We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER AGAIN”

Valley Worlds of Fun
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Fairmont
Attraction details
Little Hocking, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My kids and I have been here twice before today, and had a great time both times. We haven't been there though since the yr before last. We made the trip today though. Which is a 100+ miles give or take a few, and we were not very happy. I would most definitely have to agree that it would have been much better if someone cared enough to take care of the place. Half the games in the arcade were not working, and the stuff outside is starting to look pretty run down. Plus they have taken out a good bit of the stuff, and changed the rules that go with the wrist bands. Sadly we will not be going back again. This is our last trip to Valley Worlds of Fun!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank landis19-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    7
    14
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“would have potential if someone cared enough”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Kids and I had been here for an afternoon last year, so we stopped on our way through again recently. The place has significantly gone downhill.

Very hot day - they had giant fans going inside, so it wasn't horrible even though there's no AC.
$18 for a wristband is expensive, but wouldn't be as unreasonable IF THE RIDES WORKED!

Outside:
The sky drop was working...but had to be shut down occasionally "to let it cool" (I was curious if it was to cool the ride or the poor attendant manning it w/no shade whatsoever).
The rock wall appeared to be manned for all of about 5 minutes of the entire time we were there.
The bumper boats were our primary focus, as it was quite warm and they are the most fun anyway, but there were only 4 working. 2 more were running but had no water shooters...less than impressive. We were told that their "repair person had been off for a week" (??)
Another ride outside was closed.
Mini golf was open, but no shade on the course so it was way too hot to play.

Inside:
Laser tag is no longer included in the wristband. It just keeps getting more expensive.
Little roller coaster wasn't working.
Bumper cars were running, but employees were rude.
Bunny ride was actually working, but looks like it's seen much much better days.
1 small inflatable slide
You can only ride rides when there's an attendant there...they were doing a lot of standing around chatting so you'd have to wait until someone wandered over.

We ended up buying a wristband for 1 of our kids and then laser tag and tokens for the other and ourselves. Now here's the strange part...we had purchased the tokens, but only 1 attendant at 1 ride was actually collecting them??? While this did make for a better value for our $...it was a little odd.

If they could get things running...and keep them running...and provide some shade at least for the employees outside, it'd be a better option. Otherwise, find somewhere else to spend your afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank DEMom_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, West Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fun place”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

fun place for young kids and not too expensive. pleasantly suprised by quality fun in this area. not far from interstate. would not plan trip around it but nice stop if in area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rlkwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

$15 to get in the machines don't work half the time dingy poor lighting dirty floors run down dirty bathrooms cheap prizes for the money you spend to get them in tokens rude workers need I say more

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Li S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

There is so much potential at Valley Worlds of Fun... but sadly, it could use some upkeep. We went over the holiday break with our 2 children, and the front desk was understaffed. The bowling facility looked fine on the surface, but we had to have the lane reset several times because it was not functioning properly. We then tried some of the rides... the mini-roller coaster was closed for repairs. And, there were only 2 staffers working the various rides and you cannot enjoy an activity if it is not manned -- even the bouncy house, which was one of the only activities our 3 year old could take advantage of. It only got worse as we went to the arcade, where several of the machines ate our tokens. A nod to the staff, however, who replaced the tokens when we told them what had happened. Also, the photo booth needs to be re calibrated --as our family photo strip cut off the image of our family, despite all of us being positioned in the frame in the booth. A waste of another $2. Bathrooms near arcade are horrible. The woman working the prize counter was very kind, however. There is a lot of space here and it could be great -- just needs some (okay, maybe a lot of) attention.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank StephRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Worlds of Fun also viewed

 

Been to Valley Worlds of Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing