We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Barely meets standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falling Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Barely meets standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Upon check-in the clerk was quite rude; we requested a room other than the one he had pre-assigned to us. And no apology for the lobby being extremely hot because of no air conditioning. Too cheap to get it fixed? No hard boiled eggs in the breakfast bar. The only aspect good about this location is the cheap price.

Room Tip: Upper floor on side opposite the 81 freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HikerDave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhumesh, Manager at Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Sorry to hear ,it was not your pleasant stay with us. We are not cheap, We did admit our lobby AC was broken. Mechanical failure was out of our hand. All our hallway AC was working up to full capacity. No one was available to fix it during weekend. It was still fixed by Sunday. We did change your room as per your request to upper floor and we did got feedback from your spouse that room was nice and clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    46
    34
    7
    11
See reviews for
48
51
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Positives:
Convenient location, off 81 North
Pet friendly
Free breakfast
Negatives:
Older hotel,not your typical Holiday Express
No air conditioner in lobby, breakfast area or elevator.
They have both smoking and non-smoking rooms on the same floor. You can smell the smoke in the hallway as you walk to your room.
Vending machine on the floor was completely empty! I would recommend traveling a couple of miles further north to exit 5A.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank persnicketyringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhumesh, General Manager at Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have pleasent stay with us. we did had problem with front lobby AC unit. We can not find any one to come and work on it over the weekend.it is being repaired now.All our vending machine are fully functional and stock. but we will be more careful. We are operating hotel to its standard nothing less.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room was clean, the hotel quiet, and the staff pleasant so we would stay here again. This is a pet friendly place and their fees were very reasonable. The only drawback was the shower which took several minutes to reach full heat. We were on the top floor so maybe that had something to do with it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had to make an unexpected business trip in early January. I was able to book a room here on short notice and I wasn't disappointed.

The hotel is conveniently located right off I-81. There are a number of restaurants nearby. We found the hotel to be quiet, which is exactly what we needed for a good night's sleep. The morning breakfast buffet was excellent, the attendant took great care to ensure that fresh food was constantly available and that the tables were clean.

Two complaints/concerns:

1.) The bed was not particularly comfortable. The mattress was not the quality I usually find at HIExpress hotels. The mattress wasn't firm and it was bendy. Not good for the back at all.

2.) The elevator inspection had expired in October 2012.

The elevator inspection seems like a small thing, but a detail when it comes to guest safety should never be overlooked.

I would considering staying here again; however, I do hope that my next room has a much more comfortable mattress.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albinogypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear albinogypsy,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while passing through from NC to PA... The location is right off 81 which worked for us! The rooms were clean--just a little older... The staff was ok. The breakfast was good for a small hotel! Overall an average place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowashie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights on a R&R trip. Upon check-in, we were greeted nicely by the female (forget name) front desk agent. We asked a little about the area and she helped us out so much. Each morning when we saw her, she greeted us with a warm smile and made us feel at home.

On the other hand, the male front desk agent (of perhaps Indian descent)that we saw at night had the personality of a door knob. We said hello several times to blank stares and outright apathy. One morning I woke up around 4:00AM to use the bathroom and I noticed the "Message Waiting" light blinking on the phone. I tried to retrieve the messages, but the directions on the phone were incorrect. I called down to the front desk and he said, "You have no messages!" then hung up.

Another concern that came up is when my wife and I noticed the cleaning staff just standing around the breakfast bar eating and talking with each other during the guests' breakfast hours. I know this should not have been.

This hotel is nice, clean, and quiet, but some things need to be addressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripcurled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhumesh, General Manager at Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for giving us your review. We are very sorry for night shift desk clerk and breakfast hour issue. We will address this issue and will cure the problem in our employee meeting.Our success measures on guest's satisfication.


Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Beware senior citizens! The staff is dishonest and rude! Stopped on our way home from new York to north Carolina in October of this year. I am 65 and well traveled! First time experience of such dishonest treatment by front desk staff. Think I also had flea bites as rash appeared on my neck after being in this establishment.(or bed bugs) not sure but have bites! If at all possible keep driving and do not take a chance on this hotel.... Better choices in nearby towns!

Room Tip: Do not take a chance on this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhumesh, General Manager at Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are very sorry for your experience. Our success is based on guest satisfaction. If you do not mind can you please tell us , what was the dishonesty about ? So, we can review our policy or staff awareness.One thing we are 100% sure about is, our property doesnot have flees or bedbugs. We have monthly pest control service and inspection.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falling Waters
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Martinsburg
Motel 6 Martinsburg
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
#4 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North

Property: Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North
Address: 1220 TJ Jackson Drive, I-81 Exit 20, Falling Waters, WV 25419 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Falling Waters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falling Waters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is just off I-81 at exit 20 between Martinsburg, WV and Hagerstown, MD and offers an amazing night's sleep on new mattresses, an incredible value and friendly service. In the morning, we have a Full Hot Breakfast with Sausage, Eggs, Pancakes-In-A-Minute-Flat, Biscuits and Gravy, Fresh Fruit, Hardboiled Eggs, Baked Goods, Yogurt, Juice, Coffee, etc to get your day off to a great start. We have Premium Wi-Fi, High Def Televisions, and Micro-Fridge units in every room for your convenience. We're also a pet-friendly hotel so feel free to bring your furry ones. Our location is close to Hagerstown Premium Outlets, Charles Town casino, Shepherd University and civil war sites including C&O Canal, Harper's Ferry, Antietam National Battlefield. Make the Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North your next stop on the trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn Spring Mills - Martinsburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North Hotel Falling Waters
Holiday Inn Falling Waters
Falling Waters Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Martinsburg North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing