteville and stayed at the Morris Harvey house for two nights. Our room was comfortable, we chose the only room in the place with no bathroom. Next time we'll upgrade as we realize that's an important convenience for us! The home was lovely, well kept and the food was creative and enjoyable. One of the best parts of our visit besides the fabulous hiking, was our hosts. Bernie is a great dad and his two sons do an extremely professional job as hosts, chef and bottle washers! We hope to go back again and have great memories of the weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Susan,

Thanks so much for the great review. Your group made our weekend a treat! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the amazing hiking our area has to offer. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
39
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkersburg, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

So personal, so friendly so perfect...

The host and his family welcome you in with open arms and make you feel so at home. We fell in love with these folks and cannot wait to go back and stay at this location. Simply perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Bridget,

We loved getting to know you and Brandi over the course of your stay. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed our hospitality and we look forward to seeing you back in Fayetteville soon! You are always welcome!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed overnight while in town for business and I think the place is absolutely perfect.....from the manicured grounds to the immaculate house. I had a great time talking with the owners Bernie and Cameron while they were making us the delicious breakfast. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Brett,

It was so great getting to know you over your stay. We're so glad you enjoyed our property as well as our full breakfast spread we prepare for our guests each morning. We truly feel as though we've made a new friend. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I were in town for a wedding, and our stay at Morris Harvey made our trip even nicer than expected. The house itself is beautiful, and our room was comfortable and full of neat antiques. Our room had a private bathroom, and although it was rather small, we were grateful for the privacy. The owner and his son were incredibly nice and hospitable, and made delicious breakfasts each morning and cookies and lemonade in the evenings. They even sent some extra cookies along for our friends to celebrate their wedding night! Our only complaint - and it's a small one - is that the switches for the fan and light in our room were old and wonky, so it took a good bit of fiddling to get them turned on and adjusted. Other than that, everything was perfect, and we'll happily stay here again the next time we're in Fayetteville.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StylishNoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Beth and James,

Thank you so much for your informative review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and mentioned some of the extra goodies we offer our guests to make them feel at home. We are very sorry to hear about the issues with the light/fan switch in your room. Unfortunately, the switch has been stripped over time and the manufacturing company who originally made them, is no longer in business. We are currently looking for a way to fix this issue, and it will be fixed within the coming days. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed one night at the Mortis Harvey House and it was great. We were traveling south and made Fayetteville a hal way point. The house is walking distance from great restaurants! Will definitely stay here again! Thanks Bernie for your hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliebug51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Allie,

Thanks for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all the amazing restaurants within walking distance of our B&B. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Morris Harvey B&B is the exact halfway point on my drive from Pittsburgh to my parent's home in NC. Recently stayed here, coming and going, and the place is immaculate, the proprietors wonderful (rushed to get me ice for a sore knee when I first arrived), and there are fresh berries at breakfast. (The latter is my litmus test!) There's nothing worse than spending the night in a "parking lot hotel" along a major highway, and waking up to packaged cereal and eggs and bacon, and only if you are very lucky, a banana. Here you are staying in a B&B surrounded by yard and big trees, with a charming sidewalk-laden town with very interesting restaurants a pleasant walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmf201404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Robert,

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We're glad you loved our full hot breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you over your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your visit in July! We'll be sure to have some great adventure activities lined up for you.

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Morris Harvey House B & B for my husband's birthday getaway. It is within walking distance of great restaurants, an antique mall across the street, and is a lovely place to be. Bernie is a great host, friendly and helpful. The Pineapple French Toast was delightful, and the bed comfortable. We stayed in Rosa's Suite. We want to go back again when the weather is warm. We ate at our favorite Cajun restaurant, Gumbo's on Court Street. Fayetteville is a neat small town.

Room Tip: Rosa's Suite is on the first floor if you don't want to climb steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie K, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We're so glad we were able to make your husband's birthday an even more special time than usual! It's especially great to hear you liked your breakfast so much -- the Pineapple French Toast is the house specialty! We were more than happy to be your hosts during your visit to our town, and we can't wait to see you again soon.

All the best,
Bernie, BJ, and Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fayetteville
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
18.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
22.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
23.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 201 West Maple Ave., Fayetteville, WV 25840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable stay at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing